We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach to your Saves list
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 338 Patong B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hemingways has an enclave feel. Hard to believe how just jogging a half block off the main street quiets things down. Hard to do better in central Patong Beach.

The attached restaurant is fantastic, free breakfast is of surprisingly high quality for a free breakfast, room service is prompt and extremely well priced ($3 US for Pad Thai to your door).

There is a family mart around the corner (that sells beer and has an ATM) for any incidentals. The Wifi is fast and free. The staff was great and smiled constantly.

Epitomizes Thailand... you get a lot for a few USD.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear (17p3 from California,
Nice review and thank you for it. Many guests love our location only a few blocks away from the hustle and bustle of the center of Patong, but located in a lovely quiet area. Yes the breakfasts are great I often (too often now putting on some weight) enjoy the full breakfast. Our menu prices are very reasonable a fact which often surprise many of our guests as are our bar prices. Though like you say there is a family mart only meters away along with ATM's.
Thanks
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
26
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kizzycat13
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Having initially had a mix up over the booking ( my own fault) as Hemingways has 2 Hotels and I'd booked the one without pool, manager Victor soon sorted out the problem. He took us to the other hotel and showed us the lovely room clean spacious and with a lovely 4 poster bed . We enjoyed the stay and especially the roof top pool. Nothing was a bother to the friendly smiling staff.
Being a regular visitor to both uk and Thai hotels I have to say that it wouldn't harm alot the uk staff to attend the same training school as the Thai hotel staff! No sour faces or temperamental attitudes in this hotel just happy smiling and willing to please well trained staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Kizzycat,
I am so glad that everything turn out ok in the end and thank you for taking time to publish a review and I hope you will stay with us again soon. Regards Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came from a very tranquil villa location in the North of Thailand because we wanted some place a bit more lively to finish our Thai holiday off and knew Patong by reputation only. I am so glad we picked Hemingway's with it's location slightly set back from the main throbbing, noisy colourful main roads and it gave us exactly what we wanted. The staff were exceptionally helpful and kind, the breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were wonderfully cool, clean and really good value for money. We would highly recommend this hotel. At the very end of our 4 night stay they arranged a taxi to the airport at 5am and I stupidly left my purse on the back seat. The reception staff could not have been more helpful in getting it back and posting it on to me. Thanks for their kindness and honesty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Gezza0202,
Thank you for your kind review, the staff were happy that they managed to recover your purse. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The location was perfect. Within walking distance to basically everywhere, beach, shopping center, bars and nightlife. It was locataed slightly off the main street so therefore we weren't bothered by nightlife noise. I had a wonderful time, staff were attentive andhelped us in any way they could.

Room Tip: All a/con lovely rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The staff commented that they were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Exelent staff and owners, great sevice. easy to go shopping and city, The standard at this hotel i higher then the price. Me and my family have a great time there, the resturant have is also nice, have a great breakfast. my highest recoment.

Mr. Lau

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you Mr Lau, for your kind comments, Many of the guests have agreed with you regarding the quality of our breakfast. Being so close to the shopping and nightlife is a plus for the hotel as is the fact we are in a quiet location. look forward to seeing you again if you ever visit Patong Beach. Pop in and say hi.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

had a great stay over Xmas- new year... charlee up at the roof top bar makes a magnificent mojito and does a fine job as culinary advisor :-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victornorman, Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, however I should point out to other's reading it, that the pool you mention is at our sister hotel Patong Hemingway's which is only a few minutes walk away and is open to our guests here in Hemingway's.
regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks.. it was central to everything! The stay here was a pleasant stay. It's a family run operation with friendly staff that looked after us brilliantly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were of average size that were comfortable and clean though the bathrooms were a bit small....but functioning :D I had to laugh as there was flowers on the toilets... but it was all done with the intent on making you feel welcome and we really were made to feel welcome. The prices are excellent and if you want a bit of a discount, chat to the management, we did and got our rooms cheaper! It was less then £30 per night... with no extra charges for late night guests ( we got there quite late), what more could we ask for?! If you don't want to eat Thai food, they supply very good english food too... even the good old full english breakfast, you can even have it made to order... or you can just go for the buffet, which was brilliant for the kids. The resturants are lovely, they even cook the fish you catch (if you can catch one). We had room service a couple of times too. The owners are fantastic, they couldn't do enough for us.. they were very polite and again, nothing was too much trouble. I was a bit worried about our money and passports being left in the room but they have safes available which sorted that out for me. It was a great location because the beach was across the road but there was loads of shops as well.. so ladies, if you like shopping, then this place is great! Would I go back there again.. definitely :D Seriously, I had no complaints staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear J P O,
What can I say such a fantastic review. Just thank you. I feel you have covered many points which our future guests would be interested in. The staff were delighted to see your review as they try very hard to please all our guests. We would love to have you return to stay with us again.
Thank you so much.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach

Address: 188/17-20 Phangmuang Sai Kor Road (Sai Sam) | near Jungceylon Shopping Center, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to Hemingway's, a contemporary, 3 star plus family owned hotel on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service.Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the BAMBOO Restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. Head chef is well known for his cooking style and his attention to detail in the preparation of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Hotel Patong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.