We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit even better than the 1st” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach to your Saves list
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 338 Patong B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 85 Reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“2nd Visit even better than the 1st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have just finished a 18 night holiday at this hotel with a large group of friends & can not praise them enough. From the high quality rooms, staff, management, restaurant & room service to the driver who collected us from & returned us to the airport. The owners are in the hotel on a daily basis & make you feel very welcome. A great experience at a very good price. I highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: I upgraded to a suite & the extra space was worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Paul M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the hotel, The management and staff are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a great review which will help us motivate all of our staff to try even harder to please our guests.
Thank you once again
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
26
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel on two occasions and really enjoyed the warmth and hospitality that Steve and Nuch afforded me. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome and that nothing will be a problem during your stay. The bar/restaurant area is nice and comfortable, with tables outside to take in the ambience of street life in Phuket and prices are very reasonable, even by Thailand's standards! The rooms are clean and neat, with en-suite bathrooms and fit their purpose with a degree of comfort. The roof top pool and bar area is a welcome surprise in the middle of Patong and is an ideal location for sundowner's with friends. If you are looking for the perfect place for the Patong and Phuket experience and wish to save your money for the many attractions, you would do well to book a reasonably priced room at this hotel. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear NigelP12_12
Thank you for your review. It really is nice to have guests such as your self appreciate our service. Perhaps however its important at this stage to advise other readers that the pool you refer to is actual at our Patong Hemingway's Hotel, Which guests at Hemingway's Hotel are invited to use.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review for the hotel.
Regards
Victor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked to stay at Hemingway's Hotel in a superior double private although on check in were upgraded to a suite. Hemingway's hotel is the sister hotel to the slightly newer Patong Hemingway's Hotel and is located slightly further away from the madness of Soi Bangla, but still within easily walking distance even after the nightlife ends. The room was very well equipped with a big LCD TV, fridge, safe and although a small extra... a kettle, which is uncommon in Asia. The bed was the most comfortable we have had the pleasure to stay in on our big adventure and combined with the super powerful shower it was a fantastic place to drop our bags for a few weeks. Free use of the roof top swimming pool at the sister hotel only a 5 minute walk away is an easy stop off on the way to or from the beach. A good quality 3* hotel, we would definitely recommend Hemingway's to all other travellers.

Find out more about our big adventure and where we are going next at chipofftheoldblog.com

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear RossandSonya,
Wonderful to read your review, we do try hard to please our guest and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its really lovely to have guests who understand and appreciate our efforts. The staff were delighted to be shown your review which is a great motivation tool. Like many of our other guests you appreciate the little extra's that the hotels provides. The showers are fantastic which are often mentioned by people who stay with us. However I did get a compliant from the husband of a newly married couple who where on their honeymoon. He had problems getting his wife out of the shower which she enjoyed so much.
Thank you for your lovely review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Hi. We had a very nice surprise. Great hotel. Reasonable price. Nice staff. Very helpfull. Clean room. Enough hot water. nice breakfast. Will most defiantly return and recommend. Thank you... Why do I need to write 200 letters ...???

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Suzzzzzzzz,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review it is very much appreciated. The management love feed back both bad and good from our guests. This helps us to make our guests enjoy their stay, by motivating the staff to do even better. So sorry about having the write more than 200 characters on trip advisor its something we do not have control over. But again thank you for you doing it. It helps other guests understand why you have given the rating which you.
Great thanks again.
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I had hoped to get back in to the sister hotel Patong Hemingways but didnt realise just how busy Patong is at Songkran. Patong Hemingways was full up so the Manager drove us 300 meters to view Hemingways hotel, referred to by the manager as their budget hotel close to the center of Patong. The thought of staying in a budget hotel in Asia was not a happy thought. We need not have woried, the place was cosy, clean and well run by very nice and helpful staff. The rooms were tastefully decorated and they have the besy showers in town. There is no pool at this hotel but that is the only downer, only 3 minutes walk to our usual hotel, Patong Hemingways on Soi San Sabai, we were very happy to be invited to use the pool facilities there. Breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor was very good and we only paid 150baht for it! This may be Hemingways budget hotel but apart from the price, you would not think so. Each and every staff member we encountered displayed a 'can do will do' attitude sometimes missing in the 3 star range of hotels. In all, we like the Hemingways hotels in Patong and will return in July. I hope the staff get to see our review, they deserve a mention.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ashpan,
How nice of you to give the hotel such a lovely review. Yes Songkran is Thailand's most popular festival. So sorry that you did not get to stay at Patong Hemingway's but as you say we are only minutes apart. Whilst we do not like to be thought off as a budget hotel as we provide many of the amenities sometimes not even found in a four star hotel. Thank you for your comment on our staff, we often us the reviews both good and bad to motivate them. They were so happy to see your comments. We look forward to next stay with us.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

hi victor
i stayed at your hotel from 8 march 2013 for 6 nights and really enjoyed my stay.
nice friendly staff with a warm welcome 24 hours a day.from the time i met the driver at the airport to the time i left i had a warm and friendly welcome its in a great locationits far enough away from bangla road if you want to relax or close enough if you want to go mad.
great wi fi in rooms and spotless clean. my room was cleaned every day and new towels.
you have an excellent friendly warm and welcoming hotel that is down to the staff.
i will definitley stay again in your hotel and will reccomend it to any body i know going to patong
once again thank the staff for me and thank you
martin gallagher

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear 735martin from Dublin.
Thank you for your review. The management and staff were delighted to see the title of your review "excellent warm friendly. This is exactly what we are trying to achieve in our hotel,. To make our guests enjoy their stay with us. The management understand that guests who feel welcome and become part of our family during their stay are much more likely to return and stay with us again. Its a great motivation tool in the hospitality industry that when guests are happy they will take the time to write a review. All reviews posted are shown to the staff and any problems they may have arisen are discussed. needless to say they were estactic over your review.
Thanks
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A new excellent hotel with a great central location on Soi Sansabai which is opposite the main entertainment area on Bangla road. Well furnished rooms & a great roof top pool & bar. Competitively priced with friendly & well trained staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Paul M.
Thank you for your excellent review. It was lovely to see that you named us as an excellent hotel. So happy that you stayed with us. But to be fair I must point out to potential guests reading this that the roof top pool you refer to is at our sister hotel Patong Hemingway's, which guests of Hemingway's hotel are invited to use. Your comment regarding well trained staff was much appreciated by our HR manager as well as the staff.
Thank you again for your review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Address: 188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to Hemingway's, a contemporary, 3 star plus family owned hotel on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service.Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the BAMBOO Restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. Head chef is well known for his cooking style and his attention to detail in the preparation of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.