We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak in Thailand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Steaks and Grill

Sam's Steaks and Grill
52 Thaweewong Rd | Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 370 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 340 restaurants in Patong
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Patong Beach is full of great new places to eat and yet, with so many choices, we sometimes yearn for a bit of history; a reputation. With over 20 years of legendary dining, this is where Sam's comes in. Back in the 90's, a bright young chef from Patong named Samrit (Thai translation: "successful"), went on a journey to discover the perfect steak. His travels took him to New York where he learned how to choose the best cuts by look and feel alone, how to season, to marinate and how to grill to perfection. In the New York kitchen where he trained, Samrit became affectionately known as Siam Sam; a grill master admired for his passion for great meats. Sam returned to his home town Patong Beach in 1995 and established Sam's Steaks & Grill. The rest is history... Enjoy prime cut steaks and seafood, grilled to perfection, and the magical theatre of our tableside flambe menu. Every meal finishes with Sam's sensational Mint Chocolate Volcano! What happened to Sam? Well, he achieved his dream and disappeared into the ocean sunset, but come see us; we still proudly carry on his mastery of the grill! Sam's Steaks & Grill; a dining legacy Undeniably the number one Steakhouse in Patong, the readers of TripAdvisor have recently recognized us as the best fine dining experience in Phuket, and amongst the very best restaurants in Thailand! A classic steakhouse with elegant service, great wine selection and only the very best imported beef combining to make the perfect evening, every time! We prefer that men will wear long trousers and collared shirt, short or long sleeved, with shoes and that ladies are also suitably attired for dinner. However, we understand that we are in a hot, 'holiday' environment and we are happy to receive guests with more casual attire however, guests will not be allowed to dine if dressed in beach-wear or sports colors. Thank you for kind consideration of our other diners.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best steak in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Went to Sam's on the 12th night of a 14 day vacation in Bangkok and Phuket. This place is an oasis in the middle of Patong beach! The atmosphere is fantastic, and rivals that of any premiere steakhouse in the US. Excellent service from the very friendly attentive staff. Went with a friend and we both ordered the fillet. Both steaks were cooked to perfection and came with a side, a starch and your choice of a sauce. The blue cheese sauce was delicious. Impressive wine list and the desserts looked fantastic, although we were too stuffed to order anything. For 2 people the whole meal was less than 90 USD! That is a bargain!! This is def the place you wanna hit for an upscale meal away from the seedy streets of Patong beach.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear "Michelle W"

Thank you for your great review and I am really delighted that you have enjoyed such a wonderful experience in Sam's! Your feedback with regards the quality of the food, the great service from the staff, the wine selection and the general ambiance is all greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your comments with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team. WE hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    312
    57
    13
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Excellent steak and ambience! Its not your budget meal in Phuket and most wonder why you would go Phuket to have steak? But if you have too many padthais, basil pork and tomyams its a nice change to dine in a almost fine dining restaurant that serves steak done just right (I had rare sirloin my partner had med rare ribeye). Recommend making reservation to avoid disappointment. No flipflops. Great for romantic night out...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear "SmallFish888"

Thank you for your "great" review and I am pleased that you have had such a fantastic experience at Sam's! I will be sure to share your comments with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team and we hope you will have the opportunity to visit again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“EVERY BIT AS GOOD AS THE REVIEWS MAKE IT OUT TO BE!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a fabulous restaurant! Absolutely loved it. Seriously could not have asked for somewhere better.

I am a huge steak snob, and this is BY FAR one of the best steaks that I have ever had IN MY LIFE! Definitely the best steak in Thailand.
The food was delicious, steak was cooked to perfection.

We only ordered the steaks, but were given an entree of bread rolls, and a seafood cake sort of thing. Our steak came with a beautiful sauce, (go the bernaise, it is delicious) & 2 sides (mashed potato was to die for). We were then treated to a cake pop kind of dessert, with a mint icecream ball smothered in delicious chocolate, served in a dish which was beautiful.

All this with a beer & a bottle of water, all for under $70AUD for both of us.

It was truly a delight to dine here, looking forward to coming back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear "Georgia S"

Thank you for your very kind and positive feedback. I am delighted that you have had such a wonderful experience and that we have fully lived up to our reputation! Your self-professed status as a "steak snob", as well as being a senior contributor on TripAdvisor, make your feedback all the more valuable and we really appreciate your comments on the quality of the food and the great value for money which I will most certainly share with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team. We do hope you will have the chance to visit again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Ate at Sam's one evening last week and all the good reviews on here are spot on. It is a beautiful restauarant, the staff were very attentive and food superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was certainly the best of our trip. The bill was a little high for Thailand but we were happy to pay for such a great dining experience. One tip - you need to book.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear "Algarvedave"

Thank you for taking the time to share your "GREAT" review! I am really delighted that you have had such a great experience with us and that we have lived up to our excellent reputation! We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good and almost great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had an absolutely lovely dinner at Sam's.

Nothing can be said about the food that hasn't already been said. The only issue we experienced all evening was the menu availability. We sat with the menus for about 5 minutes with mouthes watering at what to have. We decided to treat ourselves to the chateaubriand steak for 2. This was pushing the boat out at 1400baht but thought it well worth it. Unfortunately when we ordered said dish we were advised that this was not available.....my next choice was the Wellington that I had read so much about on TA but this was also unavailable.....we ended up having 2 x fillet steaks (the same cut as chateaubriand) totalling 50g less but costing 300baht more!!

This was frustrating but I decided not to make a fuss as it was a lovely evening. There were a couple of French guys who upt and left when they were told that the chateaubriand was not available but this felt a little extreme.

A restaurant of this quality really should advise guests of availability as they hand out the menu. Had they done this the review would be a 5 star....basics are important when you are paying so much!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear "willitour"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am sorry that we have just missed that '5th star' for something that could have been so easily avoided. You are absolutely correct on both counts: 1) the availability (or lack thereof) of the chateaubriand should have been advised immediately on presenting the menu and 2) the two fillets should have been offered at the equivalent price.

This is really valuable feedback and great learning for the team and I can assure you that we have already discussed this together as an opportunity for further improvement to our already excellent standards.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to dine with us again and, if you are planning to do so, I would appreciate if you can contact me personally in advance in order that I can assist is making your reservation and ensuring that you have a truly memorable experience!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steaks and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steaks and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Steaks and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.