We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Steaks and Grill

Sam's Steaks and Grill
52 Thaweewong Rd | Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 370 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 340 restaurants in Patong
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Patong Beach is full of great new places to eat and yet, with so many choices, we sometimes yearn for a bit of history; a reputation. With over 20 years of legendary dining, this is where Sam's comes in. Back in the 90's, a bright young chef from Patong named Samrit (Thai translation: "successful"), went on a journey to discover the perfect steak. His travels took him to New York where he learned how to choose the best cuts by look and feel alone, how to season, to marinate and how to grill to perfection. In the New York kitchen where he trained, Samrit became affectionately known as Siam Sam; a grill master admired for his passion for great meats. Sam returned to his home town Patong Beach in 1995 and established Sam's Steaks & Grill. The rest is history... Enjoy prime cut steaks and seafood, grilled to perfection, and the magical theatre of our tableside flambe menu. Every meal finishes with Sam's sensational Mint Chocolate Volcano! What happened to Sam? Well, he achieved his dream and disappeared into the ocean sunset, but come see us; we still proudly carry on his mastery of the grill! Sam's Steaks & Grill; a dining legacy Undeniably the number one Steakhouse in Patong, the readers of TripAdvisor have recently recognized us as the best fine dining experience in Phuket, and amongst the very best restaurants in Thailand! A classic steakhouse with elegant service, great wine selection and only the very best imported beef combining to make the perfect evening, every time! We prefer that men will wear long trousers and collared shirt, short or long sleeved, with shoes and that ladies are also suitably attired for dinner. However, we understand that we are in a hot, 'holiday' environment and we are happy to receive guests with more casual attire however, guests will not be allowed to dine if dressed in beach-wear or sports colors. Thank you for kind consideration of our other diners.
Bielsk Podlaski, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I ate there only once and it was one of the best places in the area, but we decided to try other places as well, not that I think about it I wish we would have eaten there at least three times. The place is great and the food is great as well. The stake and side dishes were delicious, the medium rare stake just melts in your mouth. The restaurant is conveniently located. A pleasant atmosphere. Prices are not low, but they match the quality. I liked it, if you have the chance give it a try, everyone who likes a good stake will love this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear "Carrie S"

Thank you for sharing your "great" review! I am delighted that you have had such a great dining experience at Sam's and that the service and the quality of the food have exceeded your expectations. We hope you will have the chance to visit again!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    313
    57
    13
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food - A great night out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Everything about Sam's Steakhouse is excellent, from the decor of the restaurant, the friendly professional staff, the silver service and the quality of the food and wine is outstanding. A must for at least one night's dining on your holiday! I go everytime I am lucky enough to be in Patong!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear "shazpeta"

Thank you for taking the time to share your "FANTASTIC" review! It is especially great to note that as a returning guest we continue to meet and exceed your expectations and I will certainly share all of your feedback with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team. In the meantime, we do hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We only visited here on our last night I only wish we had gone earlier we would not have gone anywhere else.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear "roger_mellie_uk"

Thank you for your "great" review! I will be sure to share this feedback with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team and we hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“All Round Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We come to Patong every year, and always visit Sam's Steakhouse they never disappoint and this year was no exception. Service is excellent, friendly and professional we were quickly shown to our table, and after our orders were taken, we were brought out a amuse-bouche (bite size beef strog on mash) followed by bread and pineapple sorbet, all complementary..
Mains followed, and these were excellent, cooked and presented perfectly. I had the Ribeye and my wife the Salmon, we were both happy with our choices.
Desert followed and this too was excellent.
At the end of our meal we were presented with another complementary offering of chocolate coated mint ice-cream balls, served in a bowl with bubbling dry ice! great...

If you are in Patong and missing some fine dining, Sam's is second to none!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear "MelbourneSS"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am really pleased that as a returning guest, the team at Sam's continue to delight you with their service and flair! Your feedback on the staff, the atmosphere and the food quality is all very gratefully received and we look forward to seeing you back again on your next visit!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sensational Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Sams was a great dining experiance, tucked away in the holiday inn complex patong. Must book for a table. We took our son who eats an adult meal especially his steak. It was mouthwatering and the wine list is very extensive whith plenty of choice from all over the world. Very pricy but worth spending :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear "Sharon H"

Thank you for your "sensational review"! I am really pleased that you and your family have all enjoyed your dining experience and that you really appreciate the value for the quality of food and service we provide. We hope you will have the opportunity to dine with us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steaks and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steaks and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Steaks and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.