We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Steaks and Grill

Sam's Steaks and Grill
52 Thaweewong Rd | Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 370 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 396 Restaurants in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 513 Reviews
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Undeniably the number one Steakhouse in Patong, the readers of TripAdvisor have recently recognized us as the best fine dining experience in Phuket, and amongst the very best restaurants in Thailand! A classic steakhouse with elegant service, great wine selection and only the very best imported beef combining to make the perfect evening, every time! The dress code for 'smart casual' at all times. We prefer that men will wear long trousers and collared shirt, short or long sleeved, with shoes and that ladies are also suitably attired for dinner. However, we understand that we are in a hot, 'holiday' environment and we are happy to receive guests with more casual attire providing the 'smart casual' tone is maintained. Guests will not be allowed to dine if dressed in beach-wear or sports-wear. Thank you for kind consideration of our other diners.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband still says the best steak he has ever had is from Sam's Steakhouse - we always recommend it to our friends when they are travelling to Phuket!

We came with a group of 10 to celebrate our friends birthday. The seated us in our own private section, spoilt us with some complimentary desserts, and even sang happy birthday!!

A fantastic night out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear "Chantel T"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is great to note that you and your friends have had such an enjoyable experience at Sam's and that the staff have gone out of their way to leave you with some happy memories! I will be sure to share your comments with the manager, Panom, and his team and we hope to see you all back again soon at Sam's!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    73
    15
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service,Great atmosphere,wide range of wine selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spending time at Sam's steakhouse for dinner and you won't regret.Waiter services is great even for non-tourist like us.Our waiter suggest some of interesting menu frankly,and thankfully not being too suggestive.
Atmosphere is great especially for couple.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear "missxbar"

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind and positive review with us. I am really pleased that you have had such an enjoyable time at Sam's and that the staff have taken such good care of you. We hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Upmarket steak house serving good imported steaks. Professional service and good wine list. Best steaks in Phuket. Only negative would be that some guests seem to think that wearing beach clothes to dinner in such a place is ok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear "Fergus E"

Thank you for your very kind review and it is graet to read that overall you have enjoyed your whole experience: food, wine, service and ambience! Your comments with regards the dress code is well received, thank you, and remains an active point of discussion here at the hotel.

We do hope to see you back again soon at Sam's!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
1 review
“Try desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Although this is a steak place, I'm in love with their Eton mess, flambéed crepes and profiterole. Absolutely excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear "Shoshanna K"

Thank you for your "excellent" and very kind feedback!. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed the desserts so much and we hope to see you back again soon at Sam's!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent ambiance and superb service. However, the steak was a a bit of disappointment especially after the rave reviews I had heard about the place. Had better steak at a much less fancier restaurant in Patong. Far more tastier than what I got at Sams and at nearly one fourth the price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear "ukhosla"

Thank you (again) for taking the time to write a review and it is good to note that overall you have enjoyed your dining experience at Sam's. It is great to note that the ambience and service were both excellent, but I am sorry to read that you felt your steak could have been better. I will most certainly discuss this further with the chef and with the manager, Panom.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back again soon at Sam's!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steaks and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steaks and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Steaks and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.