We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edgy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DusitD2 Phuket Resort to your Saves list
DusitD2 Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 280 Hotels in Patong
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Edgy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After long ride from airport we were pleasantly surprised, apparently this is big chain but iv never heard of them before. Probably one of the best on the strip, situated at the far end of the beach. Trendy, edgy, professional staff, great breakfast, good WiFi and close to beach.
Does get busy with tour groups but not a problem.
Didnt like patong but at least staying at this hotel we had the option to distance our selves from the masses.
Heading off to Phi Phi next.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments and review.

Dusit international indeed is an international hotel chain with various properties around the world.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the general hotel facilities.

Warm regards,

Merijn Wessel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    46
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
36
63
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

i was there on 15 jan with my family n friends , rooms were good n spacious , neat n clean. A very good bar with great show off , I n my kids loved their kids club , staff was very polite n friendly with kids . The all over impact of hotel was good . Good verity of breakfast but only for non vegetarians , nothing good for vegetarians. Walking street in front of hotel , hooters near the hotel and the patong beach r the most happening places , we enjoyed them . Next time I will try dusit surly .

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Much appreciated on your positive comments and review.

We are pleased to read that you and your family and friends have enjoyed the general hotel and room facilities.

We do have a very much appreciated by many guests kids club and your comment on staff friendliness and politeness will be passed on accordingly.

We have received many good comments on our breakfast offerings and are delighted to read you have enjoyed it.

Many thanks that you are considering to visit us hopefully in the near future again and if you do I would be happy to meet you in person.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located at a very convenient location in patong, the beach is a short stroll away, shopping, massage, bars and restaurants are all nearby, went to Patong beach in the morning, not much people yet, beach was clean was surprised with the sea water, because it was clear, for me and family to get soaked and splash around. Accommodation at the hotel was good, big room with a view of the pool, all amenities were available, and a very comfortable king size bed. Dining at the hotel favors restaurant was fine, we had our daily breakfast, thai buffet dinner and brunch on our departure date which was all good, service was excellent at all times. You can also dine and watch some live entertainment at the Hard Rock Cafe, and hooters another bar and party venue which are all located within the hotel premises on the ground floor. Overall me and family had a great holiday at Dusit D2 hotel, loved the location, very very convenient to everything you want to have during a holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments and review.

We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the general hotel and room facilities and also that you joined us for our weekly buffet offerings including our Sunday Brunch and extended on every visit an excellent service.

Warm Regards,

Merijn Wessel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night only in Phuket before New Years as we had a dentist appointment on the 31 st of December before heading to Ko Samui . We got a great rate so therefore had the basic room facing the road but considering the noise coming from the main road , Hard Rock and Hooters it was relatively quiet . They were completely full but it didn't seem overly busy and having many lifts means you aren't always waiting to get into a crowded lift . We had our free drink at the bar which looks really gorgeous with all the lights around it and the Christmas tree looked beautiful . Had a wonderful sleep in the comfortable bed after our massage which is only about 100 metres out the front on the way to the beach direction . They are very good there . We didn't have breakfast there , so can't comment but the staff were all efficient especially as they were so busy . No complaints although the computers in. The business room was fairly expensive to use as you had to pay in blocks of fifteen or twenty minutes to use the computers but apart from that everything is fine and the area is great for restaurants markets and yet close to the beach

Room Tip: Close to the pool with a view away from the noise of Hard Rock Cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Delighted to read your positive review and that you were complimentary about our facilities and servise.

Many thanks for your comment about the exemplary service of the staff and rest assured this message will be passed on accordingly.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my family recently and we had a blast. Rooms were cleaned daily, buffet breakfast was amazing, kids club was great. The pool area is nice and simple. I wouldn't recommend swimming on Patong beach but driving a few minutes down the water is much cleaner. MUST visit the islands they are amazing. Night markets were a fun experience and only about a two minute walk from the hotel.The hard rock cafe has great food as well as Hooters, both accessible by foot. Hotel staff were so amazing and were willing to help with anything. Enjoyed my stay very much and wouldn't mind going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review and comments.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the general hotel facilities and our "amazing" breakfast buffet.

Appreciate your comment about our staff service, which will be passed on accordingly and that you like to come back.

Hope that if you are able to visit us again in the near future to meet you in person.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm currently staying at this hotel. It's really got a great location as its central to the main entertainment centers in Patong Beach.

Issues with the hotel;
1. On arrival I was told there is a 3000 baht deposit...while this is not a problem this should have been communicated when the accomodation was booked. I get the feeling that once you arrive there's racial profiling done which then determines if you pay a deposit or not

2. Second issue - room 646 has had issues with the balcony door two days running...problem is the door keeps getting jammed - very helpful gentleman came two days to fix...But I'm afraid I will have the same issue tomorrow.

3. Third issue the basin didn't drain when I first arrived but the guy who fixed the door fixed that for me

4. Says put dirty towels on the floor to have them changed.,I did do that and was not changed.

5. All the plug points were loose when I got here for European two pin

The only person that's been helpful is Mr Fixit who been great doing the handiwork



  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

First of all would like to apologize for the situations that occurred.

As you are currently hopefully still staying with us I would be delighted to meet you in person to discuss below issues.

Unfortunately there is a deposit policy to be paid by all guests staying within the hotel like all normal hotels in the world which can be by cash or credit card and is communicated upon confirming the room.

We have made note of the technical failures and we will get them resolved as soon as possible.

Rest assured that all our guests get an equal treatment, service and that they are handled in the same way and my apologies if this was the impression you had.

Looking forward to meet you in person.

Regards,

Merijn Wessel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In all honesty DusitD2 is a DECENT hotel, but far from excellent.
The rooms are comfy and big, but the bathroom is small and the water in the shower has hardly any pressure.

The hotel's gym is poor, but the variety of swimming pools is good. The lounge beds at the pools are comfy. Especially now with the policy of Thailand to ban all lounge beds on the beach.

When it comes to room service, the food is just horrible. We tried various dishes, but they were all disgusting. I never had such a poor Ceasar salad, chicken satay or Pad Thai in my life. How in the world can you mess up on a Thai dish in Thailand?! Well, the chef at DusitD2 knows how to do it. The Pad Thai was like eating a bowl of chewing gum. Yuk!
Also the variety at breakfast is very, very poor.

One thing that was really great, was the speed of the internet. The speed is one of the best I've ever experienced anywhere across Asia. Kudos for that!

So overall, we had quite a nice stay at DusitD2. But two of its staff knew how to ruin our whole experience on our last day. As soon as we paid our bill, they obviously don't care about you anymore. The staff got rude, raised their voice when disucussing a simple matter over taxi fares, and on top of that one of its staff physically threatened me, while I was in discussion with his boss: "I will beat you up if you don't stop talking to my boss now!" and jumped right into my face with his hands raised. Making my wife feel very scared as well!

Never ever have I experienced something like this, and I'm a frequent traveler staying in hotels at least 100 nights a year.

Talking to other guests who witnessed the incident, I was told this was not the first time hotel staff got out of control.

I was promised by management that they would contact me over this incident three days ago, but still not a single word.

Therefore I would highly NOT recommend this hotel to anybody. As its obvious a place where you can't feel safe!

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel where staff won't try to attack you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It is with great disappointment to read your review but that you have enjoyed our general facilities.

We are glad to inform you that we are currently working on our facilities to be a project based on the rooftop including state of the art fitness center and a Beach Club and SPA due to be finished mid this year.

We are offering a wide variety of dishes true our In Room Dining which are prepared by skilled and trained chefs and guided by our famous Iron Chef which places a lot of pride, knowledge and enthusiasm into his culinary offerings. It is thus a shame to hear they weren’t up to your liking as we did receive many complements as stated in previous responses of the quality of our cuisine including glorious reviews of our breakfast offerings.

We are treating every guest individual and regardless of staying in house or not, checked out or not we will treat all our Dusit D2, Phuket guests with gracious service and respect as famous within Thailand.

To clarify the taxi serviced at the front of the hotel has nothing to do with the hotel and we are simply not in a position to negotiate any prices regarding this matter where we should expect as a "frequent traveler" to be aware of this here in Phuket.

After staff explaining multiple times that they were unfortunately not in a position to negotiate, I can confidently say that the staff involved wouldn’t raise their voice or get physical as this is simply not in their culture to do in the land of smiles.

Unfortunately we have not been able to meet in person but I would be more than happy, if you wish to discuss the incident further and can be contacted by email on merijn.wessel@dusit.com

We do have highly trained security and cameras placed through various parts of the hotel and they will identify any situation through our state of the art security video camera system and react appropriate.

Best Regards,

Merijn Wessel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DusitD2 Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Address: 48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#18 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DusitD2 Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DusitD2 phuket resort is a stylish and vibrant resort o-ffering 390 guestrooms on the stunning west coast of phuket island. It is only a short walk from the beach as well as a short walk from the island's lively entertainment and shopping district. Ideal for couples or family holidays, dusitD2 phuket resort features a rooftop pool bar with views over the beach and a second pool with a swim-up bar in the centre of the resort. The Hard Rock Cafe, Kids World and Siam Adventure Club entertainment venues are all located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DusitD2 Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Courtyard Patong
DusitD2 Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DusitD2 Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.