We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
241/17-18 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
076293044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 420 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

having eaten Thai food for a couple of weeks we were looking for something different for our Christmas lunch and this place did not dissapoint. Good service and great italian cooking with a menu packed with homemade pasta specialities left us full to the brim and unable to touch any of the free panetone offered at the end of our meal. The place is packed with italians both expats and tourists and is a little part of italy in patong. Ate there four times in all at lunch and dinner and never had a bad dish. Friendly place and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    58
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good option for Italian food in Patong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Out of the center of night-life and caos of Bangla Road, in a little alley stands Dolce Vita.
Didn't like the idea of eating italian out of Italy but needed a change from Thai food.
Tried (in two different dinners) various first courses (the best were linguine alle vongole e allo scoglio, generally pasta was well cooked and we enjoyed it).
Tried also the white snapper, wich was very good, and the moscardini, average.
Absolutely amazing the tiramisu!
The owners are nice guys, really friendly and cool.
The place is quite, nothing special but neither awfull.
In the end we can recommend the place if you're looking for an italian dinner at a reasonable price, just manage your expectation if you're italian (mostly because of the ingredients that you can find, the cooking was good...so choose fish and ask David or Mario for suggestion!)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

very good italian dishes, northern cuisine mainly. Quality standard pretty higher than the average around here. Service is good and prices acceptable for the value. Dont's miss the ossobuco and the gnocchetti gorgonzola e noci!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It was ok... food excellence, ambience...mmmmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stumbled upon this restaurant whilst staying in Patong and whilst the food was lovely (linguine vongole) the ambience had a bit to be desired. They didn't have any of the cocktails I asked for available so settled for a Singha, and the pasta was spaghetti not linguine. Not the end of the world but if you're going to tout yourselves as a genuine Italian restaurant, then serve the right kind of pasta!
As I said food was lovely, but I was the only person there... and it wasn't the most amazing atmosphere for the prices... I wouldn't go out of my way to pop back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worst pizza in patong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

the restaurant looks good from outside, but the pizza is terrible, even burned. You can tell it is cooked by a thai cook who does not know how to do the pizza pasta and make a pizza.
Looks like the owners dont really check on this.
We did not try other dishes but we will not go back.
Staff was nice, they give little appetizers which is nice.
The bathroom is really old and should be redone, a sliding door hard to slide to close and lock, weird...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.