We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional And Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Villa

The Point Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Villa to your Saves list
The Point Villa
5/1 Panglonikhom Road, Mae Hong Son 58000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Functional And Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Family of three stayed for one night. Our intent was to find a clean, quiet hotel with just enough in the way of amenities to satisfy a one-stand night. The Point Villa provided just that. It is at the edge of town, well within walking distance of the restaurants and other attractions of Mae Hong Son, and isolated enough to be quiet. The room for three of us was large, clean and well air conditioned with a refrigerator, television, and free Wi-Fi that worked very well. Bathroom was large and modern enough although it lacked countertop space to put belongings down. Shower force was more than adequate as was the supply of hot water. Could sense the springs in the mattress but that didn't disrupt sleep. The breakfast, which included an offer to cook eggs to order, was not a buffet, but was adequate though unspectacular. Staff was uniformly helpful and anxious to please. The woman who greeted us on our arrival spoke very good English. No exercise room and no pool. This is principally a clean, quiet place to lay your head as you travel the Mae Hong Son region.

Room Tip: Please ignore the ratings for swimming pool and kids activities. The circles were filled in erroneou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived in Mae Hong Son during our Motobike trip in February 2013 without any reservation for a hotel. There are 2 very good resorts outside Mae Hong Son, but we don't want to travel in the night again. So we asked at a big petrol station in Mae Hong Son and got a recommendation for this hotel.....and we were absolutely satisfied. A very big and modern room, a very big and comfortable bed and a really big bathroom. We can park our motorbike within the Hotel-garden. The nightmarket is in walking distance, about 15min. Really nice and small market near the lake and the view to the temple in the night is great. Next day we had a fine breakfast in the hotel-garden to be fit for the next adventure.
So the Point Villa is an absolutely recommendable place with really friendly staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel. The family room is large, clean and full of light. It has all necessities included. The staff was nice to us. They even drove us to the airport. The internet was good.

The breakfast is a simple american breakfast – eggs, sausages, bread, jam, coffee, juice, water. The location isn’t the best – it is 10-15 minutes walk from the lake. No one cleaned our room on the second day (which is ok for us) and as a result we didn’t get any toilet paper or soap (which isn’t ok). The bed wasn’t comfortable. One of the aircons was noisy and spit out ice several times in the nights. Some roosters woke us up in the mornings. Average value for money (1660 baht per night in the middle November).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my second stay at the Point Villa. It is a bit off the tourist trail and outside the Mae Hong Son town center, but Mae Hong Son is pretty small and everything can be reached on foot. This time I stayed in their new wing on the far left side on the top floor. The room was ok, though the bathroom could be better. Bed quite squeeky. I must say that their downstairs room in the 'old' wing near the reception are much, much better - so ask for these. They are much bigger and have a jacuzzi style bath-tub. Breakfast simple but ok. Price also very reasonable. Very friendly staff. Wifi in the rooms and everywhere else in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Villa

Address: 5/1 Panglonikhom Road, Mae Hong Son 58000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Mae Hong Son
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mae Hong Son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Point Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.