We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Phanom Bencha National Park

Khao Phanom Bencha National Park
Mu 4, Tumbon Thap Prik | Amphoe Mueang, Krabi Town, Thailand
0 7566 0717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 Attractions in Krabi Town
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice journey through the Thai countryside and a nice area to walk and swim in the pools below the waterfalls.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exciting and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The park is quite far from Ao Nang. We went by taxi and paid about 1000 bath return (the driver waited for us in the park). It is a beautiful ride through the countryside. We asked to be taken to the Huay Toh Waterfall. Before you enter the park there are some interestings caves. We asked the driver to stop there, but he "forgot" (I think he didn't really want to). We had to pay an entrance fee to get into the park. We arrived about 10 a.m. and we were the only people there. It was extremely peaceful and beautiful. We folllow a marked path, not to the waterfall which was to the left, but to the right as we wanted a more challenging walk uphill. The path wasn't very well marked and it was very steep but we were wearing sneakers so we were OK. We didn't see any animals but heard a lot of sounds. We were a little afraid that we were getting "lost", but after a while we approached the top of the waterfall. You are able to get very close to the waterfall, but be careful as it is steep and slippery. We climbed the path along the waterfall to get down. It wasn't too difficult but I would recommend closed shoes. The waterfall was very beautiful, great nature. Nobody but us. We went to the bottom and took a swim in the natural pool and a "shower" under the waterfall. We met a couple of other tourists and some thais there, but it was still very tranquil. The small restaurant close to the entrance is beautifully located and looked very nice, but we only bought drinks as we weren't really hungry. The park was a nice adventure, a little "off the beaten path" and very well worth the time and money. Remember mosquito repellent. Highly recommended experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Close to Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Dó not miss a swim in the (cold) waterfall. Ver peaceful national park with a beautiful scenery. 100 THB for the entry - for falang (tourists)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Place, don't miss if you are in Krabi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The park is peaceful, very beautiful and vast enough to spend whole day.
We just visited the waterfalls and didn't have time for the View Point climb.
Tracks are not too difficult. It's better to wear shoes as mentioned in other reviews.
There is a giant snake almost 2.5 meter in first pool. Not dangerous at all. Try to spot it in the water. Don't try to pull her out of water for the sake of a photo. She might just leave the place or get hurt.
I swimmed in the upper lakes. Was amazing experience taking shower under waterfall. However be very cautious, you might slip on the rocks or get hurt by falling rocks coming with the water. We didn't experience this but better safe than sorry.
Try to do the view point as well. You just need to be little fit, take water and snacks, don't forget shoes and anti mosquito.
It's possible to get there by bike or scooter. The road is also very beautiful.
You can just go there and hang around entrance area with giant trees and have some food. It worth a visit.
Totally Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice park with something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got there by motorbike from Ao Nang. It was about 1 hour or so. We did the main waterfalls first. The bottom ones are easy to get to and the top take a bit more effort and climbing, but are worth it if you're up for a little workout. After the falls, we decided to check out the viewpoint hike. The sign said 750m which sounded nice. It was a pretty serious hike and we didn't see a single other person doing it. I am not sure how much elevation we gained, but it was a lot. We didn't see any animals, but heard so many unique sounds and have no idea what was making them. It sounded like a fire alarm out there in the jungle. You really do feel like you're far from anything. There were a lot of spider webs accross the trail and mosquitos, but eventually we made it to the viewpoint. Not quite a good as we hoped since there wasn't really a panoramic view, but maybe more like 30 degrees or so. Our legs were shaking by the time we made it to the bottom. The restaurant was great, and super cheap. I would not recommend the view point hike unless you REALLY like the jungle and are in good shape. Or maybe you can do it with a guide. Exhausting day, but a great adventure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao Phanom Bencha National Park also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Khao Phanom Bencha National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Phanom Bencha National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.