We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmyra Patong Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palmyra Patong Resort to your Saves list
Palmyra Patong Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   91/3 Rat-U-Thit Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed here in December 2010 for 12 nights, we were a party of 7 which included a 12 year old, the rooms were clean and spacious, we were in the new building and the rooms were cleaned daily, the breakfast was sufficiant, with a good choice, and the food around the pool was very good, the pool was a bit on the small side, and there were not very many sun loungers, although this wasn't a problem as we used the beach most days, the staff are very trustworthy, we went on a 2 day, 1 night excursion and left an I pod in the room by mistake along with some Thai change, which was all still there when we returned, it is about a 10 minute walk to Bangla road, and there always plenty of tuk tuk's if you don't fancy the walk, the only down side was the building work going on around the hotel, (not actually Palmyra) so no chance of a lie in or a siesta until about 6.00 pm, would definitly stay here again though

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    156
    50
    18
    14
See reviews for
100
129
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

To be honest it is hard for us to rate all the features of this hotel because our stay only lasted 20 minutes. What must be explained ,and what their website won't tell you is that this was a VERY old hotel called Chaba Villas that was long past its use by date and which is located in wasteland 300 mts from the road. So some new operators built a new building next to the OLD building and thats that you see on the website, what they DON'T tell you is that the old building is about 40 years old does NOT have any elevators and on their website they say all rooms have balconies the room we were given didn't have one !!!!!!!!. As I am an Asthmatic we requested a non smoking room but you guessed it we were given a smoking room that STUNK .
When we complained at reception a young girl just kept smiling at us and said if we want a better room it will cost more. I have stayed in Phuket on 3 occasions and believe me there are LOTS of better and less expensive places to stay than the Palmyra"Resort".
To be honest we did recieve a letter [E Mail] of apology from the Executive Director Mr El Lowe but this only came after we had sent letters of complant to The Thai Ministry of Tourism, The Palmyra Resort and our booking agent HotelsThailand, I wonder what would have happened if we hadn't .
The lack of service from their managment staff and according to other Tripadvisor reveiws their lack of service overall needs to be addressed urgently. Lack of Management from the top will filter down at ALL levels.
We have been promised a full refund from Mr Lowe but as we are now home after having our holiday destoyed what is little comfort to us
This was my partners first visit to Phuket and it was so bad she vows never to return
THANKS PALMYRA FOR DESTROYING OUR HOLIDAY WHICH WAS MONTHS IN THE PLANNING AND DESTOYED BY YOUR STAFF IN 20 MINUTES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

My girlfriend and i stayed at Palmyra from the 29th nov - 8 dec. We booked a superior room directly through the hotel. For the price we paid (quite cheap) this hotel exceeded all our expectations. The room was modern, spacious and clean with a large king size bed. Airconditioning was cold and the rooms were serviced thoroughly each day. The hotel pool was of average size but one of the coldest i have swam in in thailand, very fresh with a waterfall at one end.

Alongside the pool is the poolside restaurant and bar. Only tried thai food from here and it was beautiful and quite cheap. 85 baht cocktails were cheap and good also.
There was quite a variety to choose from for breakfast. A combination of asian and western dishes as well as an egg and omelette chef.

Hotel check in and check out was smooth and fast. All of the hotels staff were very helpful and always had a smile on her face. On the day we left we were allowed to use a 'standard room' to have a shower and freshen up etc. I would not recommend these rooms, and would definitely pay the small extra price to upgrade to a superior room which is equal to if not better to other more well known resorts i have stayed at in Phuket.

Wireless internet was also easy to access throughout the hotel, and there is also 2 PC's in the lobby that can be used.

Overall we had a great stay at Palmyra Patong and will definitely be going back sometime in the next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in Palmyra Resort in the beginning of our holiday and came back for another 3 nights towards the end of our holiday.

Booking was done directly through their website, and all throughout the hotel Manager, El, has been responding timely to all our enquiries. We arrived around 1 AM at night and a comfortable and clean room was waiting for us.

The standard rooms are not great but deluxe rooms are very good. Furniture was of good quality, bathrooms are spacious and clean with bathtub and rainshower. Breakfast selection was good and there was plenty of food for everyone. Swimming pool is mid sized and clean. Customer service was friendly and helpful. Wireless internet is provided for free. Hotel location is ideal, tucked in a small alleyway (well lit and lined with trees), but only very short walking distance to the beach and Bangla road. Food, drinks and transportation prices are also reasonable.

Overall we were very happy and feel this comfortable hotel is very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

stayed during Nov. realised their standard rooms was quite old. with no water kettle, or hair dryer given. These need to be requested! even cups. but we paid and got upgrade to the deluxe room. good room, but the wooden chairs provided on the blacony has white ants! i dont know if its white termites! shock..

we noticed that the towels were not changed too, just folded back to the original place.
we were kinda shock about this.

breakfast served was not bad. different dishes everyday :)

staffs were friendly

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I booked this hotel several months ago when there was only 1 or 2 reviews on trip advisor. I had been keeping an eye on recent reviews and was quitely confident that i had made a good descision. I stayed at 3 hotels ranging from 30 AUD a night to 150 AUD a night during our trip to various beaches in Phuket. This was in the middle of these price ranges.So i was not expecting 5 stars, but clean acoomodation and good service. I will try to keep my review as brief as possible.
PROS
- handy location not to far to the beach or bangla rd
- clean rooms
- nice pool area very small
- nice enough breakfast
-smooth enough check in although we had to find our name in the pile of papers at the reception desk
- prompt emails from El (the manager)
CONS
- will not open the Gym till 10am, nobody likes to work out in the heat of the day
- went to pool bar stood there for 2 mins (no one else there) and 1 staff member was clipping her finger nails while the other read the paper, i had to interupt them to place my order
- at about 9pm one evening i dropped a glass in my room, which smashed. I called reception and asked for a cleaner they said there was no one and to mop it with a towel. Little pieces of glass on the floor overnight.
- i was happy to pay for the broken glass, however 2 days later they knocked on my door to get me to sign the 1.75 AUD fee. I did have the do not disturb on the door at the time it was 10.30am, they knocked twice and i finally let them in. Do not disturb means DO NOT DISTURB!!
-Internet expensive and rarely worked
- Check out took 1 hr and 20 mins, i paid a deposit 4 months ago for 1 night to secure my booking. They said they had no record of it despite me showing them an email from El (the manager) comfirming with me that they had recieved my deposit and were looking forward to seeing us when we stayed. They tried to charge me for 6 instead of 5 nights as i had paid one. After 1 hour they asked us to get our credit card statement of the internet to prove the payment, we did it this and it was there. They admited we had paid but offered no apology. Even though they held us up for so long there was no sense of urgency to fix the problem and get us on our way. We did only pay for 5 nights

I would recommend that if friendly and helpful service is important to you to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I guess this hotel just remodeled and opened under a different name in the last year. I upgraded to a superior room, which was a small amount more than the standard room, and I highly recommend it. I got a really good deal on Agoda for a last minute booking, where the rate was 50% less than any other website. The room itself was very modern, roomy, and clean. There is even a window from the bathtub to the bedroom, and there is a separate shower and bathtub in the bathroom. The hotel had a very boutique feel to it, which is to say that while it was not a 5 star resort, it still had a fair amount of style and character. The pool was very nice, with a few bar stools in the water, outside the bar, as well as some swim-up rooms, if you really want to take advantage of it. I also had a free breakfast buffet, which was outside, next to the pool. They had a good selection of rice/noodles/veggies in Thai/Asian style, as well as various breakfast meats, cereals, and an omelette station. The wi-fi was free, but my room was in the dead center of the main tower, and I could barely get a signal, so they need to add a few more access points.

One thing to keep in mind is that this hotel is 300 meters back from the main road that it is on, and at least a KM to the beach or to the main shopping mall/walking street. The map on the hotel website says they are a 5-7 min walk, but it was more like a 20-25 minute walk. Also, since it is a new hotel, many of the taxi drivers do not know where it is, so make sure you have the hotel phone number, as well as a map, as the map was worthless to my taxi driver, since it was so vague. There is a row of Thai/seafood restaurants on the opposite side of the street, across from the hotel, but the main center of Patong is a bit of a walk away.

But Patong itself is not an easy city to get around, unless you really like to walk. The 2 main streets are one way, so its not that easy to just hop in a Tuk Tuk. There are practically no taxis, very few moto-taxis, and no buses or songethaws. So be prepared to walk a lot, especially if you stay at this hotel. They also have a bit of a scam going on with their hotel shuttle. They charge ฿650 for the airport shuttle, which is ฿50-200 more than some of the other hotels' airport shuttles. And they will not help you call a taxi or minibus to the airport, since they want you to use their overpriced service (the minibus to the airport is ฿150 per person, and the taxi is ฿450, fixed rate, for the car). If you have a large group, their service is OK, but if there are only 1-3 of you, you are better off arranging your own transport, either at the airport, or at one of the many tour desks around Patong (there are 2 right outside the hotel, on the main road.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmyra Patong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Patong Resort

Address: 91/3 Rat-U-Thit Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 Family Hotel in Patong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmyra Patong Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Palmyra Patong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmyra Patong Hotel Patong
Palmyra Patong Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmyra Patong Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.