We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Downstairs

Joe's Downstairs
223 / 3 Prabaramee Road | Kalim, North Patong, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
076-618-245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 382 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Tapas, Contemporary, International, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Multi-Award winning Joe's Downstairs is well known as "The" place to dine on the west coast of Phuket. Serving an ecclectic mix of only the freshest ingredients availble, 2008/2010 Thailand Chef of The Year Aaron Hooper's menu is well regarded as one of the finest on the island. One of Phuket's most stunning restaurants Joe's Downstairs is located right on the sea with breathtaking views of Kalim Bay and Patong Bay. This backdrop, combined with the all white interior and terrazzo bar make Joe's a great Phuket restaurant to meet friends for drinks, a Wine Spectator award winning wine list, an extensive tapas menu, and exquisitely prepared main courses ranging all the way from The Famous Joe's Burger to Live Maine Lobster.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Delightful way to spend our one year wedding anniversary. We opted for cocktails instead of wine and these were well made (one of the best Long Island iced teas that I have had!) We chose 5 of the tapas plates for entree, Chargrilled Tandoori Chicken Skewers with squeeze of Fresh Lime; Vietnamese Fresh Noodle Rolls with Prawns, Fresh Mango, Cucumber and Red Bell Pepper; Grilled Certified Wagyu Beef 'Yakitori' with Sesame Eggplant; Joe's Spicy Chicken Wings with Lime / Mango Dipping Sauce; and White Snapper & Leek Tempura Rolls with Citrus Soy Syrup. All were brilliant but the Snapper was a stand out for me whilst Kylie was enthusiastic about the noodle rolls. Kylie loved here Ceasar Salad for main and I loved the Joe's Famous Burger. No room for dessert!

Manager came and checked that we were happy with our meals and we assured him that we were.

View and ambience was great and we topped the night off with a walk back to our hotel along the beach (and a late night swim in the pool!)

We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    97
    44
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hallett Cove
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everyone knows it's good to eat in Thailand: Celebrating a family birthday at "Joe's Downstairs" was great. Remote organisation of the occasion from Australia, for 20 plus people, was a bit a bit trying - but once face-to-face with management, in location, the plan became reality.
Everything about Joe's is clean and fresh from smartly dressed and efficient waiting staff to the great décor and the natural views of the Andaman sea as a backdrop. The food - stunning, best fish I have had anywhere and all who had the duck resounded similar praise. The serves, with salad, were reasonable, cooked to perfection, well plated and at the right temperature.
I'm sure the desserts were just as amazing but entrée and main sufficed. Though expensive (not unlike anywhere else in Thailand) the wines were excellent and the all important beers were "cold". Thanks to management and staff for an excellent celebration. Did I mention the fireworks - stunning show!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must GO when in Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Joes downstairs is amazing ! We go every time we are in Phuket and have been going since its opening, it is part of and next to Baa Rim Paa which is also amazing. joes is a lot more relaxing which is great, they serve Tapas meals and the best Cocktails in Phuket which is mouth watering. Joes has a perfect sea view that is so relaxing in a beautiful white clean atmosphere, we are returning again in November to celebrate our sons 21st Birthday ! If you stay at the Novotel you can just walk across the road to it or just take a fun Tuk Tuk ride to Joes, you will not be disappointed and your holiday photos and experience will be unforgettable !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent from start to finish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you have to only pick 1 place to eat while in Phuket make it here!!! While the price was a bit steep, everything about this restaurant was awesome. The setting, the food and the service was first class. When you walk down the stairs to the restaurant everything seems so white, crisp and clean, the view looking out to the sunset, fantastic. We chose to share tapas type meals and we werent disappointed. Cooked beautifully and the taste was exquisite, the attention to detail was second to none. The service was attentive but not intrusive. When the bill arrived, after all the wonderful food, service and view was on par with what we would pay for similar in Melbourne. Simply awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic view with nice cocktail in hand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The scene is amazing nice and clean with quality cocktail abit pricey but really worth it. Good to watch sunset before get ready to dinner at Baan Rim Pa next door.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Downstairs also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Downstairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Downstairs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.