We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante

Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante
223/2 Prabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
076-344-079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 396 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante offers the finest in contemporary Italian cuisine in an beautiful seaside location. Enjoy your evening, while seated a few feet from the dramatic interplay of waves crashing into subtly lit rocks.Da Maurizio's has always distinguished itself from other Italian restaurants and the new menu lives up to its already firmly established reputation. Commencing the 1st February 2011 more than 90% of the fruit, vegetables, herbs and even eggs used to make our homemade pasta, are ORGANIC. It is our aim to be 100% ORGANIC as soon as possible.From among the assorted items on the menu is live fish and lobster, imported meats, homemade pastas and the chef's special tasting menu. Of course, no meal at Maurizio's would be complete without considering the selection from the Wine Spectator Award wining cellar and a sampling of homemade desserts.Delicious food, a gorgeous sunset and the serenade of the surf make this open air restaurant at Kalim Bay a must for any visit to Phuket.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were staying across the road from the restaurant and regretably only tried this after we had checked out and were waiting for our taxi!
It was lunch time and during low season, so we actually had the restaurant to ourselves. The view here is delightful and it was just lovely to sit somewhere quiet and listen to the waves crash on the shore and watch the crabs scuttle across the rocks.
The menu was simple and wonderfully Italian! We each enjoyed a pasta dish, and were fed with as much bread as we could eat! Just when we thought the bread was finished, it would be replenished in moments (not that there was anyone else to attend to, so service was five star!)
Food quality was excellent, and similar price to that which we would have paid at a nice Italian restaurant in Australia. They also had quality Italian beer, an excellent complement to the Italian menu.
Not a single complaint about Da Maurizios! Except that I probably ate way too much bread so couldn't fit in a second cocktail...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    19
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the best restaurant at Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Today, me and my wife visit Da Maurizio Restaurant. We have a important date and come to enjoy the lunch. It was fantasastic! Beautiful ocean view, nice service and very, very tasty food. From my heart i recomend fantastic desert menu! Many many thanks for all staff and big respect and regards to Suzan! I will recomend your restaurant for all my friends! You are the best!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This Restaurant was recommended by our hotel , situated on the beach with an open atmosphere .

Overall the Service , food and place are average .

there are much better places in phuket for such prices .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We ordered 1 antipasti and 2 mains. The seafood taste like they are frozen and were only saved by the sauce from the pasta. The staffs only recommends the most expensive dishes on the menu, which is fine for me if the antipasti wasn't so terrible that I have lost faith in following his recommendation.

The view is quite stunning and the music is quite nice... if the food isn't so terrible... sigh.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

What a great place for dinner. If you are looking to spend 1 night of your trip at a flash restaurant then this would b the one to go to. Food was good but the service is what really made the night. The staff r impeccable from even little things like when serving dinner serving the 2 females first out of our group of 4. So friendly and so courteous. All up dinner for 4 people including entree, drinks and dessert was about 6,800 baht, so just over $200AUD. I have spent more at ordinary restaurants in Australia, let alone at an amazing one in Phuket overlooking the beach.

One I would recommend to everyone to at least try once and one I would definitely visit again

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.