We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sweet Restaurant

The Sweet Restaurant
Soi Patong Tower, off Beach Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
0805346102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 396 Restaurants in Patong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great food...nice cold beer...friendly staff and all in all great value for money! Cant be a little hard to find unless you come from the Patong Beach end

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thanks for your positive comment, Most find us as most of our customers are by word of mouth.
Glad you enjoyed, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    135
    29
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My partner and I ate at The Sweet Restaurant last night after the recommendations on here.

When we arrived it was really busy so we waited out the front to be invited in (as we had experienced this is what you do in Thailand).. We waited around 5 minutes and no service so walked in and sat at a table in the front corner. The staff were friendly once they got to us and gave us our menus which had both western and Thai options. It was also BBQ night so my partner was set on that.

Our meals were quite large and although not anything flash we both enjoyed them and were very full by the end.

If you are after a cheap meal that isn't fancy but plain good home style good then The Sweet Restaurant is perfect.

The only negative comment I would make was the staff being so busy with the customers in the middle of the shop that we were forgotten about in the corner and instead were targeted by the locals trying to sell us anything and everything.

Thank you for a lovely meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Thanks for waiting, we have been one of the busiest places in Patong these past 3 weeks, great for low season. Our staff apologise for the wait and the delay to get outside.
The Touts selling is my problem, I allow them to go through outside once every hour but as we are the only shop in the Soi with customers I fight a loosing battle.
We keep an eye on people outside to make sure we meet your needs, sorry for the delay.
Thursday night is the Aussie BBQ night except we do the cooking, May sound plain but that is what our people ask for once per week.
Thanks for your visity, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This restaurant is in a small arcade of the beach road. Our meals were delicious. The hostess was friendly as were all the staff that served us.

Thank you

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thankyou for your positive comments, Hope the rest of your holliday was as good, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“As popular as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We (family of 5) always make Sweet restaurant our first spot for a meal when holidaying in Phuket each yr. Despite Phuket being relatively quiet, Sweet was pretty well full the night we dined. As always Wal was doing he rounds with cold disposable towels in hand for all and welcoming back familiar faces and thanking all patrons. There are many far more expensive restaurants in Phuket that could learn from Sweet's simply philosophy of well priced food and good service. His staff always look happy to work here. Also a good spot to take a beak when out shopping during the day for a drink, snack and watch a bit if footy. Thanks Sweet and see you next year.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for calling Sweet Restaurant home, and thank you for your report that we are still favorite for many people who enjoy great Thai food,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have been coming to Sweet Restaurant for many years now and are happy to say it always delivers. The food is good, staff are friendly and the service is good. The menu caters for local Thai food as well as those still wanting western food. Good value for money. Cater well for whatever size group. Try it!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for the revisit, Glad to see you know the best and keep coming back. See you next time, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Sweet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sweet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.