We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood with feet in the sand - north of the bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WAI thai

WAI thai
4 Thaweewong Road | patong beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Update restaurant details
Ranked #24 of 329 restaurants in Patong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood with feet in the sand - north of the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

First - do not look at the Trip Advisor map (please the administrators update this mistake because it's not fair people get lost and can't join the great experience). It is not South of Patong bay but all the way up North. Look for all the Russian restaurants, (PECTOPAH), reach the Irish Pub and look across, it's at the end of the restaurants row near a big stage and just by the watch-guard chair.

Lobsters can be pricey but anything else is $5-$8/dish for an entire grilled fish, mussels in curry, crab, etc. The service was good and the food really delicious. We tried next door the day after (they all look the same) but service was not as attentive.

We had fireworks at the end of our meal - must have been the right time (around 9pm).
If you don't like the sand they also serve inside!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    92
    37
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oostende, België
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“cheap, friendly, seaview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We ate here 5 times in our 9 day trip to patong.

Cheap tasty food on the beach.

Very friendly but not so good service ;)

located in the north of patong. We stayed in Graceland hotel, from there it is 5 min along the beach (to the left)

Much better restaurant than "chez bernard" and "sabai sabai" closeby!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Find directions here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I mainly decided to write this review in order to help all us poor tourist to find this place. It is directly across the street from Finnegan's Wake. You have to pass one or two other restaurants and walk to the beach where you will see the distinct pink chairs and table clothes. The menus say Wai Thai on them. We had a great meal and sat right on the beach. The yummy drinks are served in those kitchy nudi girl glasses that I love! We spent just under 20 bucks for a feast of seafood with drinks. Yes they are a bit disorganized, yes there are people selling their wares on the beach. You're in Thailand, and eating with your feet in the sand, just enjoy the view!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth finding for a cheap feed. And on the beach !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can't imagine ever finding such a gem back home. Located right on the beach and prices as cheap as most of the other places we eat at in Patong (eg Sabai Sabai, S&G). One of the dearer dishes, the whole fried fish, was excellent and only 350 baht (S&G was 450, and not nearly as good). Not every dish is a winner, some are quite plain (eg crab fried rice) but there is enough good stuff to make every one happy. And at as little as 80 baht per dish you can't complain. Everyone says look for the pink seats, but they have blue seats inside, and other restaurants have pink seats nearby. It's located pretty much opposite Finnegans' Wake, on the beach rd just north of Thanon Sawatdirak. Next to that giant concrete circle on the beach. If you pass Shou, you've gone too far.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very Disappointing Service and okay food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Food was okay not the best we had though in Patong (would recommend dlish as a much better eatery) and the service was terrible. If you spill a mango drink on my wife's white dress which basically meant an end to our evening out (also final night in Thailand - even a bigger disappoiment for us) due to having to go back to hotel (far away) and her having to get changed then not at all even compensated (even when told we would be) and the staff being quite insincere with apology this equals in my book very bad service. Go to eat elsewhere instead.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WAI thai also viewed

 

Been to WAI thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WAI thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.