We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Downstairs

Joe's Downstairs
223 / 3 Prabaramee Road | Kalim, North Patong, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
076-618-245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 421 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Californian, International, Contemporary, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Multi-Award winning Joe's Downstairs is well known as "The" place to dine on the west coast of Phuket. Serving an ecclectic mix of only the freshest ingredients availble, 2008/2010 Thailand Chef of The Year Aaron Hooper's menu is well regarded as one of the finest on the island. One of Phuket's most stunning restaurants Joe's Downstairs is located right on the sea with breathtaking views of Kalim Bay and Patong Bay. This backdrop, combined with the all white interior and terrazzo bar make Joe's a great Phuket restaurant to meet friends for drinks, a Wine Spectator award winning wine list, an extensive tapas menu, and exquisitely prepared main courses ranging all the way from The Famous Joe's Burger to Live Maine Lobster.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Can honestly say that this hotels atmosphere, food & views are the best ever. We thoroughly enjoyed our night at Joe's Downstairs. Will definately return when in Phuket again.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    116
    49
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Thank you Tripadvisor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We wanted somewhere to eat so chose to review findings on TA to find somewhere new. Reading about various places and finding The Whitebox shut due to changes in planning laws in Phuket we opted for Joes. Signature cocktail was Lychee Martini, and well deserved, best on I have had on this visit through Asia. Great setting, right by the sea with waves crashing on to rocks, all uplit too. Tapas menu sampled first, and very good too, right portions, good quality satay, calamari and wings. Despite the specialities being fish and steak we opted for the chicken tacos, which was a mistake. They were OK, Taco Bell does them better though! Desserts were great too, apple pie and choc espresso pot tasted. Great wine selection, very reasonable priced with a 2005 Allegrini Amarone for USD 200 (remember where we are), and a decent selection of Grappa to round off a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pricey food but comes with great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Visited for a light dinner or for some drinks & snacks. Great view of the waves coming up to the rocky shore especially at night when the flood lights are on. The restaurant it self plays some suiting tunes to go for the occasion. Service is great. But food/tapas prices were pretty steep.
one of the highlighted tapas served on the day was like an oriental noodle cooked with garlic oil, shallots & crab meat which was a dish I felt overrated & overpriced !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lychee Martini”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The lychee martini was delicious and in my books a must try! The food on offer is varied. I had the burger and although it was delicious the fries tasted of old oil and I left them aside. This place has a comfy atmosphere with open air windows overlooking the rocky beach but note, this place is very expensive and sadly for me the staff let the place down. A little training might help here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Connell, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great service - variety and deliciously light tapas. Perfect for the Thai weather. Great views. Very relaxing atmosphere. If Only with there was something like this in Sydney. Su is a wonderful host along with her wonderfully trained staff. Worth the $$. I would eat there every nice. Great cocktails. Very memorable visit - twice during my recent holiday!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Downstairs also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Downstairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Downstairs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.