We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Plain Honest Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yorkshire Hotel Restaurant

Yorkshire Hotel Restaurant
169/16 Soi Sansabai, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 340 restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Patong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Plain Honest Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

To anyone familiar with the county of Yorkshire, England and its reputation this is a no brainer. The hotel is a solid, honest value for money establishment with no fancy friparies or pretentions. It is clean,comfortable and well run. The Thai staff are friendly, efficient and numerous.

I booked a large double. The room was indeed large. It needed to be as the bed appeared to be about half an acre. The decor was plain and simple in keeping with the general stadards of the place. There is everything you need and nothing you dont. Fittings were solid modern and in good order. Efficient airconditioning and shower, flat screen tv with all the free channels. Good natural light with a view of adjoining rooftops if you want it or an effective louvre blind if not.

Location is central, exactly as advertised There is a large light airy resaurant at the front serving good local food plus the usual western dishes and some traditional English specials.

It should be said that the place is over at least three floors with no elevator so check room allocation if you have mobility issues. It is probably not ideal for young families but very popular with couples groups and singles.

Only downside for me is that it is very popular. Cant always get in so book early.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    29
    21
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I had breakfast here 3 mornings in a row loved it ! Great beans and toast and eggs cooked any way you like... The booth we sat in had its own little TV to watch the morning news.. The staff were always happy to see us and help... Great place I'll be back !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“English Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Definitely the best English food in Phuket when you get tired of rice and noodles. It's a treat for me because it is a little more expensive than most places in Patong - but that is not to say I think it over-priced. The only place I know now where you can get steak and ale pie - delicious! I have lived now for 3 years in Phuket. I usually go there for a proper English breakfast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good Roast dinner and English breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Are you missing English grub already? If you have an aversion to Thai food, or are just exhausted by it and want some 'farang' food this place does a decent roast dinner and full english breakfast , i cant vouch for the rest of the menu however. Obviously its explensive compared to local Thai food but it is good quality, and it can be nice just to sit in a restaurant with air conditioning for a change.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalang
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to the Yorkshire for a wedding breakfast.It was great.Food absolutely amazing.Service really good we had a really great time all round.Would definately recomend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorkshire Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yorkshire Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yorkshire Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.