We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star service at a two star price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martini House Ban Kanchana

Save Saved
You added Martini House Ban Kanchana to your Saves list
Martini House Ban Kanchana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martini House Ban Kanchana
147 / 1 Nanai Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 273 hotels in Patong
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Four star service at a two star price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Let's clear up a couple of things, shall we? Firstly, although Martini House is not near the beach, it is still walkable. Anyone who tells you that you need a taxi is just plain lazy. The walk to the beach is great fun with a mixture of local and tourist highlights. Food stalls, shopping malls, bars etc, it's all worth imbibing as you wander the streets to and from the beach.

Secondly, this is not a hostel. There are no dining facilities but calling it a hostel makes it sound like you're sharing dorms. I should emphasize that the rooms are hotel-like: clean, accommodating and large too. I slept soundly four days in a row as the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was also clean with hot water. The room was turned over every morning. Cable TV too, as well as a large balcony.

Perhaps most importantly, however, was the proprietor's attention. Antonio bent over backwards to ensure my stay was both welcome and comfortable. He arranged a car hire as soon as I turned up (car hire is quite difficult to organise since most people hire scooters in Phuket...rather you than me). I ended up extending my stay for a day and I messed Antonio around somewhat by changing the return bus journey three times. Each time he sorted it out without complaint. After I apologised he simply said "no problem, it's my job".

Someone mentioned the Italian restaurant across the way. I can definitely second the pizza recommendation! The coffee bar opposite is great for a morning mocha and pastry too. In fact this whole area has a very cosmopolitan, European feel to it. Since I live in south east Asia, getting some home-comfort European food was a luxury. Come on, this is Patong, you're gonna struggle to get authentic Thai ambiance, though there are a couple of Thai hawker market-style restaurants just up the road if you're after a pad thai or green curry.

This place is a bargain in a great location, run by a conscientious proprietor. If you're on a budget, and even if you aren't, I can certainly recommend Martini House.

Room Tip: Speak to Carlos at South Mansion if you're after a car or scooter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The street this hotel is in seems to be "little Italy" so it has an interesting vibe. It is quiet and pleasant with lots of eateries.
If you like real Italian pizza then there is a killer restaurant opposite this hotel and up a couple of doors. The pizza there is the equal of anything you will find in Italy.
Proximity is about 15 minutes walk to all the action down by the beach. Bear in mind taxi drivers don't seem to know where the hotel is exactly, but they know the street so you might have to walk a little to find it.
Nice, clean, spacious room with all amenities. Good price.
The rooms have little balconies where you can sit, and watch life unfold on the street below.
Very nice, easy going Italian owner who will give you info and tips.
Taxi to nightlife/beach area is 200 baht. Patong seems to have a set taxi rate of 200 baht anywhere.

Overall, this place is great. I was not fussed by the 15 minutes walk to the action.
The friendly owner and the great pizza restaurant were the icing on the cake.
I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel if you are stopping over briefly in Patong. The hostel is very far from the beach... We walked and it was a big mistake! You need to catch a taxi or tuk tuk. We knew it wasn't on the beach but didn't realize just how far away it was. The rooms are clean and the owner is a really helpful Italian man. There is no wifi in the rooms, which means you have to sit outside reception if you need wifi access. Next time, I will stay somewhere closer to the beach and night life area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me and my friends booked this hotel as hotel rooms were quickly being taken up when our trip date was coming near. Martini house was the only hotel which had a room to fit 3 of us in, and for a very cheap price. Antonio, the hotel manager, i have to say this guy is one helpful gem. He always catered to our room needs, gave us tips on where to go and do what in Patong, Phuket. He is very friendly and helpful, suggested us on where we can find night entertainment, even recommended us to a agent to get all our adventure packages for a much much discounted price. The bed sheets were changed daily and fresh towels were also provided. We rented 3 120cc bikes for 4 nights and payed 700 Baht each. I find that reasonable. Over all, it was a wonderful stay. Will definitely return to stay there if i go back patong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luang prabang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room was very spacious and had a lovely balcony. The air con was a god send and the fridge was very useful. It would be even better if there was some bowls/cutlery...
The standard of cleaning was superb, the cleaner did a brilliant job!
The location was perfect for me as it was a nice 15 min stroll to the madness so when you wanted to go to sleep there was no noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights in January 2013. This little hotel is located 15 min away from the beach. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean. The beds are made daily. There’s also a big balcony, safety box, fridge with minibar and air conditioning.
It’s quiet at night: practically no noise from the street nor from other rooms. We were very nicely surprised;
the value for money is excellent! The owner, Anton, is extremely helpful and kind. We will be back, I recommend this hotel to everyone ( not only those who travel on a tight budget).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I stayed there 1 night on the way to ko phi phi and I was nicely surprise. Room was big and had a lot facilities for the price. In the room is air con and big fridge with mini bar and terrace with table and chairs. Staff is amazing very friendly and so helpful and had such as warm atmosphere. Is imazing value for money in 10 min you can get to the busy street and in 15 min you can reach beach. Room was very clean. I would reccomend to anyone to stay there if you on budget or you don't want spent money for expensive resort.

Room Tip: Room in front the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martini House Ban Kanchana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martini House Ban Kanchana

Address: 147 / 1 Nanai Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Patong
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Martini House Ban Kanchana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martini House Ban Kanchana Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martini House Ban Kanchana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.