We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class food/restaurant !!!! Great staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Steaks and Grill

Sam's Steaks and Grill
52 Thaweewong Rd | Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 370 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 402 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Undeniably the number one Steakhouse in Patong, the readers of TripAdvisor have recently recognized us as the best fine dining experience in Phuket, and amongst the very best restaurants in Thailand! A classic steakhouse with elegant service, great wine selection and only the very best imported beef combining to make the perfect evening, every time! The dress code for 'smart casual' at all times. We prefer that men will wear long trousers and collared shirt, short or long sleeved, with shoes and that ladies are also suitably attired for dinner. However, we understand that we are in a hot, 'holiday' environment and we are happy to receive guests with more casual attire providing the 'smart casual' tone is maintained. Guests will not be allowed to dine if dressed in beach-wear or sports-wear. Thank you for kind consideration of our other diners.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top class food/restaurant !!!! Great staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Thanks once again to trip advisor the food was great and the service was also. Had steak and the scallops and prawns for entree top notch. Would recommend to any one .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear "Tbag75"

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I am very pleased that we have lived up to our reputation on TripAdvisor and have exceeded your expectations! We look forward to seeing you back again soon and, in the meantime, I will share your comments with the team at Sam's

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    78
    16
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service, Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

At here in May 2013 and was surprised by the dining experience. I brought 3 friends back during my current visit now in October 2013 and just ate there 2 nights ago. Again... great meal in a great place.

It's a surprise because it is in a Holiday Inn... but the Holiday Inn Resort in Patong is not your average Holiday Inn.. it's a very nice resort hotel and one of the best on the strip in Patong anyway. And Sam's Steakhouse was a true dining experience.

I had the Australian Rib-eye but one of our party also had the Wagyu Ribeye... all steaks were excellent. The various courses and pallet cleansers that come with it are all great. The final touch of the dry ice-served chocolate covered mint ice cream ball on a stick is very cool. The service is impeccable and the staff are all very friendly. The atmosphere is beautiful and this is the one restaurant in Phuket you want to wear a collared shirt (guys) when you go as it is truly a 5-star dining experience.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear "blandmc"

Thank you for your "great, great, great" review and it is wonderful to note that as a returning guest, we are still able to surprise you and exceed your expectations! Your comments on the high quality of the food, the general ambiance and the service from the staff are all very much appreciated and I will certainly share your feedback with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team. I do you hope you will have another opportunity to visit again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice for a great steak dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our dinner there last night. The food was excellent and and our steaks were cooked to perfection. The sauces are kept warm with candles and that earns Sam's extra points for attention to every delicious detail. The wine sommelier did a wonderful job helping us select an exceptional wine. I would not recommend it for families with children under 12 but ours are quite accustomed to fine dining and they loved it. We definitely will return on our next visit to Phuket.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear "catm3016"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am delighted that you and your family have all had such an enjoyable and memorable experience at Sam's. Your comments on the quality of the food and the exceptional service from the team are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Walked in off the street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a lovely surprise. Everything was wonderful, staff,surroundings and food. It was my birthday and many lovely extras were provided to our party of 8. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear "Sandra L"

Thank you for your very positive feedback and I am delighted that Panom and his team at Sam's have made your birthday celebration an evening to remember! We hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sam's Steakhouse - still my favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We journeyed down to the Holiday Inn for my birthday in September. We went to the lobby bar for a drink before dinner and were warmly greeted by the staff saying welcome back. Had to explain to them that we were not staying there this year as they have half the floors blocked of for refurbishments. Anyway we had a nice time at the bar then ventured across the courtyard to Sams Steakhouse. This is husbands favorite restaurant in the entire world. The staff there also remembered us and we got an even warmer welcome. The same waitress that was there last year served us and it was also her birthday. The meal was 5 star plus and the service was above and beyond what you get at home. Attentive but not in your space. Our meal was faultless and the atmosphere a joy. The extras that come out between courses are always a delightful surprise. I ordered dessert but out came a birthday cake and the staff singing happy birthday. That was the biggest surprise considering we were not even staying there. Once again the Holiday Inn rates very high in our opinion. Even if it is just the way they choose and train their staff. The staff make the experience in any part of the complex a joy. For those thinking about cost. It is about the same as a pub meal back home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear "cb4676"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and I am really pleased that you have been so warmly received and recognized by the staff at both The Bar and Sam's, especially for your birthday celebration! Your comments on the "5 star" food and service are greatly appreciated and I will certainly share your feedback with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team. We hope to see you back again soon for another memorable dining experience!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steaks and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steaks and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Steaks and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.