We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, helpful staff, rooftop pool. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AsiaLoop G-House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AsiaLoop G-House to your Saves list
Ranked #93 of 274 Hotels in Patong
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, helpful staff, rooftop pool. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked 3 nights here for Thai New Year but ended up staying for 6 nights because we liked the hotel so much. Absolutely huge rooms, very modern and clean. Comfy beds, ice cold AC, excellent bathrooms and safes in every room (we stayed in the windowless room and the superior balcony room and both had a safe in the closet, contrary to the previous reviewers complaints). We loved the rooftop pool for an afternoon swim and we found the staff to be more than accommodating. The rooms were cleaned every day. The location of the hotel was nice for us too, just outside of town so 5-10 minutes walk to the beach or bars but not close enough to hear them. The one complaint that we have is that the wifi did not work for more than an hour or two a day for the entire 6 days we were there. However for around $11usd/night on Agoda this has been the best value for our money in over a year of traveling. Would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    39
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
35
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

After some confusion on arrival (we rang to book that morning yet when we arrived they hadn't recorded our booking and just stared blankly at us...) we were put in a nice big room with great air con and a lovely bathroom.

Pool is nice and not too busy, but most of the sun beds are in the shade and you can't move them so if you want to sunbathe then chances are you'll be lying on the floor.

The only bit let down is the location. It's a long walk from the main bars/clubs and the beach especially at 3am in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Booked a SUPERIOR room with BALCONY on AGODA.com with a true SUPERIOR description of such rooms on AGODA,com Website: BALCONY, SUPEROR BEDDING, in-room safe, free Wifi, etc.... Upon arrival and upon showing my AGODA voucher clearly indicating --SUPERIOR ROOM WITH BALCONY (for which I still have a copy), I was told that all such rooms have already been booked and was taken to Room #405: A smelly, borderline dirty, WINDOWLESS room, without any in-room safe and felt outright UNSAFE! I immediately tried to use Wifi to inform AGODA of this tragic occurrence and to my dismay Wifi did NOT work. After respeated trials to have management reset the Wifi modem (about 3 hours of wrangling that it NEVER worked) I finally surrendered the key and left for another definitely more decent hotel (Sun Shine Resort) and contacted AGODA from their working Wifi. This occurred more than 3 days ago and have yet to hear from AGODA even though in the past AGODA was much faster to respond to much less serious predicaments. The morale of the story is that I prepaid for TWO nights and spent less than 3 hours in my rat-hole room and may never see any refund from Agoda which I paid for these two nights with my VISA card. As for the AsiaLoop Guest House I did wish them a very UNHAPPY Thai New Year, and promised to contact the Tourist Police, upon surrendering the key to the receptionist. I invite the readers to see for themselves the description of the Superior Rooms with Balcony on the Agoda Web site (hopefully still unchanged) and invite them to take a look at Room #405 in the AsiaLoop Guesthouse and report their finding to Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Inspect the room FIRST and do NOT pre-book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Okay so the rooftop pool was a highlight for us. Major novelty given our budget and previous, less tourist orientated destinations.

The staff were nice and helpful. Room was clean and the bathroom was huge...we're generally used to showering over the toilet so this was again, a massive novelty. Wifi in our room was quite temperamental, which isn't really a major problem considering most buildings on the island are connected. For what we paid, we were definitely satisfied with the value we got for our money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have already highlighted two of the most important features of this hotel. Owner Mr. Carlos is an extremely humble and cooperative person you would have ever met. We had made our bookings through Agoda.com, we got the confirmation message but due to the synchronization error at their end, booking information was not forwarded to the hotel. When we reached there, we found that no rooms are booked on our name. We called Agoda.com, they apologized for the error, they asked us to lodge a complain and assured us for refund, but expressed their helplessness in providing an alternate arrangement due to lack of vacancy. Left with no other option we approached Mr. Carlos. He not only made made arrangements in his hotel from next day but also made alternative arrangements for us for that day.

Second, rooftop swimming pool is amazing. You can enjoy some of the coolest rooftop pool parties here.

Room Tip: No elevators in this hotel, so prefer rooms at 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The room and the furnitures a lot worn out than I expected and the shower's pretty bad too. The lobby and the walls are decorated nicely but that didn't really improve our experience. When we arrived, we were told that they didn't have the key for our room (previous customer didn't return it) which wasn't their fault but they took us up to the room and we were left standing for about 15 minutes without anyone explaining to us what was happening. We were just going to leave but the owner was nice enough to upgrade us to a better room upstairs. The location is a bit far compared to other places from the main street. Probably won't go back. The rooftop pool was nice though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had high hopes when i reserved this hotel, as i had stayed there before when it was new. The rooms and hotel have been let rundown. The bathroom was dirty, with the shower curtain been torn off and not replaced. Twice i had to get my own towels, as room service had not left any. The towels are long past the replace stage. Up at the pool, some repainting was long overdue and garbage from the previos day had not been cleaned up. All the mirrors in the room were dusty, showing basic cleaning was lacking. The location is also very noisy, and made sleep difficult as my room faced the road. It was sad to see the condition of this hotel after a few short years.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room that does not face the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AsiaLoop G-House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AsiaLoop G-House

Address: Sirirat Rd. 2-17/20 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AsiaLoop G-House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AsiaLoop G-House is Situated on a side street on the southern end of Patong Beach. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach, Jungceylon Shopping Complex and the night life of Soi Bangla, Patong beach Road and Simone Carbaret. The contemporary rooms provide luxurious bedding and wi-fi internet access in every room. Stay fit at the fully equipped rooftop swimming pool and enjoy the Patong Beach sunset. Experience Thai/Italian hospitality at the Asia Loop G-House at Patong Beach, Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AsiaLoop G-House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asialoop g-House Hotel Patong
AsiaLoop G-House Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AsiaLoop G-House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.