We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD ACCOMMODATION IN PATONG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach to your Saves list
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 338 Patong B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 85 Reviews
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“GOOD ACCOMMODATION IN PATONG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed at Hemingways Hotel for over a month in Jan/Feb. The hotel is only 12 months old and very clean. It is close to everything in Patong, but far enough off the main roads to be relatively quite. Staff are very friendly and provide helpful advice. Excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear filthy2507 from Canberra,
Thank you so much for your kind review giving the hotel and an excellent report, I note that you have reviewed over 15 hotels and are a top contributor to TripAdvisor. The hotel is honored that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am sure your review will carry a lot of weight when our potential guests read it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
26
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed at Hemingways for 6 nights in Dec/Jan. The staff was very kind, attentive and helpful. The hotel lobby and restaurant looked fine and the deluxe room was spacious, clean, the shower was powerful. Breakfast was tasty and the choice was decent. The hotel is located a short walk from the centre of nightlife and 10-15 minutes walk from Patong beach however, for paradise-like beaches I suggest taking a short taxi ride down South. There was nothing I disliked about the hotel and I was pleased to find that great reviews I had read about Hemingways proved right.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Conradosss,
Thank you for your great review, Its is particularly nice that your review was a few days after the review on the 8th Feb, As the staff were delighted to prove that they were not worse than terrible report. Thank you so much. The management appreciated your review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stayed here for a 5 night stay. While not struck with Patong, the hotel itself was in a quiet location but a short walk to some very lively areas. The staff were helpful and we only used the dining facilities for breakfast but it was a good hearty breakfast with good service. I doubt we'll ever go to Patong again but if we did would certainly revisit this hotel if we did.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, Guest Relations Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Woppa,
Thanks for the great review, Sorry to hear that you did not like Patong (its not everybody's cup of tea) But so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful. I am hopeful that you will give Patong Beach another chance returning one day and stay with us again.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mum
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I am online from Phuket now(8th feb-2011,it is 3 pm now) when I should have been enjoying the room because he room is not ready yet, and the lady at the reception is too bad- she speaks terrible english and hasn't yet got our room cleaned for the check in. Every time i go back to her she says she doesnt know when the room will be ready and that she is too busy to answer my questions. It seems they have only 2 people for room cleaning and the one who should have cleaned our room is on the first floor and she can be done with cleaning our room only after she is done with the first floor. Pretty rude and unorganized, the lady didn't have time to smile at us even once. There are no porters or staff to attend to ones luggage .
We had got our room booked after reading reviews and rankings on Tripadvisor, this hotel is far from the sea and difficult to find.
Please don't book the hotel if you are about to stay here(in patong) for only 2 days like we did. We have ended up wasting a lot of time due to these people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear shuchian, We are sorry that you had to wait for your room, By reading your report it seems that you were very upset by this and that we are only three star hotel without a porter to carry luggage. Bur comments are nothed about the poor english of the receptionist.. I wonder your comments would have been different if you made them after the end of your stay instead of the during the one hour you were waiting for the room. My staff tells mje that you ate your breakfasts heartily and see to enjoy very much.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

1. Cleanliness - The rooms are very clean and new too. Aircon in perfect condition too. 2) Location - It is very near Bangla Seafood Market & Jungceylon Mall which is a mere 3-5 min walk, and is about an 15 min walk to Patong Beach. The hotel is away from the noise of Patong nightlife so you'll have a good uninterrupted sleep. 3) Staff- The lady in the reception was very helpful & speaks very good English. 4) Price

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Alexey2,
Thank you so much for your review, as a top contributor of a 164 reviews I think your comments will carry respect. We are also so pleased that you found our location convenient and suitable and that our staff were helpful and spoke English. We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
207 hotel reviews
Reviews in 209 cities Reviews in 209 cities
580 helpful votes 580 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We liked Hemingways. It has a nice welcoming feel to it. First it is away from the mayhem of the centre of Patong, thank goodness. It is one street away in a newly built area that is fresh and clean. The reception and outside are lovely with care and attention in such a small space. There is a lift and our room was fine....above average for a 3 star hotel. I am not a big fan of the wet shower which we had. Breakfast was included and was well cooked in a very comfortable dining room. We met the very affable and friendly Victor who was warm and welcoming. I would for sure stay here again if we ever found ourselves in Patong (unlikely, as it is not for us!), and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a 3 star hotel and it is indeed a very good 3 star. I have been in far worse 4 star places. Everywhere was always clean and staff were friendly. All credit to the people who own and run Hemingways so well. You really won't do better for the price in this area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, It really helps to keep the staff motivated knowing their hard work is appreciated. We hope you will return to visit us soon, it was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010 via mobile

Hai, on the oct 2010 I been tis hotel. Is a good choice for me. All the staff is very friendly person. Not like APK spa n resort. Thumbs up

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Roslee7,
Thank you so much for your very nice review, I am sorry that I missed replying to to you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated that the hotel does not make any room charges for bringing back guests to your room.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Address: 188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to Hemingway's, a contemporary, 3 star plus family owned hotel on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service.Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the BAMBOO Restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. Head chef is well known for his cooking style and his attention to detail in the preparation of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.