We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Minotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Minotel to your Saves list
The Minotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   19 Sawasdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 338 Patong B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 45 Reviews
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

the hotel is really convenient, its a really nice place near to the beach, to bangla road, and everything...7eleven, subway, money exchange
its really low price and is perfect
i stay for 10 days and everything was perfect
taxie the reception girl its so kind :D she helps you in everything

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. And I am glad that again the staff looked after you well. We continue to believe that we are the best valus for money hotel in that location.

And whilst we have safes in each room and safety deposit boxes at reception - we have also installed CCTV at reception and every floor (with 30 day retention) to give our guests an even greater sense of security.

We hope to see you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
9
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The hotel is great!!! My friend and I stayed for five nights and were very satisfied. The room is quite comfortable, not too small and not too big. It has air conditioning and hot water for shower, which is nice. The furniture is simple and has a cosy feel. They clean the room and put two bottles of water in the freezer every morning. The location is superb: five minutes' walk to the beach and Bangla Road, so it's close to the centre of Patong's night life and at the same time spare us the noise:) The landlady is the best!! We'd spent some wonderful time with her, her husband and her father-in-law. She'd also helped us a lot with our tour arrangement. On the whole Minotel is not only a place to stay, but also a place to make friends. For us it's MUCH better than a five-star hotel. Couldn't have asked for more. We're sure to stay there again on our next visit to Phuket~^o^~

Room Tip: You may have to drag your luggage to the fourth floor. The landlady's husband helped us do it^^
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. Our front desk staff try hard to look after our guests - I am glad you found them friendly and helpful. We also have 3 cleaning staff for just 19 rooms in the peak season to try and make sure the rooms are all cleaned thoroughly in this busy period.

As you say the location is great and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away. We try to give a good budget style alternative to the much more expensive hotels in the area.

We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My wife and I spent 7 nights at this hotel in mid Jan 2012. Its a resonably low price hotel. No bells and whistles but you have all you need for a good night sleep. Clean spacious room and ensuite, hot shower and air conditioning. TV, Fridge and Safety box which we didn't feel the need to use. Complementary bottled water, new towels and bedding changed everyday. Its quiet at night even though its five minutes walk from the nightlife. But if you intend to sleep in late don't choose the rooms facing the road because the school across the road will give you a morning call. It was fine for us as we needed to get up early for our Scuba Diving lessons which we took with "Scuba Cat" which was also excellent.
There is litterally everything you need within walking distance. 7-11 just two buildings to your left. Cheap seafood street restaurants around the corner to your right. Patong Beach is 5 minutes easy stroll straight down the road to your right. Cafe right at the front entrance. Bangla Road nightlife 5 minutes down the main road. Jungcelon Shopping Mall 5 minutes down the main road. Foreign Exchange stalls everywhere which gave an excellent exchange rate. Don't bother changing any at home. Wait till you get there. There is a excursions/island trips stall right outside the hotel to your left. If you say to the lady at the stall that you know "Taxi" the hotel owner and you are staying at the Minotel, she will give you a good discount. If you need help, advise and directions or just a taxi to the airport just ask the reception.

One little negative. Just a little bit dusty around the window sills on the headboard otherwise spotless everywhere else.

Would definately stay here again.
Richard & Mabel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments - Taxie and the team are very pleased to hear them.

We try hard to keep the rooms clean and the towels and sheets in good condition. Just last week we had another supply of new towels, sheets and pillows - we know these are important to customers even in "budget" hotels. Re the issue you had on window sill by the headbooard we have re checked all the rooms and reminded the staff about them.

The location is great and being walking distance from most things means that guests do not have to pay the large tuk tuk fares that people staying out on say Nanai Road have to pay.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, it was the second hotel we stayed at in Patong. It was a great place to stay, staff were very friendly, and the room was really clean. It was also quite a sizeable room. The location was really good as well, although a little noisy.

Room Tip: No lift, so ask for first floor room if you're too lazy to walk up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. Our front desk staff try hard to look after our guests - I am glad you found them friendly. We also have 3 cleaning staff for just 19 rooms in the peak season to try and make sure the rooms are all cleaned thoroughly in this busy period. Being an older hotel it does mean that the rooms are generally larger than the newer budget type hotels that are currently being built. We glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama City CA USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was my first trip to Patong beach. I was picked up from the airport and taken to Minotel . Very friendly (that why I picked this hotel )My luggage was in my room before I was done checking in !! Basic but comfortable accomodation ,everything I needed was ther including in room safe !! Perfect location , a view minutes to the beach and the Paradise Complex as well. Nice and helpfull staff. I defenetly will go back there.

H.G. Los Angeles, California USA

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The staff do try hard to look after our guests and this is why we are fortunate that so many of our guests return many times.

To keep the prices to the lowest in that area we try to give the basics but with high standards of cleanliness and good service. Whilst basic - the rooms do include Flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities a large fridge so guests can buy their own provisions, free wifi (new fibre optic cable link with 10mbs service) with beach towels, umbrellas and hair dryers available for free at reception. We also do not charge extra for payment by credit card unlike many budget hotels.

As you say it is a great location and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was our 5th trip to Patong, we booked last minute, it was high season so we decided to book at a more affordable guesthouse rather than our usual resort. We booked The Minotel based on tripadvisor reviews, but upon arrival this place had a terrible feel to it, no-one at the reception desk to greet us, no-one to assist with carrying bags and when we did open the door to our room ... it smelt, was dirty and dusty, the sheets were a shade of grey and thread bare and we certainly felt there would be little to no security even if we used the inroom safe. We set about finding another guest house with a vacancy, we could not stay at The Minotel for one night!! We were prepared to forego our deposit and moved to another apartment near Patong Tower for the same price with excellent quality, cleanliness and security.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you for your review - I am obviously concerned that you had such a bad experience - as you stated the majority of the reviews on Trip Advisor are positive and thus it does upset us at the hotel when someone has a bad perception of the hotel.

You said there was no one at reception - we are a small hotel so during the day we have one person allocated to reception and 2 - 3 people cleaning. There are times when the receptionist is away from the front desk when they are showing prospective guests our rooms, helping guests that have checked in with their bags etc but I appreciate that for a new guest just arriving for the first time an empty reception desk does not look good and we will arrange going forwards for a sign and bell to be put on the counter when the receptionist has to leave the front desk for any reason.

It is our policy to offer to assist the customer with their bags - but the majority decline the assistance - so may be some complacency has set in. We will remind the staff on this point.

With regards to cleaning - all rooms are cleaned every day with the sheets and towels changed. The floors are washed and surfaces wiped down. Rooms are subject to independent inspection during and after cleaning. The time you stayed with us we were full (as we were for nearly all of November) and the previous people checked out of your room in the morning and you arrived around 4 - 5pm. The room was fully serviced in that time. It is therefore very surprising that there would have been any accumulation of dust or dirt - I can only apologise and say that this is a very exceptional occurrence.

With regards to the sheets - this is another area that we do focus on. We regularly renew the bedding. In the last 4 months all the mattresses were renewed, this month all the pillows will be changed and for sheets and towels these are on a regular renewal cycle. Sheets are inspected before they get sent to the laundry and on return for any wear and tear. Staff are under instruction to take out of service any substandard items. I do a monthly check myself. Thus again to have "grey and threadbare sheets" is not something we would expect to hear. However as a result of your comments, we are doing another full review of the inventory of sheets to recheck the quality.

For security we have both a safe in the room and safety deposit boxes at reception. It is difficult to respond further to your feeling of there being little security.

With regards to your deposit - you paid for one nights accommodation on arrival and our records showed you stayed the night so it appears reception were not aware that you left early. If you had mentioned on seeing the room that you did not want to stay then you would have received a refund of your advance payment. As you are regular visitors to Patong please let us know when you are next visiting and you can pass by to collect a refund of your payment.

Your comments are quite a variance to those we normally get - however we do take them equally as seriously and as mentioned above we are taking action to make further improvements. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had and I hope the rest of your stay in Patong went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

was visiting a friend staying at Minotel , which is right next to my hotel - Album.
very basic hotel.
3rd floor no lift.big clean room with comp tea coffee.
Decent house keeping.
No breakfast included in the room rate.
Location is great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - though it was a pity you could not stay with us to experience our service first hand.

We do very much market ourselves as a budget hotel and our business model is geared around that. This is why our room rates are significantly cheaper than the hotels around us. More than 50% cheaper than the hotel you mentioned.

As an older hotel our rooms are, as you say, larger than what would normally be expected and definitely much larger than the shoe box size of many of the recent new budget hotels that have been built.

We do put emphasis on cleaning and housekeeping and are glad you comment positively on the cleanliness of the rooms.

Whilst basic - the rooms do include Flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities a large fridge so guests can buy their own provisions, free wifi (new fibre optic cable link with 10mbs service) with beach towels, umbrellas and hair dryers available for free at reception. We do not include breakfast as our principle is to provide the basics and let the guest decide where to spend the rest of their money. We also do not charge extra for payment by credit card unlike many budget hotels.

As you say the location is great and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Minotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Minotel

Address: 19 Sawasdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Minotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minotel is a boutique guest house offering 20 comfortable and individually air conditioned guest rooms in the centre of Patong. It is just 3 minutes walk to the beach (central area of beach), 5 minutes to Bangla entertainment area and the Jungcelyon shopping and restaurant complex and just 2 minutes to the gay Paradise entertainment area with its nightly cabaret shows.It has a street side restaurant and travel desk at the front of the hotel.It has very friendly staff that puts this hotel in the enviable position of having many repeat customers and long term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Minotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Minotel Hotel Patong
The Minotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Minotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.