We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Great value. Exceptionally friendly service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kelly's Hotel to your Saves list
Kelly's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47/1 Nanai Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Relbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location. Great value. Exceptionally friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I have both traveled to Thailand for business and pleasure on many occasions but this was our first visit to this part of Phuket, and Kelly's Hotel offered exactly what we were looking for. Clean, affordable, and a great location close enough to the action of Patong but far enough out to enjoy relaxing poolside time as well. The Australian owner, Tim, lives on site and his friendly and helpful manner (not to mention his great breakfasts) made our stay that much more enjoyable. We hired the hotel motor bikes and went off exploring for the day. When we got back a nice cold beer by the pool was just the perfect end to a perfect day. Highly recommend Kelly's and when in Phuket will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    51
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
91
71
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

This is my 4th trip to Patong in less than 2years.. i have found this hotel to be great value for money.. of cos cant compare to those new hotel..but the size of the room, services of the Housekeeping staff, and of cos Tim... it took me around 10 mins walk to Jungceylon and 15 mins walk back from bangla street.. thou it on the hill which can be abit stressful for leg to walk up after a drinking.. clinic, 7-11 is nearby..

rented a bike from Tim at 350B small but powerful... have enjoyed my stay.. i will be back for more at the hotel.. i would like to try the penthouse the next trip....

Tim thank you for the great service

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

the room was clean and tidy and was everything i expected it to be.
tim the owner is very friendly and an great source of advice on trips and to book them for us too. taxi booking was a added peace of mind bonus.

recomendations for improvments
increase the brightness of the lighting, lots of lights but there all dim

loved the stay and when we are back in patong beach we will stay at kelly's

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I found Kellys on tripadvisor and stayed in late January based on its positive reviews.
It's a smaller quieter hotel that sits back from the noise of Bangla Rd. I rented a motorbike from the manager Tim who was extremely helpful, Tim provided a map and gave me invaluable information in sourcing other beaches to visit that were cleaner and less crowded than Patong Beach. Riding up to see Big Buddha was one of the highlights of the trip. The rooms have large balconies with a table and chairs, and have great views of Patong and the ocean. The pool is small but big enough to jump in and cool off, or just sit beside and relax. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and am looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights at the end of March in a seaview room. Tim made arrangenments for a taxi to and from the airport which was something less to think about on vacation and he booked our day excursion to the other islands.
Room: The bed was alittle too firm for our taste but compared to the other beds at the other 2 hotels we stayed at, it felt pretty much the same. Botteled water was provided daily, there was also a mini fridge, safe and free internet. The carpet was stained but Tim was in the process of replacing the carpets as we saw the new carpeting being delivered.
Pool: Quiet and relaxing. With guests always coming and going, we had the pool to ourselves for quite a bit of time.
Overall if we were to return to Patong, we would come back and stay to see the improvements made. Tim had taken over only 8 months ago and compared to the last owner, has already made drastic changes for the good. I can't comment on the price factor because honestly we didn't do alot of price checks as the cost of living compared to the states was so much cheaper. We relied primarily on reviews from travellers to make our decision. If you want a cheaper rate then I guess you will find it but I feel his personal touch is priceless. Keep doing what your doing Tim and you will get back to #1 in no time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Kelly's Hotel gets an average from me, as half way through the trip we inspected rooms at other hotels just down the road - which presented just as nice if not better, yet were half the price. I'm not sure if that's because walk in prices are cheaper or what (as I had booked online). To be fair I had booked a more expensive seaview room, as none of cheaper standard rooms (at 2/3 the price) were available. If you think a seaview room (where you can just make out the ocean in the distance), plus pool in the complex, is worth the extra, then by all means Kelly's Hotel may be just what you're looking for. In retrospect, since it wasn't high season, I should have booked just a few nights, and checked out other places on the first day or two (same advice applies to any hotel you're not sure of).

Cost aside, in terms of the room, I second the comment by another reviewer "Despite the room needing a good refresh when it came to the interior decoration and shower room, it was functional with a comfy bed and safe for our valuables". Shower was starting to look a bit mangy, probably not helped by the dim lightning. I thought lightning was really dull throughout, Tim get some bright LED lights in there!

+ Friendly and approachable manager (Tim)
+ Felt like safe, secure complex
+ Free computer provided downstairs
+ Great laundry service
+ Good aircon

- Couple of cigarette burn marks/holes in comforter/blanket, worn and looked about due for replacement. Many people fold these away upon arrival at any hotel, probably a good idea
- Dishes weren't cleaned properly. Found coffee cup was just upturned back on the plate to give the illusion of being cleaned by room service (the coffee stain on the plate kind of broke the illusion)

Now these last two negatives are not exactly unusual for hotels. However based on the number of exceptional reviews from tripadvisor, I was expecting better for the price. Would probably recommend the standard (cheaper) rooms to travellers who haven't been to Patong before, on the basis that it's a comfortable environment and Tim is available to answer all your questions, but not the seaview rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuketinsider, Owner at Kelly's Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
We have taken your comments on board, it's by feedback like this that we can improve the place.
We are investigating the unacceptable coffee cup situation.
I'd like to add that none of the cheaper hotels on the same road have a swimming pool and most are in fact guesthouses.
The only competitors we have nearby with a pool
charge significantly more than we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Tim & the team really made us feel like part of the family..
great value for money at a central location..
From traditional Thai decor including elephants, to the poolside plasma TVs we couldn't have asked for more!

Cheers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Hotel

Address: 47/1 Nanai Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelly's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4Star rated Rooms at 2Star Rates. Our rooms are large and very high standard for the price range and all have large balconies,all have views over patong and most have ocean views,large penthouses on top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kelly's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Hotel Patong
Kelly's Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.