We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Steaks and Grill

Sam's Steaks and Grill
52 Thaweewong Rd | Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 370 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 421 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Undeniably the number one Steakhouse in Patong, the readers of TripAdvisor have recently recognized us as the best fine dining experience in Phuket, and amongst the very best restaurants in Thailand! A classic steakhouse with elegant service, great wine selection and only the very best imported beef combining to make the perfect evening, every time! The dress code for 'smart casual' at all times. We prefer that men will wear long trousers and collared shirt, short or long sleeved, with shoes and that ladies are also suitably attired for dinner. However, we understand that we are in a hot, 'holiday' environment and we are happy to receive guests with more casual attire providing the 'smart casual' tone is maintained. Guests will not be allowed to dine if dressed in beach-wear or sports-wear. Thank you for kind consideration of our other diners.
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The best steak ever with fantastic service to match. We loved this place so much we went back twice during our 7 night stay in Phuket. Everything was amazing, including the lovely team of people working there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear "Jaime10"

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted that your overall experience has been so memorable and I will be sure to share your comments with the manager, Panom, and his team. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    86
    20
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For the nice nights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

On every trip its always good to have those one or two dinners that stand out from the rest! This place was our pick in Patong Beach, Phuket and one of the main reasons we will be going back in 8 weeks. We enjoyed dinner at Sam's over 3 nights during our stay and the friendly staff were exceptional at their jobs. The little extra breads and desserts were a great touch however it is in the higher price range for Phuket dining we found it worth it and not excessive. Steak was well cooked and cocktails very good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear "Jessnicole123"

Thank you for sharing this very kind and positive review! I am really pleased that you have so enjoyed your experience here that you have already been back a few times and that you especially appreciate the great value and the extra little touches we love to offer. We look forward to seeing you back again in 8 weeks time!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The place is very classy and the staff was so welcoming. The best part was the food and all the extra side courses they give in between. The steak was one of the best i've ever had and we also enjoyed the wine and the desserts. Money well spent!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear "Gal M"

Thank you for sharing your review and I am really happy to read that you have so enjoyed your dining experience at Sam's! I will be sure to share all of your wonderful comments with the manager, Panom, and his team and we hope you will have the opportunity to dine again with us soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely scrumptious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We ate here on our last night at the Holiday Inn. The ambiance, the service, the complimentary tasters, and finally the succulent steaks, all top notch! Nothing left to be desired. And the complimentary dessert, a magical treat for kids and adults alike.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear "karachimom"

Thank you for taking the time to share your "top notch" review and I am pleased that everyone in the party, of all ages, has had a great experience. Your comments with regards the great food, the high standard of service and the overall ambiance are all greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your feedback with the manager, Panom, and his team. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent chateaubriand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I convinced my group of 9 friends to be a little extravagant and venture out of budget to try this highly recommended steak restaurant - was it worth it!

A few of us ordered the chateaubriand to share and it was amongst the best I've ever had.

Service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear "ArunaGidwaney"

Thank you for your "excellent" review and I am very pleased to note that your recommendation to your friends has well and truly paid off! Your feedback with regards the quality of the food and the high standard of service is very much appreciated and we hope to see you all back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steaks and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steaks and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Steaks and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.