We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something is terribly wrong here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Save Saved
You added DusitD2 Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DusitD2 Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 273 Hotels in Patong
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something is terribly wrong here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon arrival after midnight we were placed in a "premium room" next to the pool according to our booking. Big mistake. By early morning the noise was deafening from a large group a of arabs outside, by the pool. We had been given a room just next to the very cramped bar area. This hotel clearly has not understood some basic rules for conduct to be observed by their guests. A total lack of respect for other guests by a big group of arabs was not done anything about by the staff; despite the pool area being very small and right up against the bar and some of the rooms, including ours. We intended to stay for a week but realized after a few hours that the noise and lack of respect for basic rules in the pool area would make it a thoroughly horrible experience to stay there. Apart from that and the lack of sound insulation of the room the smell in the rooms was a strong and a very unpleasant experience as it was penetrating and everything we had with us smelled of this smell even days after we left the hotel. Well, we left the same day after being badly harrassed by the arab guests around the pool, after having asked the staff, to no avail, to tell them to quieten down. If you feel you deserve a minimum of respect, privacy and a reasonably calm decent environment to enjoy your vacation, forget about this place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon our arrival all staff were friendly, and extremely helpful. You were made feel very special and were greeted each day with a warm, friendly smile and hello.
Anything that you asked to have done was immediately attended to. We stayed in a pool view room which had a large balcony to sit and enjoy the view, reading or just relaxing.
the beauty of this hotel is you can have 3 adults in a room with plenty of room to still sit in your room and not feel overcrowded.
We have stayed at many hotels in Phuket, but we would be going back to the DusitD2 for our next stay.
Everyone is well catered for and made feel welcome.
Great location,

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were interested to find out if we would still receive the same service with the change of franchise of this hotel. We were not to be let down. The same courteous Thai hospitality is still very evident and many of the same faces. The only difference is we now have to pay for our specialty coffees at breakfast if we want a late, cappuccino etc. No big deal as they are so cheap.

We have lashed out on two poolside rooms for Christmas as we are having three guests from Malta with us and we are confident that they are going to be thrilled with the accommodation we have arranged for them. We can't wait to introduce them to our Thai friends at the hotel so they can see for themselves what we enjoy so much.

Room Tip: Our favourite room is on the 5th Floor and on the corner of the hotel. It has two windows - to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

People are very friendly food is great location is awesome would definitely recommend for families or singles.
Nong the pool barman is a true asset always attentive and genuinely cared for our well being especially when we were ill he was always there to help. Thank you

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is just PERFECT! Few steps away from everything - Patong Beach (less than 200 meters), Otop Shopping, Jungceylon mall (800 meters), Banzan market, etc. While it is close to the action, I like how they are able to keep it away from the noise. Though the amenities and service is not comparable to a 4-star, all the basics are provided for. Staff attention to detail can still be improved. Staff at Flavours restaurant should also be more friendly and warm especially the one who is always talking to the staff in the morning. The food in the buffet has a good spread but needs variety. I stayed for 4 days and noticed that the menu did not change at all. Since we came from a late flight, I would expect an ease in the check-in. I hope they can be more efficient and fast especially when the guests looks really tired from the flight. Overall, the experience was pleasant. The rooms are kept clean everyday. I would definitely stay and recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: away from Hard Rock Cafe and Hooters. Stayed at Rm 576.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first time I went to this resort was in 2010 when it was the Courtyard by Marriott and we chose it because it was then known as 'the place to be'. Wasn't quite five star, but had everything we wanted for a Phuket holiday. Big, bold and friendly. Next to the beach, a three minute walk from Bangla road, and the same distance to Jungceylon shopping centre.

Have been back three times since then, and now took a short trip there to get some sun and some R&R. It is now under new management, and they have really revamped the whole atmosphere. What was a bit more 'corporate' back then is now becoming trendy. New colour schemes, bars, and dining concepts are definitely an improvement. Can't complain about the breakfast buffets, and the egg station guy called "Kung" actually knows how to make poached eggs - a rarity in Thailand!

A few improvements are also being finalised with their bar concepts downstairs and on the rooftop, which look swish.

Of course the Hard Rock Cafe is still there (bigger and better than before as it had a fire a couple of years ago!)

Another really good aspect about returning to this resort is that the beach has been totally cleaned up by the Thai government. What used to be teaming with vendors and people hassling you, has now been swept away. Patong beach has been restored to its former glory and is a pleasure to walk / swim in. Hopefully stays that way!

So definitely recommend a stay at D2 and for a nice change, try the German Beer Garden in Jungcelyon as well.

PS: While the resort is perfect for families with all their kids facilities, I'd try and go during non-school holiday periods.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are amazing. All friendly and eager to assist. The rooms are clean, modern and design well thought out. We had breakfasts included. The breakfasts are all day buffet style which meant no rush in the morning. Great variety to suit all tastes. The omelettes are great - highly recommend them. On site shop makes great coffees. You can sit at the tables on the sidewalk and watch the work walk by.
5 minute walk to the beach. 10 minutes to Bangala St. 10 minutes to Junceylong.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Music from pool bar is a bit overpowering through the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DusitD2 Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DusitD2 Phuket Resort

Address: 48 Ruam Jai Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Destination Patong Hotel and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DusitD2 Phuket Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DusitD2 phuket resort is a stylish and vibrant resort o-ffering 390 guestrooms on the stunning west coast of phuket island. It is only a short walk from the beach as well as a short walk from the island's lively entertainment and shopping district. Ideal for couples or family holidays, dusitD2 phuket resort features a rooftop pool bar with views over the beach and a second pool with a swim-up bar in the centre of the resort. The Hard Rock Cafe, Kids World and Siam Adventure Club entertainment venues are all located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your DusitD2 Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Courtyard Patong
DusitD2 Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DusitD2 Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.