We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a nice location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DusitD2 Phuket Resort to your Saves list
DusitD2 Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 284 Hotels in Patong
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a nice location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went with a group of friends. The room is well laid out and nicely furnished. The location is close to the town area and yet give some peacefulness when you are back at the hotel. Nice jacuzzi pool and great buffet breakfast spread.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, today
Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for a great, positive review and we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the general room, hotel facilities and location.

Much appreciated for your comment on our breakfast on which we have received many positive reviews.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    67
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
82
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 9 nights and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects that were on offer. The buffet breakfast served every morning from 6.30-10.30 was amazing, it was one of the highlights of our trip. There was a huge selection that was consistent over our stay, the eggs were cooked fresh to your liking right in front of you, everything was replenished regularly, there was never an empty bowl or plate.
The staff were always polite and helpful, opening doors or greeting you with a smile.
The pool was great and although the rooftop pool was being renovated I don't think it was ever crowded or uncomfortable. It was a nice opportunity to say hi to other guests or just people watch. The pool bar was great for food and drinks.
If you do stay here take advantage of room service at least once, their pizzas and spring rolls are amazing!
We did have some noise at night from Hooters/Hard Rock but all the positives far outweighed this slight annoyance. The bed and pillows, the daily fresh towels, air con and wifi were great.
The location of he hotel is great too, just a 5-10 minute walk from the beach front, numerous shops/stalls, a large bar strip and Jungceylon shopping centre.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are larger and easy to snag a deck chair from first thing in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, today
Dear Pamella,

Thank you very much for your glorious review, comments and that you enjoyed the room, hotel facilities and location.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast offerings and service on which we have received many positive comments and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed it likewise.

It is always good to read that the staff were "polite and helpful" for which Dusit is known and will be passed on accordingly.

We are indeed currently in the process of renovating our 7th floor rooftop to an exciting, energetic new Beach Club & SPA and that you were satisfied with the food and drinks offered at the pool and room service.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Dusit D2 Phuket in hopefully the near future and please advise accordingly as I would be delighted to meet you in person.

Warm Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location not far from the beach, markets and bars, however there is no noise which is great.

Unfortunately during our stay there was a refurb going on to the roof top pool, which we were not advised about at the time of booking, only on checking in. I was disappointed at this for two reasons:

1. I had requested a higher floor room to be away from any potential street noise, which to be fair they gave us, but it in the end it was to our disadvantage because the pool renovations were going on above us from 10am to 6pm.

2. I had read in previous reviews that the rooftop pool was quieter and less children around which suits our requirements perfectly. Because the roof top pool was closed, the pool on the third floor was the only one that was open, and for the size of the hotel, we found it small and not enough terrace space or sun loungers to laze by the pool. So during our four days stay we were never able to sit by the pool.

I was disappointed at the interior standard of the décor, things are starting to look a bit tired and could do with a freshen up. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the toiletries supplied were great.

The quality of the food at breakfast was average, but the variety on offer was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We stayed at the Burasari Hotel in a previous visit to Patong and I would have to say for value for money I would prefer to stay at the Burasari on my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed one week with family (three adults and two kids) and we really enjoyed our stay. the hotel located closed to Patong beach and shopping area as well to Jungceylon Shopping mall.

the breakfast buffet was great and the size and cleanliness was perfect. the swimming pool, Wifi, and information desk were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Much appreciated for your positive review, comments and that you and the family are satisfied with the location of the hotel which indeed is in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Patong.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings on which we have received many positive reviews.

We are in the process of renovating our 7th floor rooftop to an exciting beach club due to be finished in June which will enhance our swimming pool facilities even more.

We do offer free WIFI throughout the hotel and rooms for the comfort of our guests in this modern time and age.

Warm Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This staff was so nice and friendly. They really treated us well. I loved the room we were in and had a great sleep in the evening especially after a 19 hour flight. The rooms were nice. Now it's next to Hooters and Hard Rock so you will hear music playing from your room, at least from our room you could hear music. We were there for one night and we slept well becuase of the jet lag. We did go to the Hooters bar for a bit and it was nice. Overall the hotel was great and the only issue I had was the music that could be heard from the Hard Rock. Otherwise, great location and nice place to stay. I don't think you can go wrong with a DusitD2 Hotel. We loved the one here and in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: I would ask to have a room that's away or not too close to Hard Rock and Hooters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear David,

Thank you very much for your glorious review and comments.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the general room, hotel facilities and the location.

It is very nice to read that you appreciate our "nice and friendly" staff for which Dusit is known and will be passed on accordingly.

We are trying our utmost best to allocate guests in the more quieter part of the hotel occupancy allowing but we are pleased to hear you enjoyed Hooters.

We are glad to experience that you liked our sister property Dusit D2 Hotel Chiang Mai and Phuket likewise.

Warm Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. The service was fantastic and the buffet breakfast was very good. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The only negative aspects of this resort were that the pool was sometimes a bit crowded and lacked shade most of the time, unfortunately one of the pools was closed for maintenance at the time. Also it was strange that when we stepped out of our fabulously air-conditioned rooms into the corridor, it was steamy and very hot due to no air conditioning. Otherwise a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Cathie,

We are very pleased to read your glorious review and comments.

We have received many positive comments about our breakfast offerings and our service for which Dusit is known and will be passed on accordingly.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment on our 7th floor rooftop including an excited, energetic new Beach Club which we hope will be to your liking if you are in an opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel nearly 2 yrs ago it was very poor and promised I would never stay again. At time I was returning back to Phuket. This same hotel had changed names to the dusit 2 . So I did not relish going inside when taxi pulled up outside ..... But I was surprised they have done a good job making it a much nicer hotel the only down side is it is still full of Chinese. And Muslims who are always very rood the staff were nice . I stayed in room 3018 there was damp smell from air con the Internet connection was poor in room.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Shaun,

We are glad to read that even as mentioned not to stay at the hotel again that we have managed to improve from previous and that it is a "much nicer hotel" under Dusit D2.

We are trying our utmost best to accommodate all our guests and nationalities on which we try to have within the hotel a nice guest mix.

We are in the process to upgrade our AC and WIFI which we hope will be finalized throughout this year.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DusitD2 Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Address: 48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Patong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#16 Family Hotel in Patong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DusitD2 Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DusitD2 phuket resort is a stylish and vibrant resort o-ffering 390 guestrooms on the stunning west coast of phuket island. It is only a short walk from the beach as well as a short walk from the island's lively entertainment and shopping district. Ideal for couples or family holidays, dusitD2 phuket resort features a rooftop pool bar with views over the beach and a second pool with a swim-up bar in the centre of the resort. The Hard Rock Cafe, Kids World and Siam Adventure Club entertainment venues are all located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your DusitD2 Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Courtyard Patong
DusitD2 Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DusitD2 Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.