We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
241/17-18 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
076293044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 414 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This restaurant is magic the owner an Italian is very friendly and cooks very good.I ate better Italian food there, compare to some Italian restaurants in Italy!
I really advise you to go and eat over there if you visit Patong!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    59
    20
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

having eaten Thai food for a couple of weeks we were looking for something different for our Christmas lunch and this place did not dissapoint. Good service and great italian cooking with a menu packed with homemade pasta specialities left us full to the brim and unable to touch any of the free panetone offered at the end of our meal. The place is packed with italians both expats and tourists and is a little part of italy in patong. Ate there four times in all at lunch and dinner and never had a bad dish. Friendly place and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good option for Italian food in Patong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Out of the center of night-life and caos of Bangla Road, in a little alley stands Dolce Vita.
Didn't like the idea of eating italian out of Italy but needed a change from Thai food.
Tried (in two different dinners) various first courses (the best were linguine alle vongole e allo scoglio, generally pasta was well cooked and we enjoyed it).
Tried also the white snapper, wich was very good, and the moscardini, average.
Absolutely amazing the tiramisu!
The owners are nice guys, really friendly and cool.
The place is quite, nothing special but neither awfull.
In the end we can recommend the place if you're looking for an italian dinner at a reasonable price, just manage your expectation if you're italian (mostly because of the ingredients that you can find, the cooking was good...so choose fish and ask David or Mario for suggestion!)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

very good italian dishes, northern cuisine mainly. Quality standard pretty higher than the average around here. Service is good and prices acceptable for the value. Dont's miss the ossobuco and the gnocchetti gorgonzola e noci!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was ok... food excellence, ambience...mmmmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stumbled upon this restaurant whilst staying in Patong and whilst the food was lovely (linguine vongole) the ambience had a bit to be desired. They didn't have any of the cocktails I asked for available so settled for a Singha, and the pasta was spaghetti not linguine. Not the end of the world but if you're going to tout yourselves as a genuine Italian restaurant, then serve the right kind of pasta!
As I said food was lovely, but I was the only person there... and it wasn't the most amazing atmosphere for the prices... I wouldn't go out of my way to pop back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.