We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip... looking forward to my third” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Breeze Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Breeze Hotel to your Saves list
Summer Breeze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   171 / 12 Soi San Sabai, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 349 Patong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second trip... looking forward to my third”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was my second stay at the Summer Breeze and it did not disappoint. I stayed for just over three weeks this time (July/August 2012) and felt very sorry to leave.
The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of the large Jung Ceylon shopping mall and also the Bangla Road nightlife.
However, the friendly and attentive staff meant I stayed in many nights. The food is very good, offering a mixture of Thai and Western cuisine.
A special thank you to the owner, Bill, who was always available to offer useful advice and to the bar staff who kept me company during my stay.
Looking forward to returning in 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and ask for a lower floor room as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    21
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
19
77
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed in two different rooms, a superior and a junior suite. The superior was 33 dollars US and the junior suite was 40 dollars. I write this for the novice traveler to Phuket, as if you are seasoned, likely you don’t need my advice. Patong is a place that should be on ever man’s bucket list. If you have a pulse and a wallet, you have to go. If you have never been to Asia or Thailand, Summer Breeze is a great starting point.

Summer Breeze is located on Soi Sansabai, basically a small street off the main road. It is about a block to all the action and night life without itself being too loud or busy. You have Bangla road to the west and if you are gay, Paradise Complex to the north – literally minutes away. Most guest houses or small hotels are similar. The ground floor is usually a bar, restaurant and lobby which is open day and night, maybe not the restaurant. Most of the these guest houses do not have elevators. But otherwise they are charming, have a local owner and staff.

Summer Breeze is owned by an American named Bill. You can usually find him in the morning hours in the lobby and he’ll be happy to talk to you or answer any questions. Need laundary done? It’s about $1.50/kg, and it will take maybe two hours. If you do it through the hotel they will put it in your room folded or hung. Need a taxi? It can be arranged. It might be cheaper to get a taxi down the street, but I enjoyed the security of having them arrange it and the driver was polite, the car was clean and pumping the A/C.
Want to do a side trip, rent a motor bike, looking for a legit massage or tailor? Bill will personally help you out.

The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and kind. You will not find geckos chirping about. Most of the staff speak English quite well. There is a terrific night watchman (his name escapes me), who will take care of things in the evening hours, and look out for your welfare. The Thai people are kind and if you respect them and show that respect, you will be repaid 100 fold. One night there was a power outage and while Summer Breeze did not have a back up generator, there were battery operated emergency lights on every floor, and the night watchman was alert with flashlights. Summer Breeze is a guest friendly hotel. If something seems amiss, the night watchman will call your room to make sure everything is okay.

I would definitely book at the Summer Breeze again. The prices are quite reasonable. For my preference, I would get a junior suite at the back of the house, as things can get quite noisy around 4am in the street when people start to leave Bangla. For some, this might not be a big deal. In fact, when I go back, I would probably just book for the entire duration, and take side trips. HKT has direct flights to Koh Samui, Penang and other destinations. You also have the option of leaving your major baggage securely with hotel staff if you are coming back. This is very nice.

Room Tip: lots of good restaurant choices nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've been coming to Phuket since 2000. This was my first time staying at this hotel and it was recommended by a friend. This is my last night here and I am actually sad to leave. Everything at this hotel is perfect. The room is great, super clean, the staff is exceptional, food is great, location is perfect and I will start staying here from now on. You can very much tell the owner cares about his establishment and has done an excellent job. The reviews aside from mine are spot on and I would encourage you to stay here first before anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, the hotel and staff where absolutely perfect. Located a two minute walk to the nightlife and local mall makes this a great place to stay. But with the staff you dont need to go out full of entertainment at the bar

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, the hotel and staff where absolutely perfect. The food served both western and local foods where excellent. Located a two minute walk to the nightlife and local mall makes this a great place to stay. But with the staff you dont need to go out full of entertainment at the bar. A special thanks to Bill the owner and the staff for a fantastic stay. Next time I am in Patong I will be definiately staying

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Best hotel in the world! Not the best rooms, but they are clean and the staff is probably some of the nicest people around. The bar is a great place to pre-game and the food is about as good as it gets!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Summer Breeze a few times now. I cannot say enough about how good the staff is here. It is reasonably priced, and I have never had a bad meal here. The bar always has a friendly atmosphere - even at 8 am :)

If you are looking for a hotel in Patong that is close to everything, then I recommed the Summer Breeze.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Breeze Hotel

Address: 171 / 12 Soi San Sabai, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 349 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Summer Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Breeze Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Breeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.