We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite place with a fantastic restaurant across the street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Supsangdao Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Supsangdao Resort to your Saves list
Supsangdao Resort
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   133 M 5 T Ao Nang | Muang Krabi, Krabi Town, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 236 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quite place with a fantastic restaurant across the street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We've been there for three nights and i can really recommend this place.
It' not a walking distance to the center but you can take the free shuttle three times a day or a taxi for 50 baht pp.

And you have to try the little restaurant across the street.

Original thai cuisine for original prices!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grimbergen, Brabant, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Price vs. quality was excellent! Really friendly family. The room wasn't super deluxe, but you have everything you need. I would recommend this resort to everybody who wants a quiet location nearby aonang city(5min with shuttle or tuktuk) We would also recommend the restaurant in front of the hotel! They have very delicious food for a very very cheap price ;)

Breakfast was basic,but what do you expect for this price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Now, pls bear in mind the saying of "u get what u pay". Well, I can only accept what I received in return of what I had paid. Definitely cheap although the location ain't as what I had imagined it to be. It was neither facing the sea/beach nor do u have the view of the same. Luckily, the resort owner has been kind and understanding enough to provide free shuttle to the nearest beach ie the Ao Nang beach. Almost 1hr car ride to the krabi town so left Ao Nang beach as the nearest lively town. No dinner nor room service provided. Only breakfast! Oh ya, breakfast! The room is already darn cheap! They even provide FREE scrumptious breakfast!!! Fret not of the lack of food, just across the street of the resort hids a very take talented an friendly local chef who cooks terrific Thai food! Price is reasonably cheap with 5/5 ratings of food. Do try his Roasted Duck Rice. My favorite! If I must trade the strategic location in order to have a fantastic B&B experience, then I gladly accept my fate. O do note that no un-Halal food allowed as the family who runs the resort are Muslim. Do respect others for others to do the same. And, pls enjoy and fall in love with Krabi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I only have good things to say about this place. Location is great; it is located just outside Ao Nang, which is perfect considering the center of Ao Nang is quite touristy. The resort provides a free shuttle into the centre and back three times a day. The resort is beautiful and relaxing, the bungalows are absolutely stunning and clean! The family are very friendly and are happy to help you. I only wish we had stayed here a few days longer! The little restaurant across the road is also really good!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in Supsangdao Resort for 3 nights and we really loved the place! It's a bit too far outside Ao Nang city center to walk there, but the owners of the resort provide a free transfer shuttle to the beach/city center 3 times a day. They also rent out scooters really cheap, so getting around is not a problem. The advantage of being a bit outside the center is that it is nice and quiet in the night. The bungalows are really spacious, new and perfectly clean. They have a big bathroom, a big nice bed and a good and quiet air conditioning. The swimming pool is perfect to relax a bit more after a hot day on the beach. The family who own and run the resort are very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. If you visit the resort, make sure you also visit the restaurant opposite the resort, it has amazing food for no money at all. I would definately recommend the resort!

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms are very good. We probably had the cheapest one and we couildnt believe ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, we had a good time in Supsangdao Resort, the hotel is clean , the staf was very helpful and discret, even not close to the beach but they have free service shuttle service. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Once you settle in at Supsangdao you can't help feeling cocooned, relaxed and away from it all.

As other reviews mention, the B&B/hotel is up the hill, approx 3kms from Ao Nang beach and resort, and should not be confused with something in Krabi Town, which is much further away. You know about the location before your arrive and the hotel courtesy transfers to the neaby beach and into town in the evening are very welcome and flexible, as the owners are more than willing to assist in any way. Scooter hire is easy - the hotel has one for a start - and roads to the nearby beaches are pretty good. And we were always happy to escape back to Supsangdao after a night in town, or in the afternoon for a swim in the large pool.

The rooms are like mini villas. A flight of steps brings you up to a nice terrace and the front door opens into an L-shaped bedroom. There is a large fridge and, as the hotel does not offer any meals other than breakfast, you are encouraged to fill it with whatever you want from the nearby 7-11. If you ask how far it is, you'll be told "about 200m", but it is more like 4-500m, uphill on the way back! But doable if you don't have transport. There is a small local bar opposite the hotel, if you want easy access to beers and soft drinks.

At the back of the room there is a small wardrobe, a dressing table with mirror, a water boiler, a tv (maybe 2 English channels, one with films and one that is Thai news in English) and a DVD player. There is no other storage facility for clothes - no drawers, except a small one beneath the dressing table - which we did find a bit difficult as we stayed for 5 nights and rummaging through the suitcase became a bit of a chore. So, in the end, we used the sofa (sofa bed?) which was at the front of the room. That was ok but makes the room look untidy and cluttered and means you cannot sit on the sofa - and is unnecessary, as some drawers could easily be fitted. But not a major issue, just a suggestion of how to improve what is already a nice room.

The door opposite the large, comfy beds, leads to a bathroom with huge bath (we never used it, but think it might take a while to fill!) and sink, and then a shower curtain and step down takes you to an open-air shower and toilet area. No problem with water pressure there and good supply of hot water. Aircon good, too.

There was a small cleaning issue on arrival but, other than that, we found Supsangdao Resort a greatl little place to stay, looked forward to returning to it after our various outings and cannot recommend the spirit and good intentions of the owners/staff enough.

Room Tip: The road in front of the hotel is the main one down into Ao Nang, so, although not quite sure how mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Supsangdao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supsangdao Resort

Address: 133 M 5 T Ao Nang | Muang Krabi, Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Supsangdao Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Supsangdao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supsangdao Resort Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Supsangdao Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.