We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't make any special requests, they don't care!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Sainamyen Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
58%off Free Dinner orSpa
Ranked #43 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, UK
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Don't make any special requests, they don't care!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having read the reviews and booked 3 rooms for a 4 night stay in July, I thought we could expect a nice 3.5 star hotel not too far from the action in Patong.

There was a group checking in upon arrival at the hotel, to be fair a desk was opened in order to check us in. The lobby and corridors of the hotel are all open plan so are not air conditioned. There was a bell boy on duty to assist with the luggage. One very strange issue is that they charge a 300 THB deposit for an additional key card - I've never heard of this at any hotel before.

I had a reasonable impression of the hotel for a couple of days, the pool is nice and big and has good opening hours. Our room looked over the pool - although one of our rooms overlooked a building site! Breakfast was plentiful and of a reasonable quality - although they need to consider adding a range of breads.

Wifi was very intermittent and for one of our group impossible to use from their room. My friend was unwell one night so I asked them to change the sheets and make up the room during breakfast. After 1 hour this was still not done - the front office manager blamed it on housekeeping - but there is a problem deeper than this and that is few of the hotel staff speak any English. Every single request was handled badly mainly due to language issues.

I spoke to the general manager who was very apologetic and seemed to really care... He offered our group a BBQ dinner that evening to apologise. At 7pm we went to the restaurant to be given a tiny plate of seafood, one prawn, one tiny piece of cuttlefish and fish. We actually thought it was just an appetiser, it wasn't BBQed so we had been lied to. In fact we even felt that they had tried to fool us, the cost of the drinks in their restaurant would have covered the tiny portions we received.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    242
    75
    18
    11
See reviews for
91
200
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for 11 nights during July. When I first arrived reception really looks like a basic 3 star hotel. However the whole package was extremely good value.

Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. The room was large, neatly decorated and had all you needed. We did however have a small issue with ants and occasionally although the bed was made, the room didn’t feel overly clean every day.

The pool area was small but well-kept and very quiet. Breakfast had a good amount of options and was kept very clean. We also ate lunch twice at the hotel and both times were very good. It was a shame however in the evening that there was no atmosphere – not sure if this was because it is low season or as most people went out in the evenings.

It is about a 15/20 min walk to all the action – the first 5 days the road we needed to use was under construction but fairly easy to get across.

The hotel suited our needs as most days and evening we were out and about.

If I paid the same price I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Not recommended... Not helpful reception, indifferent and even a bit rude upon our check out....rooms not clean... bed sheets with holes in them.....bed cover dirty...windows dirty. Ok breakfast (a few really nice waiters) but nothing to write home about. Nice pool though....great music from the pool bar. Hotel is overpriced!! Not a place we would go back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nothing particularly grand about the place nor anything bad.

The latter is good news for me considering most of my recent hotel stays have not been quite satisfactory in terms of service.

Anyways, i liked the location of the hotel, just about 5mins walk to all the restuarants, night club, Jungceylon and Bangla Road. The breakfast spread could have been better. The view from our room was good. The hotel feels lively and employees are quite friendly. My wife loved her spa in the hotel.

Good roadside eateries just outside the hotel, lets you try local stuff without walking too far. Seven Elevens also close by. Might visit this place again with a better deal.

Room Tip: first floor pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have just returned from my fourth stay at Sawaddi Patong and again my stay there was outstanding. Special thanks to Jintana the front office manager. Once again she handled my concerns with ease. The rest of the front office staff did a wonderful job of making my stay comfortable. The room and facility were very clean. The pool was a crystal clear and cool and welcome after a hot day in Patong. I'm already planning my fifth stay there in high season.

Room Tip: Jintana booked me in a room with pool access this time. Ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Generally quite good. Pool is a great size and great music comes out of the pool bar during the day although it does move up tempo later on.
rooms are also good and clean. Nothing on tv though~! We had a pool access (which we had to pay more for despite it being deluxe room!) room which was great but the privacy hedge could do with a trim.
gym is excellent and has good quality cardio stuff.
takes 15 mins easy stroll to bangla road and shopping centre. Ditch the food and massages and head out as its much cheaper. Try the "number 6" restaurant on the main beach road across from the Bangkok bank... simply delicious~!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Despite the size and modern outlook of the hotel, this really a nice hotel. Although it is just a three floor hotel, but the hotel itself is big enough, tidy and well furnished with almost everything that you need. The room and bathroom is quite big and comfortable. I love the breakfast most, very nice and you have variety of choice to choose from. For location wise, it located around 10 minutes walk to Bangla road. You can find a lot of street food once you walk out from this hotel...7-11 is just around 5 minutes walk!

Awesome hotel with cost effective will definitely my choice if I happen to visit phuket again! Thanks Sawaddi Patong!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa

Address: 21 Sainamyen Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect LocationPeacefully but conveniently located in Patong on the south-west coast of Phuket island, within a comfortable stroll of Patong’s renowned entertainment heart land Bangla Road and the glorious beach. Just a 40 minute drive from Phuket International Airport, we aim to be your first choice when booking your Patong Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawaddi Patong Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.