We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel at a good price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martini House Ban Kanchana

Martini House Ban Kanchana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Martini House Ban Kanchana to your Saves list
Martini House Ban Kanchana
147 / 1 Nanai Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great hotel at a good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here for a little over a week. Its a good walk to the beach from here but not so far that its impossible. I would advise hiring a moped from the owner, he charges 150-130 baht per day. Its only a very short walk to JungeCylon (a massive and comprehensive shopping centre). there is plenty of markets, bars and restaurants about. The owner of the hotel is an italian expat and very friendly. the rooms are fairly big with balconies and en-suite bath rooms. you get a choice in room, quite or loud. the difference is how high up they are, do not go to high, you will regret it later when you have to climb all the way back up there. the rooms are very clean and are cleaned daily by the housekeeper. the hotel does have a bit of a run down feel if I'm honest, its just little things such as broken cupboards, taps ect but this is no real problem. I would easily stay here again. If I can offer one piece of advice though, pay the 50 baht a day extra for air con, its sooooo worth it.

Room Tip: do not go too quite as it just means lots of stairs to walk up and pay the small extra fee for air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I accidentally booked this place for the wrong month but the owner still provided us with a room which was great as we arrived late at night!

It is a bit of a walk to the nightlife and beach but it was in a quieter area.

The rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in Patong. We did not book through any booking sites, arrived and was told it is 900 bht per night which is 200 bht more than indicated through booking sites. Struggled to close main door and balcony door did not lock at all. Air conditioning unit made loud noises through out the night. Walk to beach is not a 15 min stroll, but more of a 30min brisk, hot and humid walk to the beach. Look it is Patong, the streets are noisy and there is no glamour or beauty. We just found that this place was not value for money.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the Martini House hotel for only one night having been driven out by the volume of passing traffic and drunken revellers making their way back to their hotels throughout the night thus making sleep impossible.

Having said this the hotel is more than adequate as a basis low cost accommodation. It is owned /managed by Antonio who goes out of his way to be helpful.

Would I stop there again? No, but in my younger days I'm sure I would have been more than happy to spend my time there . In short if your closer to 30 than 20 think twice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Firstly the Martini House is a budget hotel, and as such it is good value for money. Antonio the Manager/Owner not sure which is a great guy who is very fair. We booked for 3 nights but only stayed one due to the noise at night. Brands Hatch eat your heart out! At night it is like a motorcycle race track and worse still it sounds like one. The noise was horrendous, in the main motor bikes roaring up and down. Sleeping was not an option. Maybe we had a bad night, I would like to think so. There that's the Rant over.
The rooms are adequate and reasonably priced, fridge, tv, (cable) bathroom, bike hire on site and Antonio just can't do enough for you.
Bit of a walk into Patong front at the beach but doable and it's interesting. Lots of stalls and things to look at on the way. But you have to be mindful along Nanai Road(outside the hotel)that traffic can at times move quite quick and no concessions to pedestrians, no foot path. The locals are in the main very friendly and it is a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: You can only be at the front so go high to avoid some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in mid December. Good value for money. The manager Antonio is great, very friendly and helpful. The location is a 15-20min walk from the beach, but it is an interesting little walk. Not too far from the Jungceylon Mall either. Also if you walk South (left) along the road there are some nice open air restaurants for dinner. The road is not exactly a suburban street, it can get quite busy as it is an alternative route through town, so some noise at night. Room is well appointed, cool fridge, air con, cupboards, basic shower. Beds are a little firm for taste. Note: the hotel road sign was not up when I arrived, so make sure you know the street number so you know you've got the right place.

Room Tip: Make sure you book an air conditioning room as the heat at night in Phuket can be high. Also ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Let's clear up a couple of things, shall we? Firstly, although Martini House is not near the beach, it is still walkable. Anyone who tells you that you need a taxi is just plain lazy. The walk to the beach is great fun with a mixture of local and tourist highlights. Food stalls, shopping malls, bars etc, it's all worth imbibing as you wander the streets to and from the beach.

Secondly, this is not a hostel. There are no dining facilities but calling it a hostel makes it sound like you're sharing dorms. I should emphasize that the rooms are hotel-like: clean, accommodating and large too. I slept soundly four days in a row as the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was also clean with hot water. The room was turned over every morning. Cable TV too, as well as a large balcony.

Perhaps most importantly, however, was the proprietor's attention. Antonio bent over backwards to ensure my stay was both welcome and comfortable. He arranged a car hire as soon as I turned up (car hire is quite difficult to organise since most people hire scooters in Phuket...rather you than me). I ended up extending my stay for a day and I messed Antonio around somewhat by changing the return bus journey three times. Each time he sorted it out without complaint. After I apologised he simply said "no problem, it's my job".

Someone mentioned the Italian restaurant across the way. I can definitely second the pizza recommendation! The coffee bar opposite is great for a morning mocha and pastry too. In fact this whole area has a very cosmopolitan, European feel to it. Since I live in south east Asia, getting some home-comfort European food was a luxury. Come on, this is Patong, you're gonna struggle to get authentic Thai ambiance, though there are a couple of Thai hawker market-style restaurants just up the road if you're after a pad thai or green curry.

This place is a bargain in a great location, run by a conscientious proprietor. If you're on a budget, and even if you aren't, I can certainly recommend Martini House.

Room Tip: Speak to Carlos at South Mansion if you're after a car or scooter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martini House Ban Kanchana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martini House Ban Kanchana

Address: 147 / 1 Nanai Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Patong
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Martini House Ban Kanchana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martini House Ban Kanchana Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martini House Ban Kanchana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.