We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Nipa Resort, Patong” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nipa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nipa Resort to your Saves list
Nipa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Sainamyen Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 274 Hotels in Patong
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay at Nipa Resort, Patong”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The only downer from our just concluded Phuket trip was Nipa Resort, where we stayed for 4 days, till June 1 2013. The room view was terrible, opened into some industrial shed/dump with undergrowth. Huge problem with mosquitoes. Hotel exhaust / or AC chute went past our balcony, thereby making it very noisy. Breakfast was an apology, not worth talking about. They couldn't even offer an omelet as they didn't have an egg beater. Renovation happening both in the hotel and on the road, which was terrible....dust and noise. Spa was closed. Staff knew a smattering of English, which didn't help. Room upgrade was not offered, even though there were less than 6 guests at the hotel. I gave my written feedback, which i am pretty sure the management will never get to see.

Room Tip: Book in hi-season, insist on a deluxe-swimming pool room, if one wants to stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    59
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Not the prettiest building from outside, the Nipa Resort was very well presented inside and offered pretty good value for money. Location is close enough to Patong beach and facilities to easily walk there. The pool is great, and the staff are friendly and helpful (some limited English, but the message gets through).

The biggest drawback is the currently unmade road at the front and with the slightest rain, it be becomes a quagmire very quickly. While this is temporary, there isn't any work going on at the moment, so I assume it will be like that for some months. Thank goodness it only rained sporadically through my week. It would have become an issue in the rainy season.

Yes, the hotel clientele is heavily Russian and, to a lesser degree, Chinese. But hey, it's international travel, so if you embrace the fact that we can all have holidays, that shouldn't pose a problem.

Don't waste your money on a superior room. For about $5 more per night, you can get a Deluxe - I ordered a superior by accident on-line and, when i saw it, immediately chose to pay over the odds for an upgrade. Deluxe pool view is the way to go - Deluxe non-view does not offer anything pleasant to see.

Breakfast is disappointing, but edible. Wifi is limited to certain areas only and I difficulty connecting at times.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed stayed five nights at the Nipa Resort during a roundtrip to South-East Asia in December 2012. Unfortunately I was disappointed, both with the hotel and Patong Beach in general.

We got a small and dark room with a balcony facing a concrete wall. The bed was not very comfortable. The was no wi-fi in the room, so we had to go to the reception area to get internet connection.

The reception staff were very friendly and service-minded, even though they spoke English badly.

Most of the other guests were Russians.

The best feature of the hotel is probably the nice pool area.

I don’t think I will ever go back to Nipa Resort - or Patong Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Set back a little bit away from the beach and the on going road works outside of the hotel made it a bit dusty when you went out.
Room was ok although looking a bit worn and tired, nothing special but it was adequate.
Front desk staff and doormen were all helpful and attentive.
Buffet breakfast while it was included in our room rate was pretty ordinary and just so so.

Room Tip: We found that late at night the swimming pool guest were noisy, best get a room not overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had a very good experience at Nipa Resort. Our room was spacious with a sliding door access to the pool, and because it was situated near the reception we had wifi internet access which was a bonus! The pool is awesome - definitely the hotel's best feature. Nipa is in a convenient location in Patong and a short walk (5-10min) to Bangla Rd, mall, market, beach etc. The staff were quite friendly and helpful although there is one guy at the reception that could do with an attitude adjustment (very arrogant).

Nipa is not perfect of course, and here are a couple of improvements they could make:

1) The aircon in our room was quite clunky and noisy although it did the job. These aircons get used non-stop so perhaps more regular servicing will help.

2) The crockery and glassware in the dining room smell of egg!!! I totally hate this. Please Nipa, sort this out and use a good industrial dishwasher.

We would go back and can recommend this hotel based on our experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel should certainly be avoided. The hotel staff are the rudest I have come across in asia, are completley disinterested and didnt crack a smile once during the entire stay. Often good customer service can excuse a small room and a few room issues, but given this place has severe room issues and bad staff to boot and bad location, this hotel is just a bad holiday experience.
The rooms are very small, bathrooms flood and are very cramped, and rooms that have the private plunge pool are more expensive and PITCH BLACK because they face a wall so high no sun gets in, and there are harly any lights in the room, making for a dark miserbale hotel room looking at a wall.
Staff only provide on key per room despite 2 people paying and staying, and with issues such as broken bulbs (we had 2 in our pitch black room), our bathroom flooding etc, we were met with a grunt and barely even spoken to.
Upon requesting asssiatnce with a cab to the airport to go home, as phuket has no metered taxis, we were told its 650 baht that the final price (insert grunt) then told to go outside and find a better deal. The staff here are just awful and I would never return nor reccomend. For US$130 or so that I paid for a pool view room, i expected more (for $30 more, i stayed in Le Meredien in Bangkok which was nothing short of fantastic). I do NOT reccomend this hotel and it is nowehere near 4 star. The only redeeming quality is the hotel main pool which is quite good.

Room Tip: dont choose a swim up room - they face a wall. Choose a balcony room on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just got back from thailand, we were there for the New Year. Nipa Resort is not a bad hotel..but it also isnt really clean or accomodating. We had to switch rooms 3 times. Examples: Ants (not like 5 or 6), a hole in the wall, and the air con was being held up by paper, the bed left us crawling the next morning from muscle pain..thank god a million massage places..In all honesty if you wanna save a buck and stay at a place thats right in the center, but still have a little style this is the place for you. If your looing for a romantic, family or and expereicne where you are taken care of...this place is NOT for you. depends on how you like to travel. Also when booking they have a new wing and an old wing...I highly advise the new one....

Room Tip: choose the NEW side!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipa Resort

Address: 33 Sainamyen Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 274 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nipa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nipa Hotel Patong
Nipa Hotel Kathu
Nipa Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nipa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.