We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DusitD2 Phuket Resort to your Saves list
DusitD2 Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 286 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You really can't go wrong with staying at the D2. We've stayed there numerous times over the years and find it hard to fault. The rooms are nice and always clean on arrival. At the time of our last visit (April 2015), they were conducting major renovations/improvements to sections of the hotel. It's great to see they're constantly spending money to improve facilities for guests, unlike a lot of other hotels in the area that have just been allowed to get run into the ground. The noise from the renovations were always kept to a minimum and I really only heard it a few times. These renovations were due to be completed by the end of May 2015 if you're worried about any potential noise. Saying that, the plans for the renovations looks awesome. Can't wait to see the finished product next year.

If you stay at the hotel make sure you get breakfast included. Without a doubt, the best breakfast of any of the hotels we've stayed at in Thailand. Such a massive selection of food and it's always fresh.

The staff at the D2 are wonderful. They were always so welcoming, from the hotel reception right through to house cleaning. Something other hotels in Thailand could learn from. Of particular note is Golf, one of the duty managers at the hotel. I had a very minor issue that I raised about our room. The matter was dealt with immediately and he went above and beyond my expectations to resolve the very minor issue.

The only thing people should be mindful of, if you're planning on having big nights out in Patong, ensure you get a room away from the pool area (near the pool bar). On our last visit, there were a lot of families staying at the hotel and quite often we'd be woken in the mornings by kids playing in the pool. Oh and they've installed a volley ball net in the pool area. Some constructive criticism for the hotel management, I think you should get rid of the volley ball net. Great for the roof top pool but bad idea for the main pool area. It just creates too much noise that echoes into the rooms. Also rather distracting if you're trying to relax in the sun on a deck chair. Apart from that, job well done.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Neil,

Many thanks for your glorious review, comments and we are very pleased to hear that even after visiting numerous times you still find it "hard to fault" which is a very nice complement to receive.

We are indeed enhancing our hotel facilities with an opened Irish Pub "The Drunken Leprechaun" and an Executive Lounge and energetic, exciting Beach Club "On Top" due to open in June.

Much appreciated for your complements about our breakfast on which we received previous many positive comments and we are pleased to hear you have enjoyed it likewise.

Thank you so much on your comment of our staff and service for which Dusit is known and will be passed on accordingly.

We will take your comment about the pool into consideration and will review the situation accordingly.

Warm Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    74
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
45
87
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited Dusit D2 using a luxury escapes deal $999 for 2 pax. It was the best decision I made as the quality of hotel and food were just amazingly above par. My friend and I had a great time. Very centrally located, just minutes away to Jungceylon Mall and Bangla St. 2 minutes walk to Patong Beach as well. Staff are friendly especially the bartender minding the pool bars. love it

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Maribeth,

Thank you very much for your glorious review, comments and that you appreciate our location.

We are pleased to hear that the quality of the hotel and food are above par on which we received many positive comments.

Your comment of the staff friendliness particular the pool bartender will be passed on accordingly.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I want to say about Dusit D2 Phuket Hotel.

Dusit D2 Staff , Room , Breakfast and Location is very nice.

Thank you for Dusit D2's Birthday Cake for my bf.

And Tastes very good. He was very surprised.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Maggie,

Much appreciated on your positive comments, review and that you have enjoyed our general room, hotel facilities and location.

We are pleased to read that you liked our breakfast for which we received many positive comments previously.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangi Wangi, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 9 days in April in Premier Rooms (2 adults and 2 young adult kids). That staff were lovely and very helpful at all times, the rooms were up to date, clean and comfortable, the air conditioning worked really well. The bathrooms were not spacious, but they were ample. The only fault we had with our rooms was that they were on the side that Hooters is on and the music was definitely quite loud in our rooms until 2am, but as we were out most nights it didn't bother us too much. The breakfasts were great (including the Bloody Mary station to cure your hangover) and the staff in the restaurant were so accommodating. They were renovating the rooftop pool and bar area while we were there, but we didn't hear any noise from it. The other pool had lots of quiet areas to sit in and relax, as well as a deeper area to swim. The pool bar was fantastic and the bartender was very friendly. The kids used the fitness centre almost daily and said that it was equipped ok and the air conditioning worked well in there. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to Patong Beach and a 10 minute walk ( or 200 baht in a tuk tuk) to Bangla Road.

Room Tip: If you don't want to listen to music pumping into the night ask to be situated away from the Hoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and comments.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the general room, hotel facilities and the "lovely and very helpful" service provided for which Dusit is known.

It is a joy to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast and service on which we received many positive comments.

We are currently in the process refurbishing our 7th floor to an exciting, energetic beach club "On Top" due to be ready in June which will enhance our facilities and service even more.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with the family 2 kids and 2 adults as part of a group of 20. The rooms were a good size but the bathroom is very small and so to is the bed. Aircon in our room was effective.
The upstairs pool was under renovation but the main pool on the 3rd floor was dirty 3 of the 8 days. It appears as though they were having filter and pump problems. Pool bar was good but very expensive.
Staff at the hotel were the highlight. Fantastic and helpful.
Breakfast was also very good and so to was the diners. Housekeeping was ok but they did not wash the bathroom floors which is poor. We had a room near hooters which is very loud, although it didnt bother us like it may others.the hotel is full of multicultural visitors, of which, the vast majority have no manners or decorum. The australians at the hotel are the only ones who appear to have any form of courtesy or social ethics.
Location of the hotel was fantastic. Big downer of the hotel was pricing...very expensive for food and drinks.

Room Tip: Pool view if u want to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dean,

Thank you very much for your comments and review and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the general room, hotel facilities and location.

We are currently renovating our 7th floor rooftop with an exciting, energetic new Beach Club and SPA “On Top” due to open in June. We indeed had a malfunction of our pool filter system which we fixed immediately and although the pool could still be used it was back to normal under 12 hours.

We much appreciate your comment of our staff that they were "Fantastic and Helpful" for which Dusit is known and will be passed on accordingly.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our breakfast and dinners for which we received prior many positive reviews.

Regarding the pricing think the food pricing is more than reasonable within Thailand and as for the beverages especially alcoholic they are government taxed by 400% which makes the general pricing higher which we are due to review to make it more attractive for guests with a lesser margin for the hotel.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not the first time in Phuket but first stay at this hotel. Saw this hotel when we walked passed it during our last visit and we decided to try it out this time. The lobby and restaurant look very new. However, the room where we stayed for 4 nights wasn't as such. Our room was located very far from the lift lobby; guess it's due to renovation works? Room is spacious and has a balcony. The wooden floor in the room has got cracking sound when we walked on certain parts of the floor. The duvet cover and one of the towels have stains on it; it never happen during our stay at other resorts. Housekeeping came and didn't top up the tissue and toilet paper, isn't it a standard procedure? From the pool view, it looks kinda aged and doesn't have that resort feel.

We used the gym too and it was great; 1 of the treadmill wasn't working though, there are 3. Towels are provided in the gym too.

Service wise is great, staff are friendly and helpful, same like other resorts we've stayed.

Didn't get the chance to try out the spa as the slots available doesn't match our timings and they don't seem to have enough staff. So too bad we went next door.

Will we come back? Hmm.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments and review.

Our rooms are on continues maintenance program to ensure highest standard possible and we make note of your comments to review.

We are in the process to renew our linen and this is due to be completed during the low season.

Regarding room amenities we have made note and rest assured this will be passed on to the departments involved.

Thank you for the comment that our staff is "friendly and helpful" for which Dusit is known and will be passed on accordingly.

We are in the process to refurbish our 7th floor rooftop which includes a SPA as well which should give you more flexibility on your next visit.

We hope we are in a position to welcome you back and if you are planning don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic hotel close to hooters pub and a lot of massage centres the rooms are quite nice and clean the hotel has a good pool and a good pool bar a 10 min walk from main patong street ! Helpful staff and a good ambience the prices are reasonable worth staying !

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and that you enjoyed our general room, hotel facilities and the location.

We appreciate that you were satisfied with our "helpful" staff which will be passed on accordingly.

Thank you for the recommendation.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DusitD2 Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Address: 48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#17 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DusitD2 Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DusitD2 phuket resort is a stylish and vibrant resort o-ffering 390 guestrooms on the stunning west coast of phuket island. It is only a short walk from the beach as well as a short walk from the island's lively entertainment and shopping district. Ideal for couples or family holidays, dusitD2 phuket resort features a rooftop pool bar with views over the beach and a second pool with a swim-up bar in the centre of the resort. The Hard Rock Cafe, Kids World and Siam Adventure Club entertainment venues are all located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your DusitD2 Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Courtyard Patong
DusitD2 Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DusitD2 Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.