We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in The Centre of the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amata Resort

Save Saved
You added Amata Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amata Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   189/29 Rat-U-Thit Songroi Pi Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 273 hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in The Centre of the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is great, clean, comfy and right in the middle of everything you need in Patong. Downstairs there is laundry and a convenience store as well as a fantastic tailor David John Collection. I had business shirts made here and there are excellent quality and being just down stairs its extra convenient to get to for fittings. The downstairs pool is a little small better for families. The rooftop pool is large and offers 270 degree veiws of Patong and the ocean. The staff are fantastic and very helpful. The hotel is around a 5 - 10 minute walk to Bangla RD and 10-15 walk to the beach. Bars and restaurants are a stones thorw from the hotel. Room service and restaurant closes a bit early but avoid the extra tax and walk down the road. Junceylon Mall is a 5 minute walk from the hotel . We paid $27 for the room and its fantastic value for money. If you are in the new building in a standard room try to get on the 6th floor towards the road or the 7th or 8th floors. These have ocean veiws anything lower is a building wall. They were very accomadating to us rolling in at 3am blind drunk and always checked if we were ok. They will greet you in the morning and check to see if you need a taxi or any help with tours. Check in was easy and quick. The rooms are a good size and have everything you need. The bathrooms are a bit of an odd design with shower water going everywhere but if you close the curtain before you start the water it is fine. The beds are very hard but I have found this is common in Thailand. Over all thsi hotel is fantastic if you want good value and dont need the 5 star treatment. Going in expecting this you will be disapointed. In Australia this would easliy be a $150 and night room on the Gold Coast. Liked everything about it.

Room Tip: See above in reveiw regarding floors and the veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    143
    69
    27
    25
See reviews for
47
101
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it is indeed a good location close to everything in Patong.
Our room was located pool side, with a small balcony with chairs (you could actually just step into the pool from your balcony).
During our stay there was no internet. When we went to ask they said it was an 'engineering' problem and that it couldn't be fixed but that they were trying. In the 24h we were staying, we never saw it fixed.
The room itself was nice, good bathroom, nice room (not big, but good enough).
We did have a lot of noise from other rooms in the hallway during the night (since you are in the middle of Patong), so little sleep was possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The sound of drilling and banging seems to be following me on this Thailand trip . Amata has been a participant too!
Construction noises awake us early in the morning !

This hotel has major Internet issues that result in none for almost 24 hours .

The rooms are not 22 Sqm as advertised but perhaps 16 . Tiny !!!! A view into another persons window very attractive indeed !

But thank god for a clean bathroom ! Shower curtains don't provide ample coverage to prevent the rest of the bathroom floor from pooling water .

Pool closes at 8 pm ! Annoying !

The only saving grace about this hotel is its location ! Otherwise nothing to get too excited about !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After read all the review from here,finally i trust their view then i booked 3 night in Amata resort..is true, no regret ..clean/express housekeeping /fast check in,internet free over all your room even got free 2 pc's for you to surf at lobby.I stay in new wing Breakfast is good but almost same we ate for 3days.below the hotel there are a massage shop.highly recommended as they charge reasonable(200bath for foot reflex) surrounding there are shops/bangla street and 7 eleven within walk..overall my family is very happy and would stay there again if we visit phuket next year.

Room Tip: take new wing is a new building,good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a room facing away from the pool. Having known you can ask for one facing the pool I would have, room same but much better balcony with chairs and table.

Great location, near mall, markets, restaurants and big bar street. Close to beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Relatively inexpensive hotel in a perfect location. This hotel is on the main road in Pathong and is walking distance to Bangla road (party strip) and pathong beach. For the price I paid I'am very happy. Bear in mind that the hotel has two separate buildings, and although the room rates are the same at both (were when I travelled) the newer building is more pleasant to live in, while the older building where I stayed had dated furniture and was pretty worn down. Overall I would return but would prefer to stay on the newer side.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the newer building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the Amata Resort in Phuket, great location, 3 minutes walk to street and shops. Lovely room, but when you book you need to ask for a room with a view of the swimming pool otherwise a view of the peoples washing on the otherside was not that good. Great staff very happy to assist in anyway, they had internet free access but this was very slow at times. Pool area beautiful with access to a bar for drinks and you could also order food. They did not have tea and coffee in rooms but that did not worry me as I do not like the milk there. Overall great place and would be happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Dont forget to ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Resort

Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit Songroi Pi Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amata Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the famous Patong area, which is home to many tourist-frequented attractions, Amata Resort offers privacy and authentic tropical experiences to its visitors. Aside from a wide variety of recreational opportunities, our guests can enjoy panoramic sea vista within walking distance. At Amata Resort, be relaxed and enchanted by the natural charms of the world’s prestigious resort island on the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amata Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amata Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.