We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIPA RESORT-PHUKET : GOOD CHOICE FOR RELAXING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nipa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nipa Resort to your Saves list
Nipa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Sainamyen Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 285 Hotels in Patong
belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NIPA RESORT-PHUKET : GOOD CHOICE FOR RELAXING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

NIPA RESORT-PHUKET : GOOD CHOICE FOR RELAXING

I have been in “Nipa” several times since the Millennium, year 2000. When I visited it for first time, it was just a small family hotel called Nipa Villa. But later it became Nipa Resort with spacious rooms with balconies and direct access to big swimming pool suitable for adults and children. I visited Nipa Resort again in March 2014. Since last year there have been some construction works to make Nipa Resort larger and better. But these works will be finished in the next months and the hotel will have more rooms and better conditions. The owners’ family is very welcoming and kind. This hotel gives perfect opportunity for relaxing and spending nice time in Patong without to be disturbed by noisy Bangla Road. Its also few minutes walk to two of the biggest shopping centres / restaurants. Alason - March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
64
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1984
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were here for 2 weeks in jan.
What is good: clean, good air cond., nice elephants), towels aft the pool, fitness
What is bad (some of that can be improoved):
-building of apartemnts near by - all days are noisi, a lot of dust
-bad hot water - it's can desapear in 2 minutes and appear again within next 2 minutes. It is stressful.
-bad wi-fi, it is not stable and can't get simultaneously for more than 5 -8 devices
-no system when you can write costs for food and drinks in hotel on your room number . People have to go to exchenge every time (saw man who want to by water and 5 batt wasn't enough, he have to go to exchange)
-breakfasts are poore, eggs fried good only each 3 rd breakfast.
- balcony of rooms 210, 212, 214 in the front of wall, 216 > looks on the garbage yard (awful)

And don't forget that it is on 3 rd line - 10 -15 minutes to beach through town.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The only downer from our just concluded Phuket trip was Nipa Resort, where we stayed for 4 days, till June 1 2013. The room view was terrible, opened into some industrial shed/dump with undergrowth. Huge problem with mosquitoes. Hotel exhaust / or AC chute went past our balcony, thereby making it very noisy. Breakfast was an apology, not worth talking about. They couldn't even offer an omelet as they didn't have an egg beater. Renovation happening both in the hotel and on the road, which was terrible....dust and noise. Spa was closed. Staff knew a smattering of English, which didn't help. Room upgrade was not offered, even though there were less than 6 guests at the hotel. I gave my written feedback, which i am pretty sure the management will never get to see.

Room Tip: Book in hi-season, insist on a deluxe-swimming pool room, if one wants to stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Not the prettiest building from outside, the Nipa Resort was very well presented inside and offered pretty good value for money. Location is close enough to Patong beach and facilities to easily walk there. The pool is great, and the staff are friendly and helpful (some limited English, but the message gets through).

The biggest drawback is the currently unmade road at the front and with the slightest rain, it be becomes a quagmire very quickly. While this is temporary, there isn't any work going on at the moment, so I assume it will be like that for some months. Thank goodness it only rained sporadically through my week. It would have become an issue in the rainy season.

Yes, the hotel clientele is heavily Russian and, to a lesser degree, Chinese. But hey, it's international travel, so if you embrace the fact that we can all have holidays, that shouldn't pose a problem.

Don't waste your money on a superior room. For about $5 more per night, you can get a Deluxe - I ordered a superior by accident on-line and, when i saw it, immediately chose to pay over the odds for an upgrade. Deluxe pool view is the way to go - Deluxe non-view does not offer anything pleasant to see.

Breakfast is disappointing, but edible. Wifi is limited to certain areas only and I difficulty connecting at times.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed stayed five nights at the Nipa Resort during a roundtrip to South-East Asia in December 2012. Unfortunately I was disappointed, both with the hotel and Patong Beach in general.

We got a small and dark room with a balcony facing a concrete wall. The bed was not very comfortable. The was no wi-fi in the room, so we had to go to the reception area to get internet connection.

The reception staff were very friendly and service-minded, even though they spoke English badly.

Most of the other guests were Russians.

The best feature of the hotel is probably the nice pool area.

I don’t think I will ever go back to Nipa Resort - or Patong Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Set back a little bit away from the beach and the on going road works outside of the hotel made it a bit dusty when you went out.
Room was ok although looking a bit worn and tired, nothing special but it was adequate.
Front desk staff and doormen were all helpful and attentive.
Buffet breakfast while it was included in our room rate was pretty ordinary and just so so.

Room Tip: We found that late at night the swimming pool guest were noisy, best get a room not overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had a very good experience at Nipa Resort. Our room was spacious with a sliding door access to the pool, and because it was situated near the reception we had wifi internet access which was a bonus! The pool is awesome - definitely the hotel's best feature. Nipa is in a convenient location in Patong and a short walk (5-10min) to Bangla Rd, mall, market, beach etc. The staff were quite friendly and helpful although there is one guy at the reception that could do with an attitude adjustment (very arrogant).

Nipa is not perfect of course, and here are a couple of improvements they could make:

1) The aircon in our room was quite clunky and noisy although it did the job. These aircons get used non-stop so perhaps more regular servicing will help.

2) The crockery and glassware in the dining room smell of egg!!! I totally hate this. Please Nipa, sort this out and use a good industrial dishwasher.

We would go back and can recommend this hotel based on our experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipa Resort

Address: 33 Sainamyen Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nipa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nipa Hotel Patong
Nipa Hotel Kathu
Nipa Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nipa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.