We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, hotel needs a refurb, but so does pa tong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Asiatravel.com
and 11 more sites!
B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 260 hotels in Patong
Melb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pool, hotel needs a refurb, but so does pa tong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went through all the reviews on tripadvisor and it pretty much came down to La Flora and B-Lay. Unfortunatley La Flora was booked out and was asking $100 more per night that B-lay so B-lay it was.

I haven't stayed at any other hotel sin phuket, but from what I can tell, every hotel in pa tong needs a refurbishment.

We stayed in the room with the jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was cracked, had stains from the pump holes and overall appeared very dirty. Didn't use it, even if was ok probably wouldn't use it as it is located outside and there are heaps of mosquitos. I think the hotel did try to address a review previously that mentioned a mosquito problem as whilst we were there we got a letter under the door saying the hotel was going to 'fog' for mosquitos, whatever that means. Either way you can't blame them for the mosquitos, its can issue across thailand.

The room was a let down though, that mouldy smell inside the room and the split air conditioning was quite loud - and old. Room had chips in the joinery, only piece of rug in the room was badly stained and needed replacing. I think the smell in the room comes from the design of the shower, that keeps water underneath fake wooden slats.

I under stand that when new the M-gallery would have looked fantastic, but has since worn down and it is something that is quite hard to maintain.

The infinity pool though was awesome and would have to be THE BEST POOL on pa tong. I went on tours and from what I hear from the other tourists we had the best hotel in terms of rooms though and the pool. The hotel is situated north of pa tong beach so avoid the noise and hustle of central pa tong beach near all the shops which is a major complaint from other tourists. However if you're not going to spend much time in the hotel or the pool then go for a hotel closer to the action as otherwise it's a 200bht taxi ride to and from there or a 15 minute walk. Doing that 3-4 times per day adds up.

Break fast was good though, amazing honey fresh out of the honeycomb.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the Infinity pool, even though no rooms have direct access. Our room was a 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We will speed up up our maintenance program as the low season approaches, and we apologize that your room may not have been touched up on time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    177
    62
    13
    12
See reviews for
62
293
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with my wife back in January and absolutely loved it. The few things that made me most satisfied were:

Service: Excellent. The hotel staff tried their best to meet our requests. For us, we were flying out at 2am on the last day of our trip but the standard checkout time is 12pm. At our request, the hotel allowed us to keep our bags with them after we checked out (we went for a drive around Phuket) and allowed us to return in the evening to take a shower for free using one of their rooms. This is something I had never even thought was possible but seemed to be quite common for them. Make sure you reserve a slot for the showers when you check-in since it's dependent on availability of the shower room.

Location: Although the hotel is technically located on Patong Beach (which some people abhor), it is right on the northern side, meaning it is tucked away in a spot that is away from all the noise and clamour of Patong Beach itself. It took us approximately twenty minutes to walk to central Patong. Tuk-tuks were quoted at 400 Baht one way, which seemed quite steep based on the short distance to the city center. Another cheaper, more flexible (and more fun) option is to rent a bike for 200 Baht per day.

One other thing I want to mention is a travel agency near this hotel. Right around the north-west corner of the hotel is a three-way intersection, and just north of that (on the west side of the road) is a tiny travel agency (it's next to a seafood restaurant). Since the lady there was super nice to us and gave us great prices, I promised her I would write about her agency online. I don't remember the name of her place, but her name is Poo and if you decide to go, tell her a Canadian/Korean couple sent you. We got a great price for the late night taxi ride to the airport and tickets to the Simon Caberet show. We would have booked the Similan tour with her had we not already booked it well in advance with another tour operator.


Cheers,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Our shower room offer is quite popular. We only wish that we could always have a room available for this, but unfortunately, it's not always the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Staff is amazingly friendly and very helpful Cool artwork, rooms very spacious Had a great vacation Very clean hotel, with excellent breakfast.. Had room steps into pool, worth the extra..
Door man excellent

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Louis Du Rhone, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Close to the beach,Very well- done rooms(where everything can be bought!) with contemporary ambience.
The best part is the Pool, with its attached bar..Pool timings extend till 9 in the night which is great..!
They give drink vouchers ,friendly staff, located cloase to beach , to neccessities like a bike etc...
Loved our stay .!!
Breakfast had minimum choices for vegetarians..

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side face the beach , you hsould ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the comments concerning our breakfast selection; they have been duly noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Staff is amazingly friendly and very helpful
Cool artwork, rooms very spacious
Had a great vacation
Very clean hotel, with excellent breakfast
We were sorry we could not stay another couple
Of days
Will get back there for sure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Well, we will look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend accommodated at this hotel from the 08/02 to the 22/02, as first timers in Phuket we weren't sure what to expect but when we arrived at the hotel, the hospitality was just amazing! Staff members opened our car doors, took care of our luggages and brought it up to our room.

When checking in, the staff were friendly and helpful. We checked in late at night and in my mind I thought checking in would take awhile... But in fact it was a quick and easy process. I requested a room with a sea view and we got just that! Free drink coupons were given to us on arrival, we were each given a free drink for every night of our stay. Once checking in was done, the lady showed us around the hotel briefly before ushering us to our room.

The room was big and spacious, the bed was good, a little hard when we first laid down but we got used to it after a couple of days. The first thing we did when we got to the room was shower, unfortunately the shower had a very unpleasant musty smell which seemed to be there all through our stay. The water also was a little hard to figure out at times, it had intervals when it either became too hot or too cold, but we managed to get by.

The one thing I enjoyed most about my stay was that our bedroom was made up everyday. Bed linens were changed everyday apon request, free sealed bottles of water everyday put in the mini bar and our towels were changed everyday as well.

There's a 24 hours room service available although we didn't get the chance to use it, it's still a convenience to have that as an option.

The swimming pool was a good place to relax and soak up the sun, it has a brilliant view from there.

Buffet breakfast was good, we enjoyed it very much. I like having a fair few options and being able to eat something different everyday. Most of the staff at breakfast were helpful and welcoming but not all. We had an issue that raised with a staff at breakfast, this lady seemed to be very unwelcoming and disrespectful at times. Maybe it was just our imagination but this lady seemed to have some serious problems with us. After a few days tolerating her ignorance we finally decided to put our foot down and speak to a manager. We had a chat with the general manager about the matter and he was able to help us. He was friendly and took his time to address the issue to the lady which seemed to improve.

One night we noticed our bed linen was dirtier than we've left it. This made us both very disgusted and angry at the fact our bed was changed with a dirtier sheet. We called up reception and someone came up to change it with a fresh one.

To sum up our experience at the B-Lay Tong, it was amazing to be surrounded by such lovely people who always made an effort to fulfill your every need. There were no kids around during our stay which made it much more relaxing.

The general manager is a lovely person, we got the chance to have a couple of drinks with him. It's great to see people like the general manager and the co-owner making an effort to get to know their guest.

I loved this hotel and everything about it, definitely recommend it for couples or anyone who's just looking for a relaxing holiday. The hotel is located on the quieter end of Patong and it's only a 15 minutes walk to Bangla road and the main shopping centre. It only cost you 100 bath to get a scooter and 200 for a tuk tuk from there so it's worth staying at B-Lay.

On our next visit to Phuket we will definitely be staying at the B-Lay Tong again.

Thanks for everyone who made our stay a special one :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We apologize for the musty feel in your shower room.

Very soon, we will be adapting the floors in some of our shower rooms in order to fix this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We usually stay at the Le Meridien when we're in Phuket during more extended stays, but since we're only stopping over for 2 nights this time, we decided to try a new place on the main street where we can walk to all the restaurants and bars.

The B-Lay Tong Phuket was not very impressive when we first arrived on the property. It was a bit small, and does not have direct beach access (like I was lead to believe in the hotel's official photos). However, once we stepped inside we were immediately charmed.

Property: The hotel felt fairly new, has a nice garden and a beautiful infinity pool that overlooks the beach. The beach chairs around the pool are sturdy and have just about the thickest, most comfortable cushions compared to any other hotels we've stayed at. (My husband was ready to call this our main hotel in Phuket in the future just for those beach chairs). The hotel was at full capacity during our stay, but surprisingly, there are very few people hanging out around the pool and it was never difficult to find lounge chairs no matter what time we went to the pool. There is also a tiny little gym that has about 3 exercise cardio machines and 2~3 strength stations. It's better than nothing but so small that we didn't think we'd ever use it. There was also a "library" on site that looked more like a conference room with big comfy couches. Oh, and most importantly, free internet access on the whole property!

Room: We had a garden view room on the 2nd floor that faces the pool/ocean. It has a view of the tranquil looking garden, but was not high enough to see the ocean. If you want an ocean view, you need to go 3rd floor or above. The room was very nicely decorated in mostly white with a touch of color here and there. The set up is rather modern but also very convenient. Both the bed and linens were very comfortable. The hotel also provided a lot of extra amenities in the room, such as a waterproof beach bag, his & hers slippers, umbrellas, etc etc. We didn't get to use any of them during our stay but can definitely seem them come in handy. Also nice was that it looked like most rooms have a large hot tub in the balcony. It was so big and comfy but also easy to fill up and easy to make it as hot as you like. There are also shutters on the balcony where the hot tub is which provides some privacy, also a nice touch. The only thing that makes the room just "almost perfect" was that there are not enough plugins that are easily accessible in the room, but we're electronic junkies and need a lot of those.. For most people they may very well have enough.

Service: We found the staff very welcoming. Both check-in and check out were a breeze, you could just feel how well trained the staff were. The girl who showed us our room also gave us a quick tour pointing both in the hotel and in the room (not necessary, but still nice.) We ordered room service and was pleasantly surprised that even though they are at full capacity, the food came quickly. The service around the pool was also friendly and fast. Since our flight leaves late at night, the hotel allowed us to use the spa shower free of charge (we couldn't get late checkout since the hotel was fully booked.) We also arranged airport transfer through the hotel and were very happy that the car was brand new and the driver very nice (and careful).

Food: I really have to highlight this separately because we really enjoyed the food at the hotel! We were cheap so we didn't have breakfast at the hotel (walked to the McD's near by every morning, less than 10 mins away), but had lunch at the hotel several times, and discovered just about the best pizza we've had in Asia. It was so delicious we had to order the same thing the next day. (Granted, we are Americans and if you prefer the authentic Italian pizza, this may not be your favorite.) It was also surprisingly very good value (around 300 baht) considering that most hotels like to over charge for food. The hotel also gave us nightly drink vouchers so we tried out the bar. They have this incredible signature cocktail called the Red Queen (I think) that I just couldn't get enough of. We already had dinner plans so didn't get to have dinner at the restaurant, but on the next trip we definitely plan to try more things at the hotel (and maybe even try their breakfast one day!)

Overall: It was just a wonderful experience. The stay at the hotel is so comfortable, the food so good, and we can get to the busy part of town so easily. It's great to not have to haggle with tuk-tuk drivers everyday! We may just say bye to our faithful friends at Le Meridien and come back here for all of our stays in Phuket!

Room Tip: Second floor and below cannot see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments.

I am sure Le Meridien will miss you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
b-Lay Tong Phuket, Mgallery Hotel Patong
b-Lay Tong Phuket, Mgallery Hotel
B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection Patong
Address: 198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Patong
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime beach front location at the quiet north end of the world famous Patong Beach within close proximity of the busiest eateries, shops and bars. The resort's 123 rooms and suites have a feel which exudes modern playfulness and funky vibes mixed with Feng Shui color schemes. It offers spectacular sunset views from it's 198 lobby bar which overlooks the white sandy beach and sparkling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea. In addition, free WiFi internet access is provided throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public areas. Other facilities include the B-Restaurant, B-Spa, and the private nightclub, Beat Club. Meeting space is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, ACCOR, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B-Lay Tong Phuket, MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.