We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel - Even better staff!! A+++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DusitD2 Phuket Resort to your Saves list
DusitD2 Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant Hotel - Even better staff!! A+++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at DusitD2 for 7 nights with my husband and 3 other couples. We each had a Premier room - pool view. The rooms were spacious, very comfortable, well air conditioned and VERY well maintained. Not only is this hotel perfectly located to ensure you can indulge in everything Phuket has to offer, it is gorgeous with fantastic facilities and service. Close to the beach, markets and nightlife with the Hard Rock Cafe adjoining the main lobby. The staff were only too happy to assist us with day trip arrangements and fulfilling any other requests we had. For example, during our stay it was my husbands' birthday. As this hotel has a rooftop pool area, we asked if we were able to arrange some food, drinks and entertainment as a small party for him. The manager allowed us to speak directly with the chef and kitchen staff to organise the greatest spread of authentic Thai food, buckets of ice for our drinks and iPod connection for our music. When it was time for the rooftop to close for the evening, they arranged their staff to carry ALL of our stuff back down to our room, very heavy buckets filled with drinks and ice, remaining food etc...so we could continue our fun! The next morning at breakfast, my husband was greeted with numerous staff singing him happy birthday and giving him a beautiful birthday cake at our table. They really were unreal and turned a last minute idea into a memorable event for our whole group - Well Done! A very special mention goes out to one of their staff members, Bird Teerawat (AKA Burt) who was one of the greatest hotel staff members we have ever had on any holiday! He is an asset to DusitD2! We loved our stay, the staff and their hospitality so much that we will always stay here while in Patong Beach. We are currently planning our next trip (this time with our children) and will absolutely be staying here again!

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    38
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
28
53
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel through a Scoopon voucher and got a very good deal. We stayed for seven nights and our deal included complimentary buffet breakfast every morning, one complimentary lunch, one complimentary dinner, 1000 THB drinks voucher and an hour complimentary massage for each of us. My fiance gave his massage to me and the hotel was more than happy for me to have two which was very flexible of them and the traditional Thai massages were very good. The food was excellent quality at every meal and the buffet breakfast was excellent and varied. They even have chefs standing by ready to cook your eggs exactly how you like them. The room was great too, with all the facilities you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The WiFi was very reliable and fast. The overall service was excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Patong.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Julia,

Thank you very much for your positive review and recommendation.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our services, food and room layout.

If you are in an opportunity to visit us again in the near future I be delighted to meet you in person.

Warm regards,

Merijn Wessel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the DusitD2 hotel for three nights, it was pure luxury! All the staff where very accommodating and friendly. Couldn't have asked for a better service! The breakfast buffet was incredible, so much variation and different cuisines for everyone! Would definitely recommend to friends, the room was very clean big and spacious. We had a balcony room on the third floor over looking the pool. You could choose your own mini bar from the shop downstairs to tailor suit you and your taste. The facilities where brilliant, the two pools where great and what we saw from the kids club it looked like they had a lot to offer for children too! You got free arrival drinks at the stunning bar in the lobby and also a bonus 20% off Hooters and Hard Rock Cafe which was attached! Best hotel we have ever stayed in. No faults what so ever! :)

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, General Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Chailey,

it is an absolute pleasure to read your review and that you class us "Best hotel we have ever stayed in"

It is even more delighted to read that you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and that you like to recommend us, thank you.

On your next visit hopefully in the near future I would be happy to meet you in person.

Warm regards,

Merijn Wessel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

i was disappointed to arrive in the evening with my group to find he desk staff completely unable to deal with the six of us, the fact that we were each paying separately despite being under the same booking didn't compute 45 min later we still didn't have our rooms. When we finally got to our room which were not what we had booked ( twin beds vice king bed) they were in a quite poor state. Overall the hotel despite being marketed and appearing as hip and cool was in fact cheap and nasty

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Hicks,

First of all I would like to apologize for below mentioned situation and that we were not able to have a smooth check in and room allocation.

Rest assured that this will be followed up with the departments involved and an ongoing training will be revisit as well.

I do hope we are still in an opportunity to welcome you back if you are traveling to Phuket in the near future to ensure and allow us to reinstall your confidence back to Dusit D2 and if so please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Best regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel. Great Staff. 2 minuets walk to the Patong beach with loads of restaurant nearby. Huge selection for breakfast including Halal corner for Muslim which we really loved. Roof top pool was brilliant.Easy to find hotel if you are lost as the Hooters and Hard Rock Cafe are on the same property as the hotel. A fair few Halal restaurants are also nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your positive review and that you have enjoyed your stay with us and yes we try to cater as much as possible for everybody.

Looking forward to meet you in person on one of your next visits to Phuket.

Best regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharmshala
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are visiting the place for business purpose and with friends the you can prefer it as it is in the city and all the areas nearby are easily approachable even on foot. So you can save much on taxi/tuk tuk. Good swimming pool but it closes at 7 PM. The operation time of the same should be extended. Good Food inside the hotel. Beach is at a walking distance of 3-5 min. If you want a romantic hotel out of city, you can look for other options also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gupta Varun,

Many thanks for your positive review and glad to hear you like the hotel and the location.

We will keep your comment about the pool closing time in mind and review if there is some space for improvement in that area.

Best regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at DusitD2 for 10 days. From the moment we walked in, it was like a little bit of paradise in Patong. Hotel staff were all very lovely from the get go. It's in such a convenient location with all the shopping a few hundred meters down the road. The rooms were really well sized. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide range of food choices. The hotel restaurant was well-priced and had really good tasting food. I'll recommend DusitD2 to anyone that wants to travel to Phuket. I cannot speak more highly of this hotel and will certainly be coming back.

Improvements:

A stronger fan in the shower because it tends to steam up really quickly
The TV cut out every so often.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn W, Manager at DusitD2 Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and that you consider to visit us again hopefully in the near future and that you would like to recommend us.

If you do visit us again I would be happy to meet you in person.

Warm regards,

Merijn Wessel
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DusitD2 Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Address: 48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#21 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DusitD2 Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DusitD2 phuket resort is a stylish and vibrant resort o-ffering 390 guestrooms on the stunning west coast of phuket island. It is only a short walk from the beach as well as a short walk from the island's lively entertainment and shopping district. Ideal for couples or family holidays, dusitD2 phuket resort features a rooftop pool bar with views over the beach and a second pool with a swim-up bar in the centre of the resort. The Hard Rock Cafe, Kids World and Siam Adventure Club entertainment venues are all located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DusitD2 Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Courtyard Patong
DusitD2 Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DusitD2 Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.