We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mermaid Resort to your Saves list
The Mermaid Resort
19/10 Raj-u-thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Keep Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The hotel amenities are okay, except for the poor lighting in dark and dingy rooms. We were also surprised by the lack of maintenance which necessitated a staff member coming into our room on arrival and repairing light plugs and fittings. This person complained of the poor quality of the previous maintenance staff person who, he said, had been incompetent. The location is in one of the seediest areas of Patong Beach. Our stay was also marred by the number of parasites trying to sell time-share properties to anyone who stayed there, and to those who had been enticed from the street to listen to their sales pitch. These people had access to the hotel booking records (without our authority), and occupied the restaurant, and other parts of the hotel (which we believed should have been solely for guest use) for almost the entire day. Written instructions in the room also warned us not to put toilet paper in the toilet. What else is it for? The beach, which was correctly described as 5 minutes walk from the hotel, could best be described as filthy, covered with litter, and occupied by almost the whole of the population of Europe. We had intended to stay for 7 nights, but shifted out after 3.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

If your looking for a place where high pressure pomme salesman want to jam time share up your skirt, then this is the place for you. I was thrown out of this hotel because I wouldn't submit to their scam tactics. The hotel itself is fine, but when I go on holidays i'm not looking to be pressured into time share every time I walk through the foyer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed here in January this year and we have to say the place is really really good,
The staff are helpfull and organised anything we needed upon request with lots of genuineness and honestly,
Life is the Owner and he is a larger than life charector friendly and has a young family, he will be found discreetly checking all is well without too much notice,
the resort is situated in what we found to be a perfect setting not too close to the madness and not too far so the best of both worlds,
the beach is a short nice walk away and bars are literally on your doorstep as well as restaurants and shops,the food served in the resort is very good they have a chef resident and she is a superb cook,

all in all we would give this place 5 stars out of 5 and we would seriously consider returning again some day-

Terry Quinn and Kirsty Urwin

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

We stayed in the Mermaid for two nights whilst in Phuket. The resort was nice and clean, the rooms were very large and the bathroom was one of the best we had seen. The resort is located just outside the centre of Patong Beach which made it nice and quiet. The pool was nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful! Whilst the beach was nice we did not like the area of Patong beach in general, far too many sleazy bars!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Very goood place... Feel like visiting family... They arrange birthday for the small kid, with cake. And help us with everything we ask for. And you are close to the staff, all the way. You get thing, you cant buy for money!!!
And that is service and hospitality...
GREAT PLACE..
We will return

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Okay, but some problems with the pool bar peoples, drunk and noisy, shafted up at 2 AM in the night. Slept a few hours before departure to airport!

This is a wonderful place to stay with a large bedroom and a large bathroom, swimming pool, Jacuzzi and mountain view.

Poor breakfast, Coffee or Tea with bread, jam, egg, sausages and Juice, not a breakfast buffet as we were told!!

Will definitely stay here again but without any breakfast...

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in the mermaid resort in a very large bedroom which provided towels & toiletries, had hot water in a large bathroom, minibar, safe, cable tv. Our room looked down onto the pool which was a decent enough size with plenty of sunloungers round it, there was also a jacuzzi but I think you had to pay to use it but I presume if you did this it would be to yourself.

The hotel was set back off the typical busy roads of Phuket & was nice & quiet though you could hear a call to prayer at about 4am which would possibly wake lighter sleepers.

There were loads of bars & restaurants nearby, it was about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach or about a 15 minute walk to the main strip of 'action' or whatever you want to call it where the town is at it's livliest with all its most colourful people out in force.

The air conditioning was centralised though with individual room controls, we found it took alot longer than other places we'd stayed to cool the room down.

Breakfast was included in the price but we never ate either day.

If we went back to Phuket (which I doubt we would) we would go back to the mermaid definately.

  • Liked — location, quiet, attractive
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mermaid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Resort

Address: 19/10 Raj-u-thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mermaid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mermaid Hotel Patong
Mermaid Hotel Patong
The Mermaid Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.