We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Patong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sweet Restaurant

The Sweet Restaurant
Soi Patong Tower, off Beach Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
0805346102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 404 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“A gem in Patong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Patong wasn't the ideal town for us in Phuket, but we thought the Sweet Restaurant was an amazing find. Great food at a great price. Easily one of our two favorite meals in Thailand - the other being from a sidewalk vendor at the Chatuchak market in Bangkok.

This place deserves some love.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind review and sharing the Love. I am sorry you had some bad experiences. Patong can be hard in places and at times. It was a pleasure to have made your stay a little bit easier, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    156
    34
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Good value restaurant. Quite a large venue and has a large menu. Very friendly staff and the owner makes a point of getting around and talking to all the customers. The New Zealand mussels special was quite special. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for your support,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
“Marlene - Australia - So glad we found this restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our 'Tailor' at our resort recommended we eat at Sweet, and we're so glad he did!! Could not fault anything and ate at Sweet several times during our 10 day stay. The staff were so lovely and we give credit to all of them - so polite and helpful and great to have a chat with - including Wal!! The food was just perfect. All in all, everyone should try Sweet. Very, very reasonable but the best quality. Great, clean restaurant. We will be returning this year and yes, we will be eating at Sweet several times for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments and thanks to your Tailor for his recomendation. It continues to amaze me who recomends customers. The staff enjoyed your comments and we all hope the rest of your vacation was good as your visits to Sweet, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Pad Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After reading reviews on here about this restaurant, i had to stop in, but sadly, I only got to stop in for lunch, so I didn't get a lot. I had the Pad Thai, my girlfriend had Ho Kaen mee, I think its called, and it was great, cooked perfectly, and its the best pad thai I've had so far. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Its a pleasure to have customers with the real Thai taste and know good Thai food. Sorry you were rushed, we have many delicious tastes of Thailand, Thankyou, wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

On a recent trip to Patong - we came across this restaurant, and indeed we visited it many times during our 3 week holiday. The staff were brilliant, the food was good and prices reasonable - well worth a visit. In fact we advised many others from our hotel to take a trip to 'Sweet', as the menu was very varied, and value for money. thank you to all at 'Sweet', long may you continue.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thankyou for your kind words, The only way to advertise, make the food great, well priced with the best staff id Thailand. I hope the rest of your vacation was as good, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sweet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sweet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.