We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Sua)

Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Sua)
Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$45*
and up
Ranked #3 of 36 Attractions in Krabi Town
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This temple complex not only serves as a religious site for the monks who live and worship there, but also features a maze of natural caves in an overgrown jungle valley where stone tools, pottery remains and the mold for making Buddha footprints have been excavated.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Beware of the monkeys! I didn't do the stairs to the top, but took a side path. Many caves worth looking at!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    237
    77
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
monterey, california
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth every step”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Like the other reviews put it, the climb up is quite challenging but I would agree that it was well worth it and I will highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“1237 steps and all worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just climbing up to the top is an experience of it's own as the stairs are through dense forest vegetation going all the way up to the top. And when u finally get there, it took us around 40 minutes, the view is breathtaking.
Our legs were sore the following 3 days though so you've been warned.
For those of you who don't have the physical aptitude to do this, the cave is just by the entrance on the left, about 10 steps only. We were lucky to witness a blessing of some people by the monks present there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing, hard, hot, worth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fab, we go a private taxi from Au Nang for 1500 baht and they wait for you to take you back, you can be as long as you like. It is a steep, hard climb( iv never sweat so much and it was cloudy!) but the views are amazing. It's hard to comprehend how they built the temple at the top!! A must do when visiting Krabi!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaga, Brunei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well worth the climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Eventhough some people leave comments here that the climb up is too strenuous, and apparently not everyone is up for it, we managed to climb it today with our kids aged 5 and 6.
Yes it's a tough climb, yes it's hot and humid, but wow, what a view and atmosphere as a reward. The kids were very proud of themselves as well!
Nothing on the top available, so bring along enough water and/or a snack. There's a 7/11 at the bottom for proviand!
Lots of monkeys around the temple shrines at the bottom.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Sua) also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Sua)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Sua), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.