We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central located hotel. A nice place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amata Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Amata Resort to your Saves list
Amata Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   189/29 Rat-U-Thit Songroi Pi Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Central located hotel. A nice place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at Amata Resort for 5 days. It is only a 5-10min walk to Bangla Rd & Jungceylon Shopping Centre. The building is located down a driveway off the Rat-U-Thit Rd so I didn't notice much noise. There is a large pool with pool bar that looked ok. Plenty of families and kids were using it throughout my stay. The lobby was quite large with ample seating. Check-in took a little longer than usual but I wasn't aware of any problems. They have 2 lifts which are quite small and slow.

The rooms are quite reasonable and clean. My room came with the usual TV & Minibar. The room also comes with 2 glass bottles of water (Free). The empty bottles are collected, washed, refilled and recapped each day. If you discard or break the glass bottles, there is a charge.

The power and air conditioning only works when the room key is inserted into the slot. This means you can't use the power to recharge phones/cameras etc unless you are in the room.

The only issue I had with the room is the bathroom. There is a shower above the bathtub and main problem is tiling around the bathtub means any runoff water pools on the bathroom floor. The tiles used on the floor are quite slick making it slippery as ice. I spoke to another guest in the hotel and he had the same problem in his bathroom.

My room came with breakfast included in the price. It was ok. A buffet style with toast, cereal, fresh fruit, bacon, ham, sausage, noodles plus a few more things I can't remember. There is also a cook there to make you an omelette/scrambled eggs on the spot - it was great. Tea & Coffee were fine too but they didn't have any fruit juice - it was more like a cordial and tasted terrible. I think they charge 200-250 baht for breakfast if it's not included in your room price.

Staff seemed friendly but I didn't really talk to them much. The rooms are serviced daily with fresh towels too.

Overall it is a decent place to stay that isn't too expensive if you find deals through hotel websites. I wouldn't pay more than ~$90 USD/night.
It is close to the shops & bars, off the main road so noise is reduced, clean and comfortable.
It is probably a 3-star place by todays standards.

Room Tip: Try and book the room that includes breakfast in the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    171
    76
    28
    28
See reviews for
54
120
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel as decent location,with both shopping mall and Bangla street at a walking distance... but seems to be bit over priced, we have better option across street.
Wifi didn't work and hotel doesn't give feeling of resort.
It does have a nice pool

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The only reason this place is classed as a three star is because it doesn't have facilities like a tennis court, gym etc. Other wise it would be classed as a five star resort. Perfect location, right in the middle where all the action is. Close to bangla road for the night life, close to the shopping centre juncaylon junction. Service was excellent very friendly and helpful. The beds were a bit hard but it was fixed straight away. Two nice swimming pools. Rooms are decent sized rooms with nice balcony. Restaurant food was perfect and cheap. I recommend to get the breakfast buffet included in your stay as the breakfast was lovely. Aircon was good. Safe is good. The rooms have doorbells and if you put the do not disturb sign on the room no one can disturb you. The Beach is a ten minute walk.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

WE HAVE JUST STAYED AT THE AMATA RESORT FOr 11 NIGHTS.when we checked in we were given two standard rooms which we had booked in one of the rooms the aircon was not working correctlythen went to the manager anna who upgraded us to deluxe rooms.the rooms are cleaned everyday.the staff are fantastic.close to everything not much noise .we will stay at the amata again.

Room Tip: try to book a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Apart from them stuffing up the request to have one double bed instead of two single beds, everything else was very good. Room had air conditioning, clean toilets, clean sheets and a safe place to store your valuables. Service to the room was quick and the staff were friendly. Check in was very fast. Location was smack bang in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent in Amata Resort 17 nights. Check in was really fast and comfortable. Room was clean, towels etc. were changing. Breakfast is fine (only if you are more nights, the food is mostly the same). Hotel has 2 swimming pools, one is on the roof and the second is by the entrance. Wifi connection was OK, in a room, by pool. I don´t like one thing: staff. I don´t know, if they can´t smile and be "thai", the worse staff was by the pool in a bar.. It´s detail, but Thailand is very nice country because of the people, nature, history etc. From Amata Resort´s staff "you don´t feel Thailand".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This resort is located conveniently close to night life, restaurants Italian, Egyptian, Thai, English; as well as shopping centres; the closest beach is 10 minutes walk away, but for 200Baht you can ride a Tuck Tuck Taxi to a much quieter beach (Phuket Graceland). There you will be looked after by a wonderful bunch of beach lads.
Now for the Resort itself, we found it quiet as it is well off the main road. It is not 5 star but very good 4 star. The resort is split into 3 building forming a horse shoe shape. We were located in the main building where the restaurant and reception is housed. Our room, with private balcony, overlooking the pool was very clean and very well looked after by the staff. The staff are young, friendly and helpful to ensure your stay at the Amata is a memorable one.
The breakfast menu caters for various international tastes and the lunch and diner menu is varied too, but do try the local restaurants for ease of budget.
Use the travel agencies, by the resort, they have a variety of suggestions for you and will offer you some very good deals.
One word of warning - avoid using motorcycle taxis, touting for business around hotels and resorts; some are not insured. Enjoy your holiday and avoid, for the sake of a cheap ride, the use of a scam which may put your life in danger and spoil an enjoyable and perfect holiday for you and your family.....

Room Tip: Once you have viewed your room, do speak to the reception staff if you are not happy as they will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Resort

Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit Songroi Pi Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#34 Family Hotel in Patong
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amata Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the famous Patong area, which is home to many tourist-frequented attractions, Amata Resort offers privacy and authentic tropical experiences to its visitors. Aside from a wide variety of recreational opportunities, our guests can enjoy panoramic sea vista within walking distance. At Amata Resort, be relaxed and enchanted by the natural charms of the world’s prestigious resort island on the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amata Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amata Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.