We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COOL HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 711 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“COOL HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Staff is amazingly friendly and very helpful
Cool artwork, rooms very spacious
Had a great vacation
Very clean hotel, with excellent breakfast
We were sorry we could not stay another couple
Of days
Will get back there for sure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Well, we will look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    220
    77
    18
    16
See reviews for
80
380
51
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend accommodated at this hotel from the 08/02 to the 22/02, as first timers in Phuket we weren't sure what to expect but when we arrived at the hotel, the hospitality was just amazing! Staff members opened our car doors, took care of our luggages and brought it up to our room.

When checking in, the staff were friendly and helpful. We checked in late at night and in my mind I thought checking in would take awhile... But in fact it was a quick and easy process. I requested a room with a sea view and we got just that! Free drink coupons were given to us on arrival, we were each given a free drink for every night of our stay. Once checking in was done, the lady showed us around the hotel briefly before ushering us to our room.

The room was big and spacious, the bed was good, a little hard when we first laid down but we got used to it after a couple of days. The first thing we did when we got to the room was shower, unfortunately the shower had a very unpleasant musty smell which seemed to be there all through our stay. The water also was a little hard to figure out at times, it had intervals when it either became too hot or too cold, but we managed to get by.

The one thing I enjoyed most about my stay was that our bedroom was made up everyday. Bed linens were changed everyday apon request, free sealed bottles of water everyday put in the mini bar and our towels were changed everyday as well.

There's a 24 hours room service available although we didn't get the chance to use it, it's still a convenience to have that as an option.

The swimming pool was a good place to relax and soak up the sun, it has a brilliant view from there.

Buffet breakfast was good, we enjoyed it very much. I like having a fair few options and being able to eat something different everyday. Most of the staff at breakfast were helpful and welcoming but not all. We had an issue that raised with a staff at breakfast, this lady seemed to be very unwelcoming and disrespectful at times. Maybe it was just our imagination but this lady seemed to have some serious problems with us. After a few days tolerating her ignorance we finally decided to put our foot down and speak to a manager. We had a chat with the general manager about the matter and he was able to help us. He was friendly and took his time to address the issue to the lady which seemed to improve.

One night we noticed our bed linen was dirtier than we've left it. This made us both very disgusted and angry at the fact our bed was changed with a dirtier sheet. We called up reception and someone came up to change it with a fresh one.

To sum up our experience at the B-Lay Tong, it was amazing to be surrounded by such lovely people who always made an effort to fulfill your every need. There were no kids around during our stay which made it much more relaxing.

The general manager is a lovely person, we got the chance to have a couple of drinks with him. It's great to see people like the general manager and the co-owner making an effort to get to know their guest.

I loved this hotel and everything about it, definitely recommend it for couples or anyone who's just looking for a relaxing holiday. The hotel is located on the quieter end of Patong and it's only a 15 minutes walk to Bangla road and the main shopping centre. It only cost you 100 bath to get a scooter and 200 for a tuk tuk from there so it's worth staying at B-Lay.

On our next visit to Phuket we will definitely be staying at the B-Lay Tong again.

Thanks for everyone who made our stay a special one :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We apologize for the musty feel in your shower room.

Very soon, we will be adapting the floors in some of our shower rooms in order to fix this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We usually stay at the Le Meridien when we're in Phuket during more extended stays, but since we're only stopping over for 2 nights this time, we decided to try a new place on the main street where we can walk to all the restaurants and bars.

The B-Lay Tong Phuket was not very impressive when we first arrived on the property. It was a bit small, and does not have direct beach access (like I was lead to believe in the hotel's official photos). However, once we stepped inside we were immediately charmed.

Property: The hotel felt fairly new, has a nice garden and a beautiful infinity pool that overlooks the beach. The beach chairs around the pool are sturdy and have just about the thickest, most comfortable cushions compared to any other hotels we've stayed at. (My husband was ready to call this our main hotel in Phuket in the future just for those beach chairs). The hotel was at full capacity during our stay, but surprisingly, there are very few people hanging out around the pool and it was never difficult to find lounge chairs no matter what time we went to the pool. There is also a tiny little gym that has about 3 exercise cardio machines and 2~3 strength stations. It's better than nothing but so small that we didn't think we'd ever use it. There was also a "library" on site that looked more like a conference room with big comfy couches. Oh, and most importantly, free internet access on the whole property!

Room: We had a garden view room on the 2nd floor that faces the pool/ocean. It has a view of the tranquil looking garden, but was not high enough to see the ocean. If you want an ocean view, you need to go 3rd floor or above. The room was very nicely decorated in mostly white with a touch of color here and there. The set up is rather modern but also very convenient. Both the bed and linens were very comfortable. The hotel also provided a lot of extra amenities in the room, such as a waterproof beach bag, his & hers slippers, umbrellas, etc etc. We didn't get to use any of them during our stay but can definitely seem them come in handy. Also nice was that it looked like most rooms have a large hot tub in the balcony. It was so big and comfy but also easy to fill up and easy to make it as hot as you like. There are also shutters on the balcony where the hot tub is which provides some privacy, also a nice touch. The only thing that makes the room just "almost perfect" was that there are not enough plugins that are easily accessible in the room, but we're electronic junkies and need a lot of those.. For most people they may very well have enough.

Service: We found the staff very welcoming. Both check-in and check out were a breeze, you could just feel how well trained the staff were. The girl who showed us our room also gave us a quick tour pointing both in the hotel and in the room (not necessary, but still nice.) We ordered room service and was pleasantly surprised that even though they are at full capacity, the food came quickly. The service around the pool was also friendly and fast. Since our flight leaves late at night, the hotel allowed us to use the spa shower free of charge (we couldn't get late checkout since the hotel was fully booked.) We also arranged airport transfer through the hotel and were very happy that the car was brand new and the driver very nice (and careful).

Food: I really have to highlight this separately because we really enjoyed the food at the hotel! We were cheap so we didn't have breakfast at the hotel (walked to the McD's near by every morning, less than 10 mins away), but had lunch at the hotel several times, and discovered just about the best pizza we've had in Asia. It was so delicious we had to order the same thing the next day. (Granted, we are Americans and if you prefer the authentic Italian pizza, this may not be your favorite.) It was also surprisingly very good value (around 300 baht) considering that most hotels like to over charge for food. The hotel also gave us nightly drink vouchers so we tried out the bar. They have this incredible signature cocktail called the Red Queen (I think) that I just couldn't get enough of. We already had dinner plans so didn't get to have dinner at the restaurant, but on the next trip we definitely plan to try more things at the hotel (and maybe even try their breakfast one day!)

Overall: It was just a wonderful experience. The stay at the hotel is so comfortable, the food so good, and we can get to the busy part of town so easily. It's great to not have to haggle with tuk-tuk drivers everyday! We may just say bye to our faithful friends at Le Meridien and come back here for all of our stays in Phuket!

Room Tip: Second floor and below cannot see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments.

I am sure Le Meridien will miss you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the B-Lay Tong for 4 nights in February and when we got there we were immediately struck by the very cool artwork and funky surrounds. The front desk were very helpful and we got free drink vouchers for the attached bar/restaurant as well as many other extras we weren’t expecting. We stayed in the deluxe room with the outdoor spa and it was amazing. Very funky, cool and spacious. At first we were taken to a room without the large bath (which for me was essential) but once we alerted the staff they quickly rectified the problem and after about and hours wait they showed us to another room. Unfortunately for us we were only on the second floor so our view was nonexistent but if you were on the higher floors I imagine it would have been amazing. Breakfast was of a high standard- egg station, a variety of cuisines and lighter options too. The pool area was definitely a highlight. The infinity edge overlooking the beach was beautiful. It was great to spend the day by the pool with a few cocktails in hand. The only problem with the pool area was a lack of sun beds and umbrellas. This would be the only complaint i would have about the hotel. Other then that it was a great stay in a great location (we preferred to stay out of the immediate chaos of Banga La road). We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

i was in phuket ... befor 2 weeks or so ... i stayed for 5 nights in the hotel it was awesome ... clean, nice beds ,nice swimming pool ,close to bangla road abt 15 mins walking with a nice restaurant near the hotel , we reserved the grand deluxe room and they surprised us with an upgrade into spa suite which was great with a rain shower and massage room private balcony jacuzzi ... we got pool and sea view room ... we reserved a day trip to phi phi island and we got so drunk the day before the we couldn't wake up ... and the whole hotel was lookin for us ... they were so kind to give us another chance the next day but the manager insisted that we dnt go to bangla road that night not to get drunk again ...i thought she was like my mum for a sec :D ... it was the nicest hotel btw the 3 hotels we stayed in thought we stayed in the pattaya Marriott hotel ... and eastin hotel in bangkok but so far this one was the coolest :D ... we just wanted to spend the whole trip in it :D .... as for OAK at the front office she is so friendly and nice

Room Tip: go for the grand deluxe rooms .... not the pool rooms plz it doesnt worth the extra money :) .... sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and i thought it was an amazing experience staying at the b laytong puket. we where there on our honey moon and we enjoyed every minute of our stay, the buffet brakfeast was amazing, with such varriety, the rooms were always cleaned upon request, the food and service was exelent and responsive , the hotel was clean and hygenic at all times. We'ed also like to thank all staff for thire assitance and thire professionalism through our stay.

Kind regaurds from melbourne australia and we hope to stay with b laytong again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights here after staying 4 nigts at centara karon resort.. Firstly the positives: the hotel is in a good location just across the beach on the north side.. It is a 20 min to walk to centre of town ( bangala) and it did take its toll as we had to pay for tuk tuks (200 baht) as it was to hot to walk.. We stayed at the pool access room which was excellent and was the best part of this hotel. The breakfast was ok and did have good selections for everyone..we really like the vibe of the hotel it was very modern and classy at the same time..
Now the negatives: the service is questionable .we arrived at the hotel at 12 and was told our rooms were not ready and to wait till 2. We decided to walk and explore the beach and came back at 2.30 were we were told it was not ready yet. NOT GOOD ENOUGH.. No complimentary drinks or anything just the cold shoulder.. This hotel has a massive mosqesito problem.. We had to use 2 cans of spray to keep them out of the rooms. They are everywhere in the rooms, restaurant and pools. It was becoming really annoying and painful at times..during the stay you have to deposit 5000 baht for hotel purchases and staff at pool were rude and pushing to sell you drinks which was not pleasant when you are relaxing by the pool..overall we might look at other hotels for the price we paid but might return if they address the issues raised

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We will most certainly address these issues and thank you for bringing them to our attention.

I am quite disappointed that you were not offered any beverages or snacks after our 2 pm checkin time. The pool bar staff issue has already been addressed. Generally, we do not fog for mosquitoes when the hotel is full and during the dry season, however, we will make extra efforts around the Pool Front Deluxe rooms.

We would like to invite you back and would be grateful to have another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection

Address: 198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 Spa Hotel in Patong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#12 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#12 Family Hotel in Patong
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime beach front location at the quiet north end of the world famous Patong Beach within close proximity of the busiest eateries, shops and bars. The resort's 123 rooms and suites have a feel which exudes modern playfulness and funky vibes mixed with Feng Shui color schemes. It offers spectacular sunset views from it's 198 lobby bar which overlooks the white sandy beach and sparkling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea. In addition, free WiFi internet access is provided throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public areas. Other facilities include the B-Restaurant, B-Spa, and the private nightclub, Beat Club. Meeting space is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b-Lay Tong Phuket, Mgallery Hotel Patong
B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B-Lay Tong Phuket - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.