We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and the best views in Patong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bliss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bliss to your Saves list
The Bliss
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Thaveewong Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location and the best views in Patong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We Stayed here March 2013 and while we found it a great location and awesome views it was let down a little by a couple of things. The rooms were a good size and nice and clean but a little dated, same goes for the bathrooms they were clean but very dated. Breakfast was average but passable, the staff were very friendly and very attentive to any of our needs.One thing we did like the food at the restaurant was good and prices very reasonably for a hotel and the cocktail bar had 100Baht cocktails all day and 80 Baht at happy hour, cheapest in Phuket. We were in the old wing and they have suites in the new wing that are very nice but $50 AU extra per night.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing Suites for great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    95
    48
    23
    13
See reviews for
24
138
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avoca Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had the pool villa which is wonderful. Right across from the beach at the very edge of patong..perfect location just far enough out of all the action....would hate to be in the misdt of patong and not getting the sea breezes and also is a very noisey area at night due to the nightlife. Walk to the centre of patong and bangla road only 10-15 mins along the beach. The pool villa has a bedroom, lounge area and kitchen and is very spacious. Could have extra person sleep on large lounge bed in the lounge room no problem. Wifi was excellent. ..we experienced no problems with it.. breakfast good but the same everyday. Staff were super friendly to us always smiling. I would definitely stay here again. Room serviced every day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had the pool villa, which had an amazing view of the sea, a lovely pool and very nice decor and furnishings.

Pros:

The Pool was definitely something we would get again, as we could keep cool, relax and not have to worry about the crowds on patong beach.

The hotel was in a great location, very close to all restauants, Bangla road and Jung Ceylon shopping centre, and a few steps from the beach, which is lovely at sunset. The beach is also a lot quieter down this end, with it being slightly away from the main area.

Breakfast was great, buffet style with lovely bacon, eggs and loads more, and a great view from the breakfast area of the whole esplanade and beach.

Cons:

Staff provided average service, did not go above or beyond expected requirements.

Room cleaning was erratic, and the cleaner even called one day, on the room phone at 5pm asking if they could clean the room (the door was locked) as they had not already done this. Other days it was 3/4pm...

The beds were quite hard, but we found this in most of Thailand...

The rain shower in our room did not work which was a shame.

Wifi was in and out of service, sometimes it was great, sometimes it was non existent.


Overall, we would return again if we were visiting phuket, mostly due to having our own pool and the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Bliss in Patong in January 2013. Right up front will say I travelling alone, but didn't want to spend my nights alone. Patong is known for its nightlife and of course the centre of that is Bangla Rd!

The pros: Great location, across street from lovely beach. Room was fine, comfy bed. The food at breakfast was good.

Cons: I asked before I got there about whether the hotel was "guest friendly" was assured it was. Checked it--double checked yes I had registered as two. After first night, my guest and I go to breakfast and that is when trouble begins--the restaurant staff have me as solo--guest will have to pay...making a scene--which is of course embarrassing to me and more so to my guest. I complain to desk-they will sort it out---this repeats itself the next morning. By third morning it was finally sorted out and no hassle. Lots of stares and looks--not great place in general for those with guests.

Other cons--the wifi sucks--very unreliable especially in room. Front desk says they will book trips--but refused to help me book the boat trip I wanted to Phi Phi---because it was cheaper and they would get no kick back. Generally not the friendliest staff around. Bit of hike to Bangla which is a pro and con--not quite so crazy. Perhaps a bit pricey for Patong and facilities.

All in all--OK---if you are a couple, I would say it likely it would be good...solo guys I can't recommend it....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

After a long flight we arrived in the wee hours of the morning and went to our room with minimum fuss only to find a few issues. Upon discussing these with the Manager we were upgraded to a suite for an additional fee. The location is excellent and quiet as it is far enough away form the night life but not so far as to be able to walk.
We thoroughly relaxed during our twenty-one day stay and really wanted to stay longer, but dutifully returned to our commitments.
Desk staff were always eager to help and the night security person was most pleasant. Room attendants were also most obliging.
We were sad to leave but will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a quote for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

When assessing this hotel I'm drawn between a good review and bad review.

1. Checkin. prety quick by thai standards and we did not have to hand over a credit card, which is a bonus.
2. location. Great. straight across the road from patong beach on the very south of the beach. The only bad thing that comes with this is noise. the rooms are not double pain glass so all road noise and the endless amount of fireworks being let off at the beach can be heard 24 hours a day.
3. rooms. This is where the potential word appears. The pool suite which i stayed in is large, very large, about 80 square metres with a plunge pool. the rooms are not well maintianed as there was writing on the walls from previous guests, marks all over all of the furniture, holes in the doors where someone has either fallen or punched, screen doors which take 3 to 4 times to actually lock. The lighting in the family/study room was terrible and made it appear that it was night time all the time.
The bathroom was terrible. the shower, which looked out onto the road has stained glass up to about 5 foot off the ground and after that clear seethrough glass where anyone on the street can see you shower. that is not good, and this appears to be the same for all suites on all floors. The hot water is sporadic and I had to have 2 cold showers.
The plunge pool were great if you don't mind swimming in the moss. I was hoping to upload photos but every plunge pool as well as the hotel pools had mould/moss. we risked it and only our daughter got a little ill (but she could have got sick from anything).
3. Staff. Great, all of them very firendly. the only run in we had was with the breakfast staff member who did not want to let us in because someone had already signed for our room. Clearly it wasn't us but he really didn't want to let us have breakfast.
4. Facilities. the hotel looks unfinished and run down. after walking around the hotel I found that on each floor they had what could be conference rooms etc still under construction and never finished. Took the lift to the hotel roof (seemed okay because it let us out), but once again was a construction site which was unfinished. I shouldn't say construction site because its clear that no work had been performed on the hotel in years. the views from the roof were awesome but they never developed it into a rooftop bar. The hotel front needs a good clean and paint job as well. with the Suites you get free wifi however during peak times it appeared that all the bandwidth was being taken up by hotel staff in the lobby who were all on thier phones watching TV.
5. Breakfast. not good. no real variety, but this is a butique hotel and not a huge resort so if booking here you wont get the variety of a 300 room resort. The egg and bacon station were its only asset but there was only one person cooking and they were cooking both bacon and eggs individually in one small 25 cm pan for every guest in the hotel. You waited for what seemed like 10 minutes to get an egg.
6. Maintenance. there appears to be little of this.they worked on our pool all but one day and this wasn't to clean it, but we were not told of any issues so we can't be sure what they were doing. The rest of the hotel as mentioned earlier needs a good clean and finishing.
7. Room service. Only used it once when our daughter was sick but they had trouble taking our order and instead of 2 Hawian Pizzas we got 2 Hawian cocktails. looked great but I was hungry not thirsty.
8. Check out. Like checkin was quick and uneventful.

All in all this hotel is in a great location, with friendly staff and massive rooms, which equals great potential, but without maintenance I fear will be a 400bhat a night hostel within a couple of years.

Room Tip: maybe a room on the 4th floor would give you great views to block out the other issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is close to the beach however road next to it can be a problem as it gets sometimes noisy during the night.

Where to start... Nothing like bliss experience. Breakfast was garbage. Food was not fresh, very fat, very very limited choice for vegetarians. Just dining room was nightmare - dirty, no attention to detail whatsoever, holes and stains on table covers. All looked very unhygienic. Staff couldn't care less about guests during breakfast. Overall trash. Next thing restaurant next to pool... The smell coming either from aquarium or pipes was unbearable - smell or sewage in 40 degrees can make you fell bit weak. And most of all room... Outdated "design" was still ok but bed is like a rock. Prepare yourself as you will be in pain next day. Squeaky balcony doors do not close tight so buy yourself mosquito repellant. Just think twice before choosing this hotel. Great potential just ran down by very poor management. One of the worst I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bliss

Address: 40 Thaveewong Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bliss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bliss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bliss Hotel Patong
The Bliss Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bliss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.