We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Sainamyen Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 5% book hotel web
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 493 Reviews
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My first night at the hotel I had bed bugs and after asking to change rooms I had to wait for over an hour to move and was actually put into a room that wasnt as nice as the first. I wasnt given any upgrade or offered anything for the hassle, which I thought was very poor.
The WIFI is great most of the time and the breakfast is good for Thailand.
The staff at reception can hardly speak a word of English, wish doesnt help when most of the guests staying there are Westerners. However a special mention to one member (Rose) who spoke excellent English and helped when she could, but when she wasnt working the rest of the reception staff were useles and other guests commented on this also. I booked the hotel through the website for 4 nights which gave me a free massage, but as the staff couldnt speak English they didnt understand when I requested the free massage so I lost out - very annoyed by this. So I decided to have a massage and had to pay - the spa therapists were lovely and I had one of the best treatments by them.
The pool i snice - they were doing some work to it.

I would not advise to stay at the hotel and its over priced!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawaddi Patong ... R, General Manager at Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the point of service at the front desk. This is not normally our reputation. We will investigate and make sure that the team can operate and provide good & professional service in all circumstances. Please accept our apology in the case that we did not upgrade and/or any compensate offer.

We appreciate all the comments. Some are cheerful. Some are for us to make better jobs. For the free spa in our record show 2 nights booked direct and 2 nights through the agent. We will careful recheck send detail to your personal email.

We are again very sorry that some of our service upset you.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    211
    67
    14
    10
See reviews for
79
178
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

spacious rooms,beautiful clean pool, close enough to restuarants and shopping without all the nightlife noise of Patong. would recommend this hotel to travellers wanting a pleasant, relaxing holiday experience. special thanks to Jintana for all her help and kindness. best wishes Kevin Page Darwin Australia

Room Tip: with balcony overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is quite average for a four star. Pool was nice, and rooms were nice but the three things that we weren't happy wth were - buffet breakfast was very average, wifi was not great, (kept cutting out) and it was quite a distance walk to the main part of Patong. Although it wasn't absolutely terrible, we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawaddi Patong ... R, General Manager at Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at Sawaddi Patong Resort on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to read that our room and pool are nice. Regarding the location, may we take this opportunity to clarify our location, we are located in Patong area but not in the busy or noisy area and with only 1.8 Kms to Patong beach and 0.8 Kms to the Jungcylon Department Store and Banglar road, this help to create a peaceful and privacy atmosphere while stay in, additional we are provide a daily shuttle transfer to beach, shopping area and Banglar road with free of charge.
In the point of wifi signal and breakfast, on behalf of our team I would like to apologize for the aspects of your experience that fell short of expectations .We take the comments where we did not meet expectations as opportunities to review and improve our performance.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for people who not into nightlife. Quiet surrounding but still can hear minimum sound from the pub if you get the city view. 7-10mins walks depends on your speed. Free shuttle bus to jungceylon and patong beach 2x daily. Room is spacious and clean. Would recommend this hotel for travellers on short trips, family and couples not for elderly. 90% would come back to this hotel if the price is right. Cheers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranebennur, Karnataka, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was a nice experience to be housed in such a beautiful and comfortable environs of Sawaddi Patong...meaning Welcome to Patong...undoubtedly a good welcome to thailand and to phuket in particular...our first trip overseas and to thailand...overall a pleasant stay and we won't forget the "lost and found" case of my wife's Ipad...!!!Thanx to the FantaSea and Sawaddi Patong....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I thought we had a bargain. But was very disappointed with the mixed service. Sometimes excellent. Sometimes poor. Food in general was poor to average. They had indian food specials which was awful to more awful. Tastes like can food mixed with water and no spices and frozen food defrosted. Hope they stopped this. The waitress took the food back mostly unbeaten but was not phased. Front desk and bellboy service was the best. Room service was looking elegant but average tasting with a nice high price. Rooms were okay. Shower was dangerous as you have to enter a very very high bathtub. Be very careful. The huge glass in place to stop water spilling onto floor was not cleaned daily so it looks terrible. Nice for a budget stay for budget specials. but be prepared for a nice walk to wherever you need to be. Across a somewhat dangerous intersection. Nearby there's some nice local food places and laundry too and stores for your snacks and water. They have comments cards. I was impressed. Especially when staff said we must mention the good servers by name. So I have constructive feedback to make this place better. I awaited a reply but after 2 months none arrived. Not that I deserved it but I wanted the place to improve as it has potential if the management just give a little more attention to detail and a lot to the food. When in Thailand one cannot have high expectations. So if you choose those hotel, you may be pleased. By the way the pool is the only highlight but has closing times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Overall the resort is good...But there are a few things to watch out for:
1) Check-out time is 12:00PM not the regular (24 hrs check-in), If you have pickup to airport at 4:00, you will have to wait in the lobby for hrs...
2) The resort is a bit away from the beach.
3)For vegetarians, there is limited food choices, like only Dal makhani, Roti and and Khao Pad(Thai rice), Would be great if they could add Paneer masala, Gobi fry etc to their menu.
4) Rooms are good and service is really nice
5) Market is very close to this hotel, so that's an advantage!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa

Address: 21 Sainamyen Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Family Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect LocationPeacefully but conveniently located in Patong on the south-west coast of Phuket island, within a comfortable stroll of Patong’s renowned entertainment heart land Bangla Road and the glorious beach. Just a 40 minute drive from Phuket International Airport, we aim to be your first choice when booking your Patong Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawaddi Patong Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.