We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, restaurant expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Krabi Sands Resort to your Saves list
Krabi Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   118 Moo 3, Klong Muang Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 159 Hotels in Krabi Town
cardiff
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, restaurant expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

I had tried to book the Krabi Sands in the past but the airport siege stopped us going so I was keen to go there this time. Klong Muang and the hotel were both as expected from info I'd seen online but it is pretty sparse so I hope my detail will be of help to others.
The area of Klong Muang is quiet with little to see except scenery, but we like that. We did discover the hard way that if you turn right out of the hotel there is very little to find except some scruffy local businesses and the vast Sofitel hotel. If you turn left there are a few bars and restaurants and a little further along a very small village. We only found that on the last day.
Same goes for the beach. Don't go to the right of the KS hotel turn left and walk along to beach where you will find 2 bars (one right on the sand called Little Jamaica) and further along a nice stretch of beach. The views from the beach across to the limestone stacks are gorgeous. We ventured up to Tubkaek beach (about 7 kms) because of its reputation but we were not impressed. It is indeed a nice beach with nice views but there are 3 hotels and that's it. Only worth perhaps an hour or so. I tried snorkelling but nothing of any interest and we were there for 4 hours. Klong Muang was just as good.
As for the hotel, Krabi Sands has nice rooms, is very quiet and the pool and gardens are lovely. Just hope there are no noisy guests. A group of Asians arrived on our last day and the peace was shattered. The other thing is that as with many Thai places the staff's children are allowed to use the pool. On our first full day we had to complain about a toddler shrieking and screaming first thing in the morning. This went on for about half an hour before we complained . The child was supervised but they don't keep them quiet! We'll put up with quite a lot but this was ridiculous and spoilt the relaxation for everyone.
The very attractive pool could be cleaner. It seemed that the algae attached to the tiles is not being successfully cleaned off although there is a pool cleaner around in the mornings - perhaps the filtration isn't good enough. Also the British owner appeared to be absent and it was noticeable as there was little management control. Worst thing was the dogs and cats in the restaurant. Their notes talk about experience in the catering trade yet the animals wandered around the restaurant scratching. They were quite smelly too. At least we didn't see the owner and it is a very small place. Wife and child was there though. Also must mention the sunbeds. They were bamboo and fitted in with the surrounds but only one of them had any adjustment so for those who like to sit up and read a bit uncomfortable.
The restaurant is across the road. We had no issue with that but it was quite expensive and had little charm or character. The beer was way overpriced. So after the first night we ate and drank directly next door for half the price. For example large bottle of Chang in the hotel was 150baht. In Jos's Kitchen next door it was 75baht. The food at Jos's was fine (you could say not as good as the hotel but it was half the price). The advantage was that Jos has very good English and is very flexible so you can tell him exactly what you want. His wife Jun(e) is a character. They occupy the back of a funny little complex of shop units. I think they run all of them obo others because they seemed to be the only people around. A bit odd but very 'local'!
A taxi down to Ao Nang from there was 400 bahts. Not too bad as it's a bit of a way (about 12-15 minute drive). I thought there was a coastal road and hoped for a tuk tuk but not practical because there is no coast road.
We enjoyed our couple of days as we were straight off the plane and just wanted to chill out but I wouldn't recommend it for more than a couple of nights.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tarto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Don´t take the managers word for getting their so called "deposit" back in case of cancellation.
I understand the regression is a serious problem but this is definately not the right way to make a living in Thailand!!!

Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the krabi sands resort, and at first it seemed to be ideally what we wanted, quite and peaceful, when we were showed our bungalow we were a bit unsure as we were put right down the far end of the resort also when left alone and looked over the room my husband had concerns about the locks on the windows but as we thought we were in a safe enough place left it. This is something that we should not have done as we were staying for 4 nights on our 3rd night we were broken into via the bathroom window, and some of our belongings stolen, this was done while we were in the room sleeping.
When if was reported to the receptionist in the morning she was very concerned and helpful and called the owner who was less than helpful and mentioned when he arrived "everytime.....windows.....doors" but this was directed at the receptionist and not us, which made us think that it had happended before.
He did nothing to help us, eventhough he is English himself, but left it all to the receptionist to deal with, who took us to the police.
On our return as we missed breakfast, if you can call it that, not much choice and not very nice either as you are not given all that is on the menu and i had to keep asking for toast eventhough it came as part of the set breakfast, he arrived and sat at the table behind us with 2 other english men, he not once came and asked if we were alright, if we had got on ok with the police, if there was anything he could do, NO he just ignored us completely.
I would not recommend this place at all, we were lucky to have
slept though it and that they found stuff to take, but what would have happened if either one of us had woken up or that we had been security concious and put everything in the safe, does not bear to mention.
PLEASE FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY STAY AWAY FROM KRABI SANDS!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Our bungalow was fine, pretty clean, fridge, strong air-con, and the resort itself is really good - swimming pool and an adjoining 'children's pool' you can sit in to cool down. The kids make some noise at times (but hey, isn't that what ipods are for - to drown the sound of others out!?); otherwise it's quiet and very relaxing. Would say it's better suited to families than childless couples, though a complete mix of types came and went during our two-week stay.

One thing: there are only so many sunbeds available poolside, and it's first to lay their towel down gets one, so ... they could improve things in that department. I did have a word ...

Resort has its own restaurant by the beach; its Thai cuisine is okay, but their attempts at continental food not so good - thus after a few days we were getting tired of eating the same things ... Yep: spoilt Westerners!

There is also a shop by the restaurant where you can stock up on water and treats at local prices cf those charged for your mini bar, and two ATMs right by, though they can 'play up' and fail to accept Visa etc ...

Otherwise: rest of area has suffered post-Tsunami, not so much in terms of not being clean (save Phi Phi - urrrgh!) but in lack of tourists, so other hotels / resorts we strolled by and through were almost empty ... you can find yourselves the only ones in a bar etc. FYI the Nakamanda hotel just up the road looks fabulous - but empty while we were there.

In search of life we went to Ao Nang and Krabi town itself - but not much there either, though at a dept store in the latter you could get a pair of proper Converse for <£10.

One local bar/restaurant we highly recommend: Mother Love, adjacent to Nakamanda, about 300m from KSR. Lovely people run that place ... food is great, and the Mother shakes a mean cocktail! According to my girlfriend, the Pina Colada is to die for ...

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We had a fourteen night stay at the krabi sands & throughly enjoyed the experience.
There are a number of negative comments posted on trip advisor about the resort & we found these to be unjustified.
Yes the resturant is on the opposite side of the road but it is a lovely location right on the edge of the beach & a wonderfull place dine with the waves lapping onto the sand.
The area is quiet but there are a number of quality resturants & bars ( The Beach House included ) only a short stroll away.
There are a number of comments about the bathroom floor getting wet when you use the shower. The bathrooms are are an asian wetroom design, yes the floor does get wet as you would expect in any wetroom but the design allows for the water to drain efficently.
We found the rooms to be very spacious & the huge super king size bed very comfortable.
The swimming pool is wonderfull and the surrounding gardens very well kept & looked after.
Car hire is relatively cheep.We hired a car for seven days & found that this gave us so much more freedom to explore, it was so much better than going on a organised trip, you can spend as little or as long time at any of the very many things to go and see.
Mark, Oay & there team of staff made our stay a very pleasent experience that we will be repeating again next year.

  • Liked — Good size clean accommodation
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, North Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

I have recently returned from a 7 week holiday at the Krabi Sands Resort. This is my 3rd long stay at The Krabi Sands Resort with Mark, Oay and staff.
The Hotel is family run and after a few days I again became part of the family.
I find the Hotel convenient for local restaurants, bars, shops and services. There is a good local bus service into Krabi Town and also Taxis at reasonable rates. This is a most enjoyable place to relax with the peace and quiet, while being only a little distance from the tourist areas.
I met several other guests who were also enjoying an extended break at the Krabi Sands Resort and all said that they were looking forward to another stay. I will be booking to go back yet again.

  • Liked — Rooms set around the pook over looking the National Park, air con, fridge, Sat TV, minibar!
  • Disliked — Loved it all.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

I booked this hotel based on the good reviews, we stayed there for 4 days/3nights, and really regretted. The location is far from AoNang so we decide to rent a car. I must said the restaurant food is awful expeacially their breakfast, mostly they serve the same food. Tastless food. and you have to walk across to the restaurant with a lot of truck, car passes by, a lot of dust. And every night we need to walk around 10minutes to others restaurant and not much choice. If you decide to give it a try, please rent a car. The room is clean, showeroom small, pool is nice. I wont reconmmend to anyone cause of the location and restaurant.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Krabi Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Sands Resort

Address: 118 Moo 3, Klong Muang Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krabi Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Krabi Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Sands Hotel Krabi Town
Krabi Sands Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.