We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel!!! Read this..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel!!! Read this..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

When we first got here,the lady from the reception was very friendly and spoke very good english, took us to our room, and showed us all the important things we need to know.our luggauges were carried by a bell-boy.
The room who had a private pool(shared with 7 rooms) is awesom!! The room itself is very big and the bed is comportable.. We got an ipod dock and led tv.
The shower is amazing because you can turn the water that will be from above you.
In the room you have a free mini bar (soft drinks and 2 bears) and they refill it every day!
The hotel gives you a free drink every night between 18:00-19:30
:-)
The pool is awesome and has a view to the ocean!

We will come back here for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Great to hear! We will look forward to your return.

Wesley Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    220
    76
    18
    16
See reviews for
80
378
51
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I returned to the hotel after dinner Saturday night. She is Thai. The security guard told her she must leave her ID card at reception. This means that she is categorised as a call-girl. After a lot of anger and then quite some tears, I went to reception and asked the two Thai ladies working there if they expect to be treated as such, and informed thme that this unfortunate incident has just ruined our brief vacation.

We moved to a different hotel next day.

Thankfully, the GM offered his apologies and to compensate us. Unfortunately nothing can satisfactorily compensate for the humiliation and indignity she suffered.

Come on guys - sure there is some monkey business happening back in town, and some of it finds its way to your hotel, but you cannot do this to your ladies! Have some respect . . . please.

I don't think I can reflect very positively about much regarding this hotel, after this ordeal. My wife had travelled from Sydney to be together for 5 days, so we were both quite bitter.

But to be objective, the internet is painfully slow, the bathroom was bit but without adequate storage, the guy at reception on our way out to dinner on the fateful evening told us at 7:25 that we were too late for our complimentary drinks (which were slated to conclude at 7:30!) and after my arguments, he then took us to the bar where we were served correctly - but once again, who wants to argue and negotiate like this on holidays? This is the type of thing you go on holidays to escape, not confront.

After the "unofrtunate incident" we just felt like leaving on the spot, but it was quite late and the duty manager told me she cannot allow us to leave without charging for the night. The GM fixed all this up the next day and offered to apologise personally to my wife - but she refused and just wanted to get out of the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Again, please accept our apologies for this miscommunication. Changes have been made to avoid this in the future. Also, we would sincerely wish that you and your wife would offer us another chance. We hope that the rest of journey was pleasant.

Wesley Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed at B-Lay Tong for 6 nights, staying in a Spa Balcony Room that faced the beach. The lobby of the hotel was modern and artistic, which was a great feel for the place. Our room view of the beach was mostly blocked by palm trees however still provided a nice view of the pool.

Staff offered a high level of customer service throughout our entire stay and were of the best that I've ever experienced in any hotel. The only hiccup we had was our spa jets initially didn't work, however with a quick phone call to reception, we had a staff member to our room who managed to fix the issue within half an hour.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was amazing as they offered a vast variety of foods. We were really impressed by this. In the deal we bought, the mini bar was included and re-stocked daily as offered.

The cleanliness of the modern style room was impeccable. The deep bath was my favourite amenity however my least favourite was the somewhat stiff, hard bed and that there was no dvd player in the room.

It was about a 10-15min walk to the heart of Pa Tong Beach or a 200BAHT taxi ride to Jungceylon Shopping Mall.

The infinity pool allowed for great photo shots with Pa Tong beach in the background and the pool bar was an awesome feature, even better between 4-6pm during happy hour when it is 2 for 1 drinks (Keep in mind you can't get 2 types of different drinks for this deal, they have to be the same)

If I was ever to return to Pa Tong, I'd most definitely stay at B-Lay Tong again. Overall it was a great experience, with the highest customer service offered and I'd recommend the Spa Balcony Room to any couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel focuses on the grounds and art work but the rooms lack comfort and security. We got a deluxe poolside room, room 411. There is no privacy in this room as it's directly across the cafe. Our biggest issue was with the balcony doors. All you have to do is jiggle them about 3 times (open and close) and they will pop right open. We reported this to the front desk and they immediately sent someone to fix it. For about 15 min we had a mechanic in our room trying to fix the door - this was not something we wanted after spending several hours on a flight and another 1 hour taxi drive from the airport. The mechanic had me test the door twice after he "fixed" it, but both times I was able to pop the door open with a few back and forth movements. We called the front desk and had them move us to a room with more privacy and to let the mechanic do his thing. We moved to room 414 down the hall. We tested the balcony doors here too and with a few back and forth movements, the door popped open. At this point we didn't care and accepted the room. We assumed all the poolside doors were like this since they are made of the same devices. The rooms were nice as long as you didn't look at the details.

There were mosquitos in the room every night. I'm not sure if this is the hotels' fault or Phuket in general, but do a check each night because we got eaten alive the first night!

The location is OK since it's right across the beach, however the sewage drains out to the beach which is right across the street from this hotel. This is has nothing to do with the hotel, but just be aware. It is a 15 min walk to food and action.

The shampoo, conditioner, bath wash and lotion are all in fancy, reusable containers. I question if they actually cleaned them out before the previous person used them or just refilled them. I don't think this is very hygienic and would prefer to have my own, new mini bottle of liquids.

The pool is the best part about this hotel. The staff is friendly. For being listed as a 5 star hotel on Agoda, I was very disappointed. I would not stay here again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms were nothing special. Check to see if the balcony doors lock! (jiggle them back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments, and we would like to invite you to return and to give us another chance.

Your sliding door lock was repaired right away.

They have to be changed routinely due to the salt air, and we are sorry that we did not get to your door before you arrived.

We are proud to avoid using plastic bottles for our amenities, and I wish we could convince you that reusable containers is one of the best ways to do our part for the future.

Wesley Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I appreciate that keeping a property on the beach front looking new can be a challenge in such a weathering environment but first impressions were that this place was already starting to show its age. For some reason I was expecting a new hotel but it's already starting to look tatty around the edges. Wicker also seems to age quickly in wet climates and so the sun beds around the pool made it all seem a bit more run-down than it probably actually is.

It's a trendy design hotel run by the French hotel group Accor who clearly don't have a cheap "design" brand like Starwood's Aloft but this is the same type of idea. A digression, there was a odd catalogue of Accor hotels in the room that seemed to consist of random properties around the world that had no other common feature than they were not obvious candidates for the group's branded chains Novotel, Mercure or Sofitel.

We were given two rooms next to each other by the side of the main pool. Good sized rooms with a lot of the aforementioned "design" flourishes (green Perspex, iPod dock and a device to throw coloured lights to the ceiling). The bathroom didn't have too many amenities (no toothbrushes and toothpaste or razor and shaving cream) and the shower door leaked water into the main room where it travelled the distance across the whole floor to a drain near the loo.

The free wifi was not the fastest on the planet but but the login was ready when we arrived using my first name and room number as the user name and password and it worked for all our devices simultaneously. Good.

The pool guys were great, made good cocktails (two for the price of one from 4pm) and the snack food was surprisingly all right. The daily free cocktail is a nice touch but they didn't seem to feature much, you know, actual alcohol. As it wasn't included in the room rate we didn't have breakfast (also the comments here didn't make it seem worth making the effort to get up) but there are plenty of places in town to eat.

Given the very many places in Patong to stay, I'm not sure that I'd bother staying here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I would have to agree with your general comments concerning resorts by the beach.

We continually maintain and repair our buildings, and we usually do the exterior areas after the rainy season.

I will pass on your kind comments to our team.

Wesley Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Pros

- Location (Close to Patong beach and Jungceylon shopping mall)
- Modern look
- Polite & welcoming staff
- Fantasy swimming pool
- Complimentary drink
- Generous 30min shower room after check-out
- Nightly live music sessions

The Cons
- Breakfast is expensive and not good
- Wifi is very slow and useless
- Bathroom shower
- Wall cracks are every where!
- No DVD player

Room Tip: Try to get ocean view or the pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection

Address: 198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 Spa Hotel in Patong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#12 Family Hotel in Patong
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime beach front location at the quiet north end of the world famous Patong Beach within close proximity of the busiest eateries, shops and bars. The resort's 123 rooms and suites have a feel which exudes modern playfulness and funky vibes mixed with Feng Shui color schemes. It offers spectacular sunset views from it's 198 lobby bar which overlooks the white sandy beach and sparkling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea. In addition, free WiFi internet access is provided throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public areas. Other facilities include the B-Restaurant, B-Spa, and the private nightclub, Beat Club. Meeting space is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b-Lay Tong Phuket, Mgallery Hotel Patong
B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.