We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Residence

Viking Residence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Residence to your Saves list
Viking Residence
85 / 7 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

only stayed one night but it was a lot better then where we were previously staying, the staff were friendly there is a lift and the room was clean you can borrow a beach towel for free it's a 3 min walk to the beach, great room

will definately return next time!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

i stayed at the viking residence for nine days with my GF and we had a great time. the staffs hospitality and willingness to help with any of your needs was first class. would recommend staying here to any one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here for one month. The rooms are clean. Spacious enough for two people, The tv is good, theres a fridge, a safe and its afforadable. The location is great, about a 7-10 minute walk to Bangla road. The restruant down the bottom is good quality thai as well.
The staff were beyond friendly.. My favourite part about this place, always willing to help. Always gave us beach towels, our rooms were cleaned daily and even one day when i had too much to drink, the staff came to my room with free bottled water, cleaned the bathroom of my sick for me and tucked me into bed.
Recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheaper option in patong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basiglio, Italy
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed in the Viking residence for some days last August with some friends: the location is good, but a part this I don't see any good reason to stay at this hotel: the rooms are decent size, but the cleaning is something else...In my room the air conditioner was not working properly and unable to control the airflow. The curtain in the bathroom was also falling apart and nobody fixed the problem: we believe this is a clear sign of neglect. Also, the hotel is very noisy not only for is position: two rooms on second floor have been allocated to a "massage" service with people going in and out till early hours in the morning: the massage ladies, sitting within the hotel premises, attract customers in a embarassing way which is not fair especially for families with children. The hotel staff looks like always more interested in chatting among themselves as opposed to attending guests: asking something is very possible, having an answer is something else.
Last and the more important info,about the kitchen: the door, always open, is directly across the street and hygiene is very far from this room.
This is not definitely a place to relax. We will never go back.

Room Tip: Look for some better hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here this month with my boyfriend for 4 nights, we are backpacking round asia and this hotel was definetley it the top 2! It has everything you need good hot shower, extra clean room- cleaned daily, an elevator which you really appreciate! A fridge, cable tv, free wifi an spacious room! It is right next door to mini mart and 5 minute walkto bangla road but has restaurants and few quieter - nicer bars just on your doorstep but not too loud to sleep! The ladies who run this hotel are so friendly and helpful and let us use there phone fr free when we were having trouble with the bank! There is also free computer with internet to use! At only 500 baht a night!! Would definetly stay here again! Oh and only 5 minute walk to beautiful patong beach!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at the Viking with my wife in the month of July for three nights and I based my selection on the location of this property which seemed convenient. Or so I thought..
The rooms are spacious and the food at the restaurant is of good quality. But other then that we found the place to be very noisy, unattended most of the time with the staff apparently more interested in chatting among themselves as opposed to attending guests as it happened in all our previous trips to Thailand.
The rooms are indeed spacious but the air conditioner was not working properly and unable to control the airflow. We had to manually switch on and off the unit making it very uncomfortable during the night as it was either too hot or too cold. We reported this a few times but we were told that this was the same problem in all the rooms....
The curtain in the bathroom was also falling apart and we believe this is a clear sign of neglect.
In appearance the hotel looked clean but we were later contradicted after seeing a rat coming out of the open kitchen door on the side of the building where we parked our mopeds.
With the abundance of hotels and B&B in Patong it is not difficult to find a place to stay in a relatively low season and we believe that Viking is will not be able to attract returning guests on these basis.
We will certainly look at other places to stay in town next time we are around. Definitely not recommended

Room Tip: Avoid Viking if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Despite the friendliness of the restaurant staff, the hotel is very noisy. This is not definitely a place to relax. Two rooms of the hotel have been allocated to a massage service with people going in and out till early hours in the morning: the massage ladies, sitting within the hotel premises, attract customers in a embarassing way which is not fair especially for families with children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Residence

Address: 85 / 7 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 22 beautiful & spacious rooms with all amenities you need. High standards of cleanliness are important to us. You will be very comfortable on the king-size bed with high quality mattress and a shower with hot and cold water. Our Standard rooms are large with king-size bed, cable TV, individual control air con, safety deposit box, telephone and mini bar. Moreover, we are located in the heart of the city just a short stroll away from the beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Viking Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Residence Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.