We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget friendly resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nipa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nipa Resort to your Saves list
Nipa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Sainamyen Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“budget friendly resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

charming resort with good price and near the entertaing district bangla street in Phuket. Just a walkable distance to Patong Beach and Bangla road and shopping and lots of spa and massage facility. Very big swimmingpool which you can jump direct from your room balcony.
The hotel personal is very friendly and take very good care of all guest.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

an open sewer runs in front of the hotel even during the day rats run around the gardens ,no path outside hotel straight onto a busy rd .breakfast is limited and cold ever seen a toaster that needs the bread to go through 6 times to make it go brown.first allocation of room next to staff entrance,staff walk past and lookin ,next to the sewer, rat run across patio,moved to room above noisy due to main rd and family shouting as a lean to house is built against the hotel third room next day after complaint room is what we asked for in the booking pool far to small for number of guests with nowhere near enough beds

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Stayed there 14-18/11/10 in deluxe pool access room as recommended by JC Tour Phuket in our holiday package. Pros: Friendly staff, the hotel and room exactly match the picture posted online, perfect housekeeping, and just 10-15 mins walk to nearby shopping places,

Cons: Breakfast served at the restaurant not so many choices and almost the same for the 4 days duration, no slipper provided in the room, walkway to the nearby shopping places not so safe due to narrow road and heavy traffic, and need to pay THB100 for 70mins internet connection

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We re-activated our tripadvisor account just to write a review on how bad this hotel is.

It was our anniversary and we did not receive any special treatment, upgrade, greetings etc that other hotels gave as a normal offering. We booked a standard room for 2950 baht. For the same price you can get a much nicer rooms elsewhere in Patong or even the rest of Phuket. The same room elsewhere in Patong probably cost 700 baht! It is in a very old building, with stains on the wall all along the dingy corridor.

The room also has stains all over the walls and very poor quality furniture. The bed and chairs make squeaky sounds, there are mosquitoes, and worst of all, there are mouse droppings on the bedside table. We have a maid room at home which is far more comfortable than this room.

With a pregnant wife, I cannot stay in this room but we had nowhere else to go. They wanted to charge us 1 night cancellation fee if we leave, or even charge us with the rate publised in their website (a whopping 4500 baht!) or we had to stay in the room with mouse droppings. In the end we were upgraded to the "deluxe" room, which was (slightly) better but still not that great considering the price.

All around the hotel there are signs telling customers to not bring foods, not take anything from the room because the hotel staff will have to pay for anything missing or removed. What we found extremely tacky was: drinks in the minibar were marked (with board markers which might be toxic) with the hotel initials. As responsible adults (and customers paying a very high price), we find this to be extremely patronising and unwelcoming.

Apart from smiling and apologising, staff at reception are not empowered to provide us with solutions, they have to phone the manager for literally everything. The whole place feels draconian and far from hospitable!

Breakfast was poor, there were not enough tables or food for everyone. Swimming pool is the only thing that looks good but we did not bother trying it. AC in the room is very loud and makes annoying humming sounds. Bathrooms are small and dark. Outside the hotel there is a river invested with mosquitoes (possibly where the mice come from). We have to cross a busy road to go to shops and the touristic areas. In the website, it says 3 minutes to Jungceylon shopping mall - this is misleading and only true by car (maybe at night when it is quiet), whilst most visitors walk around the town.

We moved to another hotel nearby with much much better facilities, rooms, price, location, breakfast and customer service. The new room we moved in was more than twice better and less than 2/3 of the price we paid at Nipa. There are many similar hotels nearby. Before moving, ALL the staff (reception, bellboy, etc) kept asking where we were going, making us wonder why they were so nosy and this is also very annoying.

Overall the hotel was very uncomfortable, unprofessionally managed and we feel it is our responsibility to share our experience to others about this hotel. We have stayed in many other hotels in Phuket, Thailand, and many other countries in the world and never experienced anything this bad and overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

if you are in phuket for the nightlife this hotel is about 15 mins brisk walk from main bangla road. the hotel as such is beautiful with a nice pool and a bar right nxt to the pool. the restaurant serves good quality food. the reception helps you with your site seeing trips and transport.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

In 2004, I have to cancel my holiday trip to Phuket due to Tsunami since then I always concerned about choosing a hotel to stay for my holiday. You may find the hotel is hidden but to me its not too near to the beach and wanna feel lil bit safe, Nipa Resort is the best choice; opposite to the Kahtu Hospital and Kathu Police Station is behind the Hotel. You must choose pool access room coz it's very privacy and nice room. Breakfast was ok and may need to improve by adding more variety. Good hospitality, clean, comfy and most important very affordable to all.

Easy to find muslim food and with motor bike you can easily go to hotz spot area patong beach, hardrock cafe, wathing cool life band, shopping and food. Dont forget to make a trip to Kata Beach and spend your day by getting lazy at the beach and enjoying the sun :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

great hotell staff very helpfull wonderfull pool lift to and from beach ten mins walk to all the night life and shopping but no noise at night can hire motorbikes. We stayed delux room had pool view very good breakfast lots of choice .Booked for 3 nights stayed for 5 .Will stay again when we come back Patong next year

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipa Resort

Address: 33 Sainamyen Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nipa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nipa Hotel Patong
Nipa Hotel Kathu
Nipa Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nipa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.