We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something fancy for a change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Rim Pa

Baan Rim Pa
223 Prabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 340 789
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 404 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $0 - $150
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Baan Rim Pa has celebrated 25 years in business. Not many restaurants can continue to win awards year after year. It is one of Phuket's most famous restaurants. The location is spectacular with panoramic sea views. Open from midday right through until late evening 7 days per week. Offering exceptional Thai cuisine, piano bar with romantic atmosphere. Special for all occasions.
KL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Something fancy for a change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was told that this was the best restaurant in Phuket. Definitely a great place to visit as the restaurant sits on a cliff and overlooks the sea. Apparently the sunset view is beautiful but unfortunately for us, it was a very cloudy day on the day we dined, so we didn't have the opportunity to see the sun set. We made sure to have reservations the night before because this restaurant runs full almost every night. Food wise, it was pretty great. Loved the duck curry with lychee although I would probably go to the local restaurants for my dose of seafood. We brought our own bottle of wine and was charged 500bht for corkage. Food serving might be a bit too small if you are dining as a group but for our family of 5, it was just nice. It's a nice place to end your evening after spending the day out. Dress up and soak in the ambience of this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuePhuket, Manager at Baan Rim Pa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
When you are on holidays it is always nice to try all different types of venues. We are pleased you came to Baan Rim Pa and enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    238
    128
    74
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“A Thai banquet by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate with a large group of friends here (12+) and had a set meal, with a few exchanges for preferred dishes.
The staff were very happy to comply with our preferences despite it being a busy Saturday night and the service was friendly and prompt.
The food was excellent but the real selling point of this restaurant is the location - set high on the cliffs over the sea, the night time breeze and the lights from the fishing boats really set the scene.
Good value for the quality of food and a great wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing view @ hotel prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This Thai restaurant has been around forever. I remember coming for dinner here over 15 years ago! We still enjoyed our experience here. All the dishes we ordered were great. Kids especially enjoyed the deep fried spring rolls. Amazing view of the sea and the beach. Good service. Prices were on the steep side but I guess this restaurant is catered for tourists.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuePhuket, Manager at Baan Rim Pa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting Baan Rim Pa. Our team are pleased your family enjoyed dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Upmarket Thai Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This Thai restaurant is busy and popular. Restaurant has good Thai ambience and service staff in traditional Thai costume. Location very good, overlooking the sea.

The restaurant has a good range of Thai food selection, good cocktail bar, and extensive wine list. A bottle of wine, appetizers, two mains for 2 adults and 1 child will cost you approximately Thai Baht 6,000 (£137). The mixed appetizers, fried fish with galangal and coconut sauce, and chicken in pandan leaves are very good. Staff attentive, service good.

Whilst the food complemented by the location and ambience of the restaurant is very good, as Thai food is generally good in Phuket, guests can enjoy similar quality Thai food for a fraction of this price in any Thai restaurants.

Attire: Smart casual. Credit cards accepted. Reservation required.

Tip: If dining for two, the table by the veranda overlooking the sea will be ideal for a bit of privacy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuePhuket, Manager at Baan Rim Pa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Onbarefeet. Thank you for visiting Baan Rim Pa. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and also that you enjoyed dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food was great, authentic. Nicely presented. The restaurant setting was beautiful, the view fantastic, on the water front. The service on the evening did not lift up to my expectations. Service attendance and quality were not on the same level as the kitchen.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuePhuket, Manager at Baan Rim Pa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting Baan Rim Pa. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.We take all comments seriously, so thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Rim Pa also viewed

 

Been to Baan Rim Pa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Rim Pa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.