We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very secure place with unfriendly, impersonal staff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pak-Up Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pak-Up Hostel to your Saves list
Pak-Up Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   87 Utarakit Rd. Paknam | Maung, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a very secure place with unfriendly, impersonal staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. The front desk person when we checked-in was very robotic, impersonal, and seemed to be in a hurry to get rid of us. She spoke very good English so I'm sure this was not due to language barrier. She wasn't even smiling, for Pete's sake. I hope they realize they are running a business and not a government agency. I also found out when we got home that money was also stolen from me. It seems that someone went through my luggage when my boyfriend and I went out for dinner/drinks. I sent them an email to report this and told them that I'm not even expecting the money to be recovered but would appreciate if they investigate. I have not received any feedback to-date.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PakUpHostel, Manager at Pak-Up Hostel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We received your e mail only three days before your tripadvisor review was published and I was on a business trip. We are very sorry that you had some of your valuables stolen. However, it does remain a hostel and as such there is always the risk of things going missing which is why each bed is fitted with a free under-bed locker. It is hard to investigate as you realised only upon arriving home. Also, you said you left your money on the bed. You are in a 10 bed dorm and we cannot guarantee the integrity of all our guests.

We try to give fast check in for our guests as people don’t normally like to wait a long time. If guests have questions then we always welcome all queries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    102
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
2
40
130
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location of this hostel is in the middle of the town of Krabi so easy to get to the markets, shops and good connections to Railay and Ao nang. The hostel is so clean, toilet facilities very very good, laundry facilities are handy and the dorms are safe with lockers under each bed. The roof top bar is social and so is the downstairs lobby with chairs and internet. I stayed here much longer than expected because the hostel was so friendly and I met some cool people here! And for the price (about £3 a night) I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just went out for dinner and discovered that someone went through my things. The zipper in my camera bag was half open but nothing was stolen. Be careful of your valuables while staying here. Be more wary of your roommates. Noisy as well. You can hear people walking down the hallway. Much worse if you have rude or drunk roommates slamming the door shut all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PakUpHostel, Manager at Pak-Up Hostel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi,
as you are Ameda's partner and your complaint is based on the same case, I have pasted below the response I gave to Ameda. Best regards.

We received your e mail only three days before your tripadvisor review was published and I was on a business trip. We are very sorry that you had some of your valuables stolen. However, it does remain a hostel and as such there is always the risk of things going missing which is why each bed is fitted with a free under-bed locker. It is hard to investigate as you realised only upon arriving home. Also, you said you left your money on the bed. You are in a 10 bed dorm and we cannot guarantee the integrity of all our guests.

We try to give fast check in for our guests as people don’t normally like to wait a long time. If guests have questions then we always welcome all queries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

this has to be the best budget hostel I have stayed in so far in SEA and I have travelled round the whole of Thailand and vietnam,it is very clean, good positioning, very friendly people staying from all places and of different ages, its really modern and has very comfy beds.. honestly go if you are staying in krabi for 1 night to 5- they have deals and cheap motorcycle hire which can take you easily to the 1200 steps (tiger cave temple) with great views and the national parks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hostel. Great place to meet people. Rooftop bar had live music. Dorms are ideal with underbed storage, personal light and socket. Lots of toilets/sinks and showers so never waiting in line. Only stayed here one night unfortunately so didnt have chance to discover surrounding area-it seemed pretty quiet.
Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Clean, well-appointed rooms. Nice cool AC. Staff speaks great English and is very efficient... though in their strive for efficiency, they did overlook giving me sheets on my bed and a towel (which was quickly rectified upon asking them). Can be a bit noisy at night. Great deal to stay here and recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was the best place I stayed on my whole trip in South East Asia! It has everything a good hostel should have - boiling hot showers (which now feels like a luxury), clean bathrooms, great wifi in the room, actual duvets instead of flimsy sheets and extremely comfy beds. Oh and a rooftop bar where you can sing and get a free shot of tequila. It's an excellent place to meet people.
Thanks for such a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Thai room, the beds are so comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pak-Up Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pak-Up Hostel

Address: 87 Utarakit Rd. Paknam | Maung, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pak-Up Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Once you come to Pak Up, you will never want to pak up.' If you are looking for a top notch hostel within accessible distance to all of Krabis' famous attractions while paying a budget price then you are at the right place! At Pak Up, we work hard to ensure every detail is right and the place is spotlessly clean, beds are comfy while providing all the best nightlife Krabi Town has to offer within our safe and secure premises. While still relatively new, we have been constantly recommended and commended on all hostel websites, this year being classed as top three in Asia 2013 by Hostelbookers. Pak Up management strives to go from strength to strength, keeping up with all the new global trends in the world of hostels and budget travel. When you arrive, you will notice this is nothing like the run of the mill hostel you will typically find in SE Asia. As a former school, the hostel is themed accordingly room by room and is in a loft style oversized setting. All our rooms are set to the same standard, with international plugs, reading lights, under-bed lockers and 3.5 ft beds. From the ground floor reception, to the fourth floor Top-Up Bar (Sky Bar) and back down to the increasingly famous 'Playground' downstairs, this place is designed to impress. During the day you will be able to either take advantage of the many tours available at our reception desk or just chill out on one the many terraces dotted all over the hostel. Our tour desk offers a seamless way to see everything in Krabi at a reasonable price and you will never be left stranded anywhere. Our staff are trained to make sure you avoid stress. At night, well that's another matter all together! Playground, as the name suggests, is a place for big kids like us to socialize, drink, play, and generally acquire great memories along with great friends from day one. The staff and in house entertainers will strive to offer the very best in hostel entertainment with great deals on whenever you care to visit our bars. Our 'Playground' is currently the only place in south east asia to offer regular Jelly Wrestling with a dedicated pit and commentaries. Top-Up bar, with its panoramic views, superb mixologists and breezy feel, is a place to escape after a long day travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pak-Up Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pak-Up Hotel Krabi Town
Pak-Up Hostel Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pak-Up Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.