We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Tree House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orange Tree House to your Saves list
Orange Tree House
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   12 Pruksa-Uthit Road | Paknam, Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 218 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No Frills Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was the last 2 nights of my krabi trip.

OTH is located strategically at the krabi town night market, with the weekday market within walking distance from the hotel. The rooms were as pictures and basic amenities were provided.

However, the walls were paper thin and the flooring was not as solid as i though as footsteps could be heard from afar. I could hear what was going on in the other rooms, the wailing of babies from the rooms across the corridor does not help.

Other then that, ants were all over the table.

Considering the price/night, OTH is a pretty reasonable place to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotel is as everyone describes and the pictures show. The location is great for basing from for a couple days as the night and weekend market are really close and there are plenty of eateries and travel places around. The beds as with most in Thailand are very hard and the water does not really get hot. The front desk, especially after 5PM struggles with English. If that were the whole story I would have given 4 stars.
One day after pulling a muscle in my back the air conditioner quite working. we went and got the front desk guy, the only person on staff and he came and played with the buttons continuing to ask if it was better, even though we both knew it wasn't. he said wait 15 minutes see if it is fixed. 15 minutes later we go get him, he plays with the remote buttons again asks again if it is better, when again it is obviously not and says he will be back in 2 hours at 9PM when the other guy arrives and gives us a fan to blow around the hot air until then. at about 9:30 we go track the new guy and he plays with the buttons and eventually goes and gets the first guy. needless to say 5 hours later and numerous visits with the question of is that better they say it is broke. They have no other rooms and are not understanding why we are frustrated. We stay a miserable night switch rooms the next morning and never hear from them again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night before getting ferry to Phi-Phi. Room was a good size, en suite. Hotel was quiet and comfortable. Staff were really nice and helpful. Location was fine, short walk to some bars / restaurants and a night market. Near a shopping centre. Great value for money. Basic breakfast but on a par with other hotels on a similar price range.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Centrally located, right on the market square and not far from the food night market, Orange Tree House is a great place to explore Krabi and the surroundings. The receptionist did not speak much English but was kind and helped us book an amazing kayak trip.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here one night in our way from koh lanta to bangkok. It was really a very good decision. We thought maybe it was very far away from the center but no, it was very good located and very quiet. We stayed in a mansion some days before and it was horrible, this was cheaper and much much better. The stuff is very nice, they help you a lot and the hotel is new and clean. I will stay here again if I am visiting krabi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in September 2011 (forgot to add this review), which is a low season so the hotel was not full. The rooms are similar to the photos posted on agoda, which I booked from. It quite near to vogue shopping centre and the market for cooked foods and fruits. I have uploaded some photos for viewing.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room facing the road on fri, sat & sun as it will be turn into a walking st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and the location is perfect, in the middle of the center.
The breakfast was included, Toast, Jam and Butter.
There was a strange smell in the room but when we put the aircon on it was gone.
The room didnt had an safety deposit box so we put everything in our bags.
Staff is helpfull and friendly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree House

Address: 12 Pruksa-Uthit Road | Paknam, Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 218 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Tree House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orange Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree House Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.